We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Ranked #37 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great hotel - we stayed for 3 nights in December 2012. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean and kept clean for the duration of our stay.

We had a room on the ground floor and despite complaints from other reviewers that there was lots of noise outside we didn't have any bother.

A couple of complaints with our room - 1) The bed was so creaky it kept us awake for our first nights stay, and for the next couple of nights we had to remember to not move around too much to stop the noise! 2) The room did have a slight smell of damp - though I couldn't see any anywhere!

The breakfast is good - plenty of options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

I like to stay in decent hotels with a decent breakfast without paying over the odds. I like to strike a balance between quality and price. I would rather have the spare cash to enjoy the city than feeling like I have to watch every penny because the hotel has cost a fortune. This hotel allowed me to more than do that.
Our room was large, very clean and comfortable with a large bath and plenty of hot water. It had everything we needed - comfortable beds, safe, iron, hairdryer, umbrella, very reasonable priced mini bar, free wi if in rooms, TV (though make sure you request that Hustler channel is turned off if you have children!), extra heater - though it was not needed as the heating/air conditioning was very efficient. and a large decent bathroom. I really liked the location. It was in the old town and very close to some excellent restaurants which would appeal to all tastes. the city is small and as such all sites are within easy walking distance. Close to the market, the railway station and the bus station. Round the corner is a department store with a great, large food department store. A cinema is also within the same complex as the store and made a great option for what to do in an evening.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor with a balcony. Our room was great. Large, clean, plenty of hot wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dustyrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and loved the place. It's a fairly large hotel right in the centre of the Old Town. Check in was easy and all the staff I encountered at reception, breakfast and room service were really friendly. It was cold in Riga when I stayed with snow on the ground but my hotel room was lovely and warm. There is a gym and a sauna but I didn't use these. Room facilities include a large TV, ensuite, great wifi, in room safe and mini bar. For once the mini bar showed realistic prices. Breakfast was included in my rate and it was really good. Lots of choice, hot and cold, sweet and savoury. And sparkling wine and vodka shots - a great way to start the day. I would recommend this hotel to all travelling categories.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank nsaul123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I can say all nice things about this hotel. We came as a group of three friends, and spent most of the time just enjoying what the city has to offer. And it has a lot to offer (I highly recommend going to the opera here). The hotel itself is conveniently located within the city center. Ask for a map at the hotel desk, and the city is easy to navigate anyway. Back to the hotel - our room was spacious enough, the service was great, the staff was nice. Breakfast left no complaints. There was even champagne and vodka shots for those in the mood to start their day this way.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BZtraveler_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed three nights Jan 27-30 in a 'superior room', which was first class in every regard and extremely good value vis a vis UK prices. All staff were helpful and pleasant throughout with good English. The breakfast buffet was good with a wide choice of foodstuffs. The location could not be better for walking the Old Town, visiting the Central Markets or using the excellent tram system: in short highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior fifth floor room: well worth the extra (marginal) cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeChadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My partner and I stayed at Old Riga Palace for 4 nights in Jan 2013. The room was small but clean, my only 2 complaints about the room was there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room and the walls were paper thin and we constantly heard other guests and the cleaning staff. The hotel is located with a 2-3 minute walk into the heart of old town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We chose the Old Riga Palace for it's convenience and price.
The location was perfect for investigating the Old Town of Riga by foot, and just down the road from many restaurants, attractions, souvenir shops and transport.. Local Latvian restaurants are plentiful and only a few minutes away. We also used St Peters Church as a point of reference to our hotel, as it's so close.
The hotel itself was good value, with a wonderful breakfast included in the rate. Our room was a little small, but our kids had a triple room, and that was quite spacious. All rooms were very clean, and the beds very comfortable. There are lifts for carting your luggage upstairs, and the staff are very friendly and only too happy to help. There is also a restaurant if you don't want to venture out.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old Riga Palace.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meisje65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#31 of 112 in Riga
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
2.4 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#18 of 112 in Riga
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#14 of 112 in Riga
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#40 of 112 in Riga
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#29 of 112 in Riga
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#15 Spa Hotel in Riga
#32 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £26 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing