We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thank you to red hair lady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Ranked #34 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 8 November 2013

hotel location is in the centre of old city. The rooms on 6th floor should not be in inventory or for sale. I had few head accidents due to the room lay out. To get to the bed was done on my kneese and i am not joking. Unless you going to hurt your self there is no alternitives to get in the bed.
This question was raised previous customers promised to be dealt with but no results. Owner shows that buisness is more important than customers safety. Request to replace the rooms had been offered but even after few demands nothing was done. Great buffet with great food selection.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilia888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very nice hotel, very friendly (and multi-lingual) staff! Breakfast was great. Only downside was the shower which isn't really suitable for a larger person! The doors don't open very wide and when closed, it's a bit difficult to move without adjusting the tap!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

A very friendly good value hotel. Helpful staff who were happy to biok restaurants for you. Breakfasts were excellent, good choice of hot and cold food. Beds were very comfy. Quiet location, but only a few minutes walk from the Old Town. Very impressed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynn_260755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Old Riga Palace hotel because of its old world charm and its unbeatable location right on the edge of the Old Town.
The first room we were given was in the top floor and had no windows only skylights and although it was fairly spacious we had requested a double bed and it had twin beds so we asked to change.
We were moved to the 4th floor with no problem to a smaller room with a double, the room was well equipped even while compact but I accept that in older, well located hotels this is often the case.
The bathroom was fitted with really good shower and sanitary wear was top of the range from Villeroy and Boch.
Staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay and the breakfast provided was plentiful and varied with rice or fish and chicken type dishes available alongside the usual meats, cheese, fruit, yogurt, cereals and pastries, there was also local sparkling wine and orange juice on a side table if you were feeling brave and or delicate.
We only ate in the bar on our last night of 4 and it was tasty, I had the Oktoberfest special of Bockwurst, Sauerkraut and fried potatoes and enjoyed it and my wife had the Burger and salad it was good value and tasty.
Riga can be rainy so take one of the hotel provided umbrellas from the stand in the lobby early as they can run out early on bad days.
WiFi is free in the lobby and was very welcome along with the bowls of sweets on the table.
The Old Riga Palace is a great place to stay for couples, families and groups to explore the beautiful Old Town of Riga its also very close to the markets which are great to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2013 and I'm definitely satisfied. The receptionist was kind and professional. Checking in took a minute and the room was very nice. It's small, but clean with a nice & warm design. Yes. the shower stall in the bathroom is small, but it shouldn't be any problem for a normal sized man. I'm 190cm long and had no trouble fitting. Otherwise the bathroom was clean and spacy.

Breakfast was satisfactory, with almost everything you expect from an average breakfast buffet. However, don't expect the quality of an expensive brunch, you'll be dissapointed.

Location get's a 10/10! Old town is just around the corner, and with a 5 min walk you're at Stockmann & close to various shops and restaurants you'd expect from what looked like a main street in Riga.

Definitely recommending Wellton Old Riga Palace for anyone visiting Riga for a couple days!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived to Old Riga for a very short stay (just one night), because we had a connection there. The best thing about this hotel is its dedicated staff. The reception girl (Diana, I think) was very kind, helpful and professional also as the guy next day on the check out. Room is not big, but nicely decorated and cosy. All the ameneties along with the facade and the entrance are in very good condition, possibly after recent renovation.
We liked very much that even though we left at 6.00 in the morning they arranged and packed us a breakfast with coffee.
Sleaping quality is good enough as the windows have acoustic isolation.
These and some other pleasant things about this hotel have left a very good impression of this hotel and on its staff. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip through booking website...but as I was in a hurry I forgot to check trip advisor. What a mistake!.....what is said in the poor reviews is correct. First problem we arrived at 7.30pm to be told the rooms would not be available for 30 minutes....grudgingly they gave us one room after 15. There were no towels in one room.....the breakfast was very ordinary in the dark basement restaurant. The single rooms were definitely single!....décor was tired eastern bloc and very gloomy!...and it was more expensive than where we had stayed 2 nights previously. The only thing that stopped me giving one star was I actually slept very well...maybe that was from the wine at dinner! I will not be returning

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukrandomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing our hotel and even more for your comments you shared with Trip Advisor readers. We are sad to hear that at your room was not prepared towels as well we like to apologies for other circumstances. Like to inform that all information has already forwarded to corresponding hotel department and we are constantly try to improving our services - including personal training and our product supply quality as well.
Thank you one more time for your recent stay at Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel and we will be more than happy to welcome back at any of Wellton Hotels.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Assistant Marketing manager
Wellton Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#28 of 112 in Riga
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#39 of 112 in Riga
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 112 in Riga
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 112 in Riga
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#30 of 112 in Riga
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Spa Hotel in Riga
#30 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £26 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing