We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesomest breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesomest breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 days in early June, 2014. Every day the breakfast buffet was breathtaking. And stomachtaking. :) I could have breakfast and then not eat the rest of the day (thus saving my lunch money!). This is the only place in the world (please let me know if you know another one) that offers fish (7 different kinds), pork (bacon, sausage), chicken (yes), beef, and lunch meat for breakfast. I don't even recognize half of the things available. I tried all of them, they are really yummy. I wish they would come with labels, so I could describe each one. Instead, you will have to look at the pictures, or come here yourself!
The bedroom is quiet, the view is awesome, and the fact that it is located within 50 m of the medieval restaurant (see my other review) makes it a perfect place for people with jet lags. I arrived from the US (7 h difference) and had to take a nap. Then I'd go out for 2h, walk around old town, and come back for a nap, ... etc. I love this hotel.
The room is spacious, as well as the bathroom, and I am on the second floor - the stairs are old, wooden stairs - so I never even took the elevator. I'd definitely come back.

Room Tip: I think many rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MasonGutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    246
    68
    12
    10
See reviews for
98
275
55
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This stay started off on a bad note (although we didn't know it at the time!) because the taxi driver the hotel arranged for us accepted our payment the night we were picked up, but we were then charged again when checking out. The front desk explained the driver (who spoke perfect English), must have thought we were tipping him! Otherwise, the hotel is in a perfect location, the breakfast was good and hearty (not enough fresh fruit), and the ambience is nice. (LOVED the staircase!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilRazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singleton, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived late from Frankfurt, but that was not a problem. They kept the reception desk open and arranged for the Night Porter to look after us if need be. As things turned out, the desk was still open when we arrived.

This was a small indication of the personal interest that the managers show to their guests.

Breakfast included a huge range of traditional food just like my mother-in-law used to cook. If you ahev not tried it before, check out the preserved meats, especially the brawn, and the potato salad with egg and more - very much the authentic traditional item.

This small hotel is smack bang in the middle of the historical section known as the Old City. Riga is perhaps not the only city in Europe with an Old City, but this one is beyond remarkable for its many eateries and historical sites.

Walks of less than 15 minutes will get you to many museums, galleries, parks, memorials to the 21th January 1991 independence revolution, a few embassies (French, Danish and more) or to the Daugava River foreshore. We will stay here for a week, then venture wider afield.

Check out the hotel's website for photos and current info. What we are experiencing confirms the honesty of the site's contents.

Some mention noise. Yes, the locals do celebrate a bit, but not enough to worry us. It is a happy crowd, so why not go out and mingle, have a coffee or a beer and enjoy this beautiful place?

Effective air conditioning, ample to handle the current heat wave.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you heaps, then book early and ask for a higher floor. In summer, book earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandal, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed for 5 nights and on arrival we met two unwelcoming receptionists from the hotel. We had booked a junior suite and the room size was ok.

But there was a badly cleaned ash tray in our non-smoking room and it smelled smoke. Bed linen and the whole bed smelled of smoke. Heating was turned off in the hotel and it was so cold. We got a heater the day after. Room on second floor facing street with heavy partying all night until 7am in the morning.

Breakfast was terrible. Old bread, and all other food was taken out early and left in a warm room (no cooler at all). What seemed to be left overs from the day before in the restaurant, sweaty cheese and warm yogurt was a huge disappointment. We were not even sure if it was safe enough to eat.

After four nights our bathroom had not been cleaned once. When we asked the receptionist to please ask for cleaning she got annoyed (bathroom got so what cleaned, but we were punished with no making up the bed). Shower was placed over bathtub and most of the water ran out on the floor as there were no curtain or other things to stop it. That made cleaning even more important.

And this is over all the impression of the staff. They mostly acted like: "If it hand´t been for guests and rooms we would have a great time at work". Unfriendly, unwelcoming and not at all interested in service and the fact that people should have a pleasant stay where they work. We will never recommend this hotel. It does not help that some of the staff were nice - when the persons we meet are not, it set the whole impression to very bad.

This can not be a 4 star hotel - at the most it could be a little under 3 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altopptatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice staff, great location but poor rooms. The shower in the bathroom does not have a curtain that contains the water. The AC does not work.

When reported, the staff had little to no remorse. I wish they inspected rooms before turning them to the next guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

very good location, Special Dekoration, comfortable bed and super Service. We were 100% satursfied.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank qingzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a night here last november and will be back again this june to celebrate ligo loved this hotel, good price and lovely bteakfast, staff really friendly and helpful. Perfect location in old riga close to all the bars / shops and cathedral.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Property: Hotel Justus
Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing