We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal central location”
Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Justus is an ideal choice for a stay in Riga's old town. It's clean, comfortable and modern and really excellent value. Our room was pretty big with a large bathroom and excellent shower and although it was on Jauniela Street the noise of the late night revelers didn't cause any major disruptions. There are also lots of interesting features and objects around the hotel that add to the charm. What it could improve upon is breakfast-the coffee was pretty awful and the bread selection really poor. This is at odds with the fact that there must have been eight different fish choices! All in all a great choice though and I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Justus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our hotel in Riga was just next to the old cathedral on one of the main pedestrian streets in town and opposite a major art nouveau building. The room was small but it was clean and everything functioned perfectly. The staff were very helpful including helping to open a safe that was stuck and the breakfast was plentiful. The key to this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeonDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Justus, which couldn't really be better located in Old Town Riga. Less expensive than the Neiburgs Hotel across the street, we were hard pressed to find anything wrong with it. The place was very clean; the bed was very comfortable; the bathroom was quite modern; the shower was probably the most comfortable and spacious we enjoyed on our entire five-week trip; the service was friendly; and the WiFi was fast and free. We had only two minor quibbles. First, the air conditioning was inadequate for the inordinately hot July weather we experienced throughout the Baltics; and second, the breakfast was not as good as some other buffets we've had. But it wasn't bad, either. The staff will make you an omelette or fry you up some eggs if you but ask. All in all, an excellent place to stay in Old Town Riga.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you are travelling by car your GPS you may find this hotel difficult to find.Even the police couldn't help us with dirsctions.If it wasn't for a young man personally taking us to the hotel I think we'd still be searching.Contact the hotel prior and ask for directions.
Once you get there you will need another map to get you to the car park.Ok after all this is it worth staying.Yes definitely. Riga is a beautiful city, and this is a perfect location for exploring it.
Our room was small but very clean with lovely furnishings.
We ate in the Hotel restaurant on one night and the food was excellent.Breakfasts also were very good.There is a Sauna for the use of hotel guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My partner and I recently spent four nights in a Superior Room at Hotel Justus and were extremely pleased with the accommodations. First off, the hotel is in a great location, right in the center of the Old Town and within a short walking distance of nearly everything you'd want to see in Riga. Second, the property is so quaint and charming. The hotel is in a historic building, but the decor is eclectic, with plenty of modern touches here and there, so you don't feel like you're staying in a musty old museum. And our room was totally clean and comfortable...a pleasure to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. We were also pleased with the customer service. Most of the staff (with an exception or two) bent over backwards to be friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant was also really good on the one night we ate there. My only nitpick would be the breakfast buffet, which featured a lot of bizarre, non-breakfast-looking items like fish and salads. There were plenty of traditional items as well (yogurt, fruit, croissants), so we never walked away hungry, but I just wondered why they would invest so much time and effort into creating dozens of items that I can't imagine many people would find appetizing at that hour. But in every other regard Hotel Justus was a winner. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Riga.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank briguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong this hotel is beautiful and is in a fantastic location..... However I asked the staff for one extra pillow during my stay and the hotel staff told me that the hotel only has one pillow per guest and keep no spears. I don't think this is really expectable for a hotel that claims to be 4 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here when the first snowfall hit Riga in January. The location of the hotel is very good but the room walls are very thin, one side there is brick but the other side I think is Cardboard ? I could hear people in the corridor and the TV from the next room.
The service at the reception was not friendly but not rude either, it seemed like they did not bother if you stayed with them or not.
I would still recommend the hotel for the price and the location.
Breakfast was good and typical local dishes. The attached restaurant had a very nice ambience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 110 in Riga
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing