We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Slow at posting the review!

This was a last min trip booked for my partners birthday in Jan. We enjoy a city break and Riga was recommended to us by a friend. The hotel was lovely, breakfast was good with plenty to pick from and lot's of hot coffee, you need this before a walk around old Riga in -15! We had lot's of snow and it only added to the trip. The staff were quiet and not at all in your face but pleasant and helpful when asked.

Old Riga has lot's to offer and as we only had 3 days we wanted to make sure we made the most of it. We paid a private guide £100 for 4 solid hours of walking tour, this was well worth the money because he had all the knowledge!

We ate at The Blue Cow, this is a must place to go with the best steak I have ever had.

Next to Paris this is definitely the best city break I have been on.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel and we had no problems with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryANDRich81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    260
    69
    12
    10
See reviews for
102
285
58
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just stayed at the hotel Justus for four nights great quirky hotel full of character and well worth a stay. Ideal location in the old town walking distance to all the places of interest and ideal for some great restaurants. Staff very helpful and have no complaints would certainly stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carol087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

A hotel with a historic twist! Rated 4-star, it is more than that. Excellent location but very noisy at weekend, since the night club is opposite the street. Breakfast is very good! The staff is very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: Ask for inner yard room, hopefully quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank friend102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights last weekend, and were really impressed - thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We'd originally been planning to stay at the Radisson Daugava, but I'm so glad we ended up booking the Justus - right in the centre of Old Town, close to everything, lovely street, and the interior is quirky and full of character.

We had room 405. It was street-facing, but despite staying over Friday and Saturday nights, we heard no noise at all - possibly because we were on a high floor. No noise from adjacent rooms either. We didn't have much of a view, but that wasn't a problem for us.

The room was fantastic - not one of the biggest, but it was spacious enough, and I loved the furnishings and exposed brickwork. Very comfortable bed, and it was a double as opposed to two singles pushed together, which is rare in European hotels! The TV was nice but the only English channels were news - again, not a problem unless you're planning to spend a lot of time in the room. I was pleasantly surprised by the bathroom - spacious shower and very good power. The door was in the corner of the room, so the bathroom was long and thin, which I definitely prefer to having half your room taken up by it. (See pics). Some toiletries were provided and there was a hairdryer. The room was very warm when we first went in, but it had an excellent heating/air con system, so we just changed the temperature as and when we needed to. There was also a minibar, we didn't use it but the prices seemed fairly reasonable by minibar standards.

We didn't encounter many staff members, but reception was helpful, and the man on the bar was very nice, recommending wines and organising for a bottle to be taken up to our room.

I wasn't looking forward to the breakfast having read some of the reviews on here, but it was actually very good. The buffet wasn't as vast as some 4 star hotels, but I'm judging that on general European standards, so this is probably similar to breakfasts in 4 stars in the Baltics. Anyway, there was definitely enough choice for us. The eggs were very nice, there was bacon every day, and sausages - alternating between Frankfurter-type and normal sausages. There were different types of breads, lovely croissants, selection of jams etc, little cakes, cereals and yoghurt, full selection of cheese, ham, salad, and an assortment of local delicacies, which I confess to not trying! On the first day, there was also a plate of croque monsieur, which was absolutely delicious.

As I said, the location is fantastic, and the 1221 restaurant is two doors away - really recommend it. The medieval restaurant is also two minutes away but we didn't go there. In terms of Riga generally, you have to go to the Skyline bar in the Radisson on Elizabetes - we liked it so much we went twice. Reasonable drinks prices for this sort of bar with a view (compared with the UK anyway), great service and the views were excellent in both daylight and dark.

Could not have been happier with the Hotel Justus so will be staying there again if we return to Riga.

Room Tip: I would recommend our room, 405 - high floor so no noise, and spacious without being huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Really loved the bits and bobs of unusual decor dotted about, my favourite Banksy was on the wall outside the lift on the 4 th floor. No noise from street as mentioned in previous reviews but was pretty high up and at the side of the hotel. All staff where really lovely, helpful and friendly.
Bed comfy and extra pillows appeared as soon as we asked for them. Breakfast was nice, good choice and well presented. Eating out we can recommend Salve and piejura. We went majori the beach resort on the train it's easy to get to and so cheap on the trains, and if your unsure just ask anyone for help the locals are approachable even if sometimes they can appear a little stern! We also went to Sigulda on the train and went across the valley on the cable car which was very pretty in the snow, there's a lovely cafe in sigulda called Mr Bicvits that's great for yummy cakes. The train rides are a great way of seeing a bit more of Latvia and I think you might get a bit bored of the city after a couple of days, most of the museum interpretation is in Latvian so you have to guess what they are describing, which can be quiet an amusing activity in itself! The city market halls are great for people watching and have a peek at the array of meat, fish, and other food items. The shopping center in the middle of town has a large supermarket with a great range of things if you fancy a picnic lunch or supper in your room. If you go in winter wear layers as it goes from sub zero temperatures outside to tropical the minute you go in a bar, cafe or restaurant so you need to shed outer clothing pretty quick. Getting to and from the airport was easy on the bus, number 22 and get of at the stop as soon as you cross the river if you staying in the old town, it's a big river so you can't miss it. It's only about 80p each.. Have a fab time.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibblydabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We spent two nights at Justus in February and I must say it was one of the nicest hotel stays I've had in ages. The rooms were decently priced, nice and cozy - furniture a classy mixture of old and new. Hotel itself is located very centrally, right at the heart of beautiful Old Riga. Medieval restaurant is very near, and highly acclaimed 1221 is right next door.

Staff was very helpful and relaxed, which is not always the case when traveling with 10 mates. We even got very good tips for nightlife as well, which made our trip a very memorable one. They have a sauna at the hotel, which was clean and 8 people could fit in well.

The breakfast was ok, nothing special though.

I'll definately stay at Justus the next time I visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arttu_fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The hotel is very well located in the old town, a great place for a visit to Riga.
After reading reviews about noise in some rooms, we have booked a superior room on the 5th floor and we had no problems at all. The room was large and warm, with a large bathroom.
WiFi worked in our room without problems.
Service was good and efficient, and the staff friendly.
The only negative for us was breakfast, which was ok, but should be improved.

All, in all, an excellent experience and very good price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Property: Hotel Justus
Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing