We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quirky hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a brilliant location to see everything - decent breakfast too. Couldn't fault anything - really loved Riga as well and the people were very helpful and friendly. Can imagine that it might be noisy on a weekend but we went Sunday to Thursday so was fine.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annerobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    246
    68
    12
    10
See reviews for
98
275
55
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
356 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Pleasant place once you find it. Good breakfast. Great restaurants nearby in Old Riga. Quiet but thin walls. Pleasant staff. Parking available. Shower in my room was unusual but worked fine. Easy to walk to everything in old Riga once you find it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Eclectic. This is the best word to describe Hotel Justus. What type of hotel is this, really? For a business stay it definitely lacks working table, but for a romantic stay two tiny separate blankets on double bed is nothing more but mockery.
You can’t say it lacks style, but what kind of style is that? It’s a mishmash of disjointed elements – part medieval, part rustic countryside house with bits of prewar aristocratic and kitschy pop culture and God knows what else.
Is it a 4 stars hotel? Well then, for that the room is definitely too cramped and too cold, the lighting in the bathroom is too dim, the restaurant certainly below expectations and it all makes the stay rather uncomfortable. But at the same time, reception staff is friendly, location is central, the old building is charming, Wi-Fi connection is perfect, and breakfast is rich.
They give you 20 percent discount for the food at the restaurant, but charge 4.50 for the cup of tea which you will need as there is no kettle in the room.
There are certainly other hotels in Riga with clearer identity, better value and amenities worthy of a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Perfect location, nice clean bespoke rooms with renovated original beams etc. ideally located in old town which can be walked round in a day. Close to all bars and restaurants. I'd easily stay here again was a very quiet chilled hotel.
1 gripe, the quilt covers were 2
Singles and not a double so had to keep pulling them back over me whilst sleeping. But all in all great hotel!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Justus for a short break in February, the location couldn't have been better. 15 minutes (or thereabouts) from the airport; the journey there with an airport taxi (12 euros) was cheaper than the return journey with a hotel-booked taxi.

Our room was not ready on arrival (11.:30), not a problem though, we just went off to explore.........

The room was allegedly a superior one. I suppose one has to see others to be able to compare! It was quite spacious with a nice view over the front reception. The bathroom was also quite roomy with a few bits of toiletries. A word of note though ladies - the hairdryer was hopeless, life really is too short! The room was cleaned each day and the bed was very comfortable although I would've preferred a few more pillows. Storage space for clothes would not have been adequate for a trip longer than a few days.

The hotel itself was indeed 'quirky' with little pieces of interesting art dotted here and there. I was curious about the Christmas scene, though there were numerous homages to the festive period still standing around the city as a whole!

Breakfast was not really my cup of tea. I just do not understand why people would eat chicken wings, and battered (I think) prawns at this time of the day. There was plenty to be had however and something to please any palate; I would really have liked more bread though. We didn't eat at any other times in the hotel as there were too many other places to investigate..............

As the headline of this review suggests, the location of this hotel was amazing. We really couldn't have been more central, to the sites, restaurants and bars. Recommendations: Yolo, cocloco, Tim's mints (with a very Latvian bar next door we loved, with older men drinking Black Balzam), the aussie backpackers bar (complete with a camper van as the bar!), and the Kiwi bar. We did eat in a Lido, but didn't rush back. A trip to Jumarla also strongly recommended - 20 minute walk to the railway station, 2 euros 10 for a round trip to Majori!

All in all, a very pleasant stay. I would definitely recommend the hotel to a friend and would like to thank the very friendly hotel staff for making our accommodation so comfortable.

Room Tip: apparently the front of the hotel can be noisy at a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miche08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel is located in the center of the old town in Riga. Great location, it was part of the Dom Cathedral in the past, so ancient historical things can be seen in this hotel. For instance, the piece of wall from 14th century, and the closet in my room which was made over 140 years ago... Not only the location and decoration are great, the service is excellent too!! Staff are professional and friendly. Very helpful with problems I encountered with wifi connection. They also deliver freshly brewed coffee to your room from the lobby bar upon request. This is only the 2nd of my 4 nights staying here. I couldn't help to write this review before the experience is completed. Definitely a great place to stay while you are staying Riga for a great city tour! The price is very moderate for what you get!! The only drawback so far is due to the location, it could be a bit noisy at night as people are going home after pub hoppings...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shennie_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in February. The price was very good, of course it is the low season and probably another price in July.
The best with the hotel was the location, close to everything, walking distance everywhere. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a bit different, you could choose from different food, more like a brunch. Not so much bread though. Maybe the Latvian people eat different breakfast?
I had a very good room on the fifth floor, not facing the street. It was so quiet.
The restaurant served good food. If you want to have dinner somewhere els there are so many places to choose from close to the hotel.
Over all I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank kittycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Property: Hotel Justus
Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing