We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather good price for good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Nice hotel in the old city. Perfect location. Close to the city center and main historic places. Rooms are big and comfortable. There is everything you need in the room. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pallinime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed in one superior double and one single. Nice and very priceworthy hotel with a good
buffet in the morning included champagne and vodka!
Book a superior room if you can as well equipped and with a balcony, Quite as a obe way street.
Rooms are clean and staff very helpful. Many restaurants around.The only thing we could not find out was the opening hors of the spa, but we found several very close. The restaurant was quite good and prices in Riga are very low. Recommend taxi through the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soda1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Booked this after recommendation by friend. Read several reviews on here as well and hav to say I was disappointed with the hotel. We had a room at the front of the hotel and found it to be very very noisy from both the main road and the hotel patrons smoking outside the front door of the hotel till 2 in the morning. The rooms weren't too bad themselves but when the room next door were walking round the floorboards squeaked in our room.

The breakfast was pretty poor as well with the tea making facilities from a coffee machine providing scummy water with a funny taste.

Location wise I think there are better placed hotels for a visit to Riga. Certainly worth paying a little extra for if they are more expensive.

Wouldn't stay here or recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MK1_GIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Location - less than 5 minutes from the coach and rail stations. Very easy to find with a basic map/instructions. Close to the historic centre - some old buildings around the hotel but area feels very safe at night.

Staff - friendly and efficient.

Rooms - well furnished. Triple room was a bit crowded but then they usually are. Lift broke down when we were there but a nice sprint up 5 flights of stairs never did anyone any harm!

Would definitely stay again is life took me to Riga.

Did not try the bar/restaurant as lots of options in town. However breakfast very filling with lots of options including a substantial hot selection.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n37077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This lovely hotel is in the Old City of Riga and thus very convenient to visit everything there is to see in Riga. The staff was helpful and flexible. The breakfast is surprisingly generous and the price was extremely competitive for a 4 star hotel (at least in January). My only complaint would be the size of my room which was ridiculously tiny but I just used it to sleep and thus didn't spend much time there as I was touring the city. My friend had another room in the same price category and his was much bigger. So I guess that I was just unlucky.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoffroy_bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Cosy and comfortable hotel 2 steps away from the old town !
- Very clean and conveniant rooms
- helpfull staff
- ideal location

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The convenience of the location and the comfort of the room. the staff were very pleasant. Was simply fabulous to finish our European holiday in this hotel. Cheers! There’s one lovely place near the hotel we liked very much. Family restaurant Alibi. They’ve delicious grilled dishes in Latvian traditional style and romantic atmosphere. Try to visit if you wish to learn what Latvia grill means.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#37 of 110 in Riga
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#25 of 110 in Riga
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Riga
#23 Family Hotel in Riga
#30 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £30 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing