We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmospheric stay”
Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely atmospheric stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The internal architecture was beautiful and charming, giving off an air of history (walking the corridors was a nice experience in itself). The room was tidy and clean and we very much enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent and lends access to everything good Riga has to offer. The breakfast buffet was not spectacular but not bad either, considering the reasonable price for our room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigfrid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    267
    73
    13
    10
See reviews for
103
299
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Hotel Justus is on a side street (Jauniela) behind the Dom Cathedral. Having a room at the front on the third floor, only on one night were we aware of distant music thumping until 6 AM but we didn't lose sleep. Not many tourists were about in April, so I can't speak to the noise complaints regarding many Old Town hotels. Our travel companions had a room at the back on the second floor. It was disappointing that we didn't have adjoining rooms but it seems they were on the designated smoking floor. Our rooms were clean and nicely furnished; we liked the differences in their shapes and furnishings. Being able to open the windows for fresh air was a plus!

The hotel entrance is slightly off the street, facing an odd conjunction of ancient buildings. The youthful staff had excellent English skills. Anyone who likes antique furniture and eccentric charm will enjoy the small lobby with its bar. Breakfasts of satisfying variety are served in the restaurant Aleks, situated in the hotel. Wi-fi worked well in the room. The tiny car parking area is a block away; if you are driving, be prepared for the Old Town one-way streets when trying to reach any hotel! Probably our only complaint at Hotel Justus was being handed a credit card receipt at checkout. It took a few moments to wake up and remind the receptionist that a full invoice is expected!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I had a room in the back without much of a view, but with absolutely no street noise. Light sleepers will be in heaven. The room was large with a high ceiling, exposed brick, and a funky wrought-iron bed that I would love to take home as a souvenir. There was lots of hot water, everything was clean, and the location is perfect. Breakfast was included and was really good. Staff were efficient and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The location just behind the Riga Cathedral can't be beat. The only difficulty was that our cab couldn't drop us off directly at the hotel due to the pedestrian zone and neighboring businesses could point us in the right direction.

Front desk staff was vey warm and helpful (receptionist even lent us her umbrella for the day). Had reserved the last available room, ,but found it to be nicely sized with some character (exposed wall of centuries-old stone). Overall room was a bit basic, but comfortable. Attached restaurant was quite nice & offered a discount for hotel guests. Breakfast was quite generous.

Had one off note with service. Returned from a day of sightseeing and found our room door completely wide open. turns out the maid had been tidying up and needed to get something, but she didn't return for at least 10 minutes. Luckily nothing was taken, even though room was next to the main stairway Front desk staff was very good about dealing with it, but maid didn't seem to understand that she had done something wrong.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Location could not be better , bus stop to the airport and a parking lot is around the corner, very quiet and pretty pedestrian street, lots of very good restaurants in the area. Competent and very well trained staff, no language problems, very warm and helpful reception. Very good breakfast. escellent coffee! I didn't like the decor too much, but it is just my personal taste. It is an old building , my room smelled a little, not a big problem , it was very clean. The bed is comfortable but I think a comforter would work great in the room with exposed old brick walls and would make sleeping there much more enjoyable! 5 stars for service, 3 for everything else

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirina987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile


We chose this hotel for it's prime location in Riga center. We had read about the quirkiness of the decor. When we arrived this was confirmed, but the room did not appear like the online photos. I enjoy random decorations and colors, however, the room was slightly dingy with outdated carpet and curtains that didn't seem to match the rest of the contemporary decor. The bed was comfortable and room clean but it just didn't seem like a four star as advertised. The staff were still friendly and breakfast adequate, price was right but I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Hotel Justus was a cute hotel situated in the heart of the old town. The hotel is full of character and old features. We stayed on the fifth floor, the room was comfortable and clean. We had no noise problems as described in other reviews, our only issue was that the room was quite warm but once we figured out that we needed to turn the radiator down it was fine. The bed needed two pillows but we asked at reception and the resolved this immediately. The breakfast had lots of choice of cereals, fruit, snacks and bacon, European sausage and eggs/omelette. The hotel was in a great location; everywhere in Riga is in walking distance. The old town has some lovely bars and cafes. We recommend completing the art noveau walking tour and seeing the great Lativan architecture. Extra trips recommended is a visit to Jurmula (the beach) and Sigulda (forrest and castles) which we easily accessible on the train for around £2-3 per person.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Property: Hotel Justus
Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing