We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore the Old Town of Riga”
Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location to explore the Old Town of Riga”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here two nights (8/17-19) which coincided with the Riga Indepenence celebration. I couldn't have asked for a more centrally located hotel from which to explore the Old Town. Just around the corner from the hotel is the square which contains the old Guild Hall, and for the weekend they had set up a stage where orchestras, choirs, and folksingers and dancers performed most of the weekend.

The room itself was a bit small and the cup in the bathroom was not clean. The room was quiet, though and the bed was comfortable. Like most hotels in Europe, there was no top sheet on the bed and it could get rather warm at night sleeping under the heavy comforter.

I also has a problem on the second day of my stay where my key would no longer open the electronic lock on my door. It took me three trips to reception to finally get a working key which would allow me access to my room.

I don't eat breakfast, so I can't comment on the quality of the included breakfast.

All in all, a decent hotel, in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Explorersample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    267
    73
    13
    10
See reviews for
103
299
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I ordered a superior bedroom which was nice an big. Unfortunately the room was smelling of urine, and there was gum sticking to the bed. Also the room was located next to the elevator shaft and the Air Con to the whole hotel which gave quite a lot of noise.

Service was very good otherwise, they lend us an umbrella for free when it started raining :)
Breakfast was also very good. Good location as well. Close to the river and oldtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anders K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed two nights in August 2012 in this hotel located in the old city center. Driving to the hotel through the old town takes an updated GPS. Parking was close by in walking distance but took some driving because of street layout in old city. Parking was not cheap (10 LVL pr. night). The interior of the hotel has a fantastic style to it and the reception desk is very helpful. Room on the top floor (room 501) facing the street and there were a little noise from neighboring bars at night. I imagine it can get noisy during weekends, but at least the room has air conditioning so there is no need for open windows. Room is very big with two twin beds put together as one so you can't sleep in the middle. One of the mattresses was worn out but since I was on my own I just used the other one. There is a sitting area with a table and four chairs, and a big cupboard. Since it is top floor the walls are tilted so a lot of the space in the room is wasted and the three windows sits very high. TV is rather small but has some English speaking channels. Bathroom is excellent with big corner bathtub (but I don't like shampoo in little bags I want small bottles). The sink had a minor plumbing issue and would make noises for to or three minutes after being used. The free wireless internet connection in this room was some what erratic. I was offered a RJ-45 cable by the reception but with only a smartphone and an IPad that was of little use. I only ate breakfast one day at the hotel at that was not the best experience. The not so exiting breakfast was supposed to include a cook to order omelet (or similar) but waiter ever showed up to take my order. So lot of little and large faults but I loved the hotel regardless and will hopefully return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Butikken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We absolutely fell in love with this hotel! The room (202) was lovely and inviting, and had a big bed as well big bathroom. It didn't have a view, but that was okay since we had specifically asked a room with the possibility to be a bit quieter than the rooms which are facing the street.

The staff was efficient and helpful, and answered to all of our questions. :)

We had ordered a car to pick us up from the airport and that was so much better than trying to figure out taxis. Yeah, it was more expensive, but the car was very comfortable and luxurious.

Only two small downsides;
-The air conditioner in the room was a bit powerless, we cept the thermostat on 5 degrees selcius all the time, but the room didn't really cool down. Luckily we didn't have too hot days :)
-Cleaning lady was very strict with the toilet paper, we only had one new roll per day. And when the paper was as thin as it was, we lived in constant fear of running out in the middle of the night. One time the cleaning staff forgot to leave a new roll, so we had to ask more of it from the reception.

They had also forgotten our order of house wine and cheese plate, but when I went to ask for it they apologised many times and explained that there has been so many room changes that the note of the order had been lost. We got the bottle and plate delivered to the room within 20 minutes -and it was SO GOOD! Yummy cheeses and wine, loved it!

The breakfast buffet wasn't anything special, but enough to keep us going until lunch time :)

The location was superb! Everything was within short walking distance. There's also a grocery store called MaXima justa about 160 meters from the hotel, where you can buy bottled water, alcohol, snacks and sweets.

So it's 5 out of 5 for us, even with the few small flaws :) We enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend this to our friends.

And P.S. to the customers who complain about noise; didn't you do your homework about Riga's nightlife? Don't blame the hotel if the bars are open 'til early morning. Stay home if you can't stand noises which are different from your home -it's a HOTEL, guys! There are other customers and it's almost inevitable to avoid noise, so live with it!

Room Tip: The room 202 doesn't have a view, but at least for us it was quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatiS_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel looks like it is in a nice part of Riga but the noise is awful!
The nearby restaurants play music until midnight, then the drunken groups come down the narrow street outside until 3 or 4 in the morning. Next the street cleaning machines, which are parked in the garage opposite, start moving around at 7am. If they dont wake you the bells from the cathedral will. Oh and the mini bar is next to the bed, it has a glass front and the light inside stays on all the time, so that keeps you awake as well. We will be glad to go home for a rest.
The breakfast was ok but they should ask for a refund at the charm school they sent the staff to, they never smile or even acknowledge you
Also got ripped off on the taxi fare back to the airport and when I asked why it was nearly double, the taxi firm said it was a deal set up between the hotel and the taxi
We liked Riga, but not the hotel - or Baltic Taxis

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Hotel is alltogether good but the breakfast was actually bad. Location is great, in the middle of the old city. Rooms are nice and clean. The service is ok but staff attitude was pretty lazy. Sauna was available for a small fee and it was nice but nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikmarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed in a room where one of the walls was from 14th century, apparently a wall of the Dome. Every room has it's own irregular shape, you could see on the fire map. Hotel Justus is situated in the middle of the old town. Our room (202) was very quiet, we slept with an open window.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Property: Hotel Justus
Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing