We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Arriving at the hotel, the first impression always made is by the reception staff, and our impression was that the ladies customer service was not very welcoming, quite tight and formal, and it did not feel like we were very welcome. We had booked a basic double room, the view was OK, the room was clean and it had all the small extras that you expect from a 4 star hotel, the beds were a little small though, and pushed together to make a double bed, which of course means its not a double bed (per say). The breakfast was a disaster. We actually did not eat the breakfast on the second morning of our stay because it was so horrible. There was not much to choose from. It consisted of watery vegetables with no taste, egg omlet that was also watery and had no taste, the juice had run out, the coffee was bad and everything just looked sad and withering, being in the restaurant industry myself, I know a good hotel breakfast and this really was not up to 4 star standards. On leaving the hotel - the receptionist lady was just really rude. She did not ask us if we had a nice stay, she was just very formal and unfriendly. I would not stay in this hotel again, although the rooms are clean, we saw much better ones in better locations as-well for the same price on booking.com. Don't go here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beresford M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Mr Beresford,
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us. Thank you for your comments as each opinion of the guest is very important. We would like to explain that already forwarded information to corresponding hotel departments. We hope that next time when staying with us, you would be able to see the difference.

Kind regards,
Olga Stavinska.
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
There are newer reviews for Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

I came for three nights in the middle of the winter to old Riga. the write up about this hotel was nice and its average satisfaction was 8.6. I think it is slightly overrated.
The room (single) can sleep two thin people but it leaves very little room to maneuver. The shower is so small that I was hoping not to lose the soap. But it was clean and warm. Breakfast is very nice and the options are many...too many.. Staff are all helpful and accommodating. they helped with directions, were knowledgeable about times of opening of stores, and made taxi reservation willingly.
The hotel is in the old city but at the edge. If I was a woman I would have found it frightening to go out in the dark. There is no attraction or restaurant really nearby. it was not a problem for me as a man but I could see it as a problem.

Room Tip: Beware of the single rooms if you need to stay in the room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not really nice as i expected from the pictures and descriptions provided on the web site. Bracfact is like in low cost hostel - just terrible. Despite the fare room size the interior is quite poor. To be honest beds are not king size (they re rather for little girls). Bathroom is ok but it seems like the towels were stolen from the kinder garden as they re quality and the size are ridiculously small. Location is ok.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ILYA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaceLea, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Illia,

Thank you for your honest review, as constructive feedback is always welcome. We are sorry to hear you had mixed feelings about our service. While economy room offers better value, we always suggest that guests who look for a greater level of comfort try booking one of our Business or Superior suites, as they are more spacious and provide additional range of amenities.

Thank you for staying with us, and we do hope to see you again in one of our hotels.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The pretty good hotel reviews I had read earlier, didn't turn out to be true during our 3-night stay in this hotel. I cannot tell the price of the room, because we booked it via the Finnish travel agency - however, the deal was not cheap at all. Should have done it at least via bookings to get the room much cheaper (deals with approx. 50 euros per night before Xmas time). The room was unbelievably small: with two of us sharing the room, we didn't even have space enough to pass each other in the room. The chair blocked the way to the toilet. The towels were small, there was a very oldfashioned plastic carpet in front of the shower. It was very challenging to put your clothes to the coat-hangers. The equipment for ironing takes too much space out of the wardrobe.The overall impression was not a bit stylish. The massage I bought for half an hour was carried out in 20 minutes - to my disappointment. I couldn't agree with the other persons making the evaluation with high grades. I wouldn't go another time and wouldn't recommend this - only with a very good deal. The only positive thing was Natalie in the reception and her behaviour. Futhermore, due to the location in the quiet street it was a calm hotel. However, the surroundings of the hotel are not elegant at all. I will naturally contact the travel agency as well! Another positive thing was, that we could check-in pretty early in the morning.

Room Tip: We checked the floor plan and could notice, that there are a few bigger rooms in each floor. Even wi...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javanainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Situated in the scruffy outskirts of the Old Town this hotel failed in several key points. My prepayment had not been registered, the key card functioned badly, the wifi inside the room was very poor. Used glasses in the room where not changed, only turned upside down with last nights contents stuck inside. The breakfast had free champagne but the rest was poorly presented, with three days old hard buns. The receptionists were unattentive and boringly formal. It is a charming place but could do a lot more.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Sandalsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel is ok for a week-end or maybe 3-4 days, but the nice location did not quite make up for the various irritating details: The room was poorly soundproofed, we could hear our neighbor turn in his bed! Our mattress was too hard. We had asked for 2 single beds but got a standard double. We tried dinner in the hotel restaurant the first evening - with so many great restaurants in Riga - that was a mistake! The breakfast was ok but nothing more. When they serve sparkling wine for breakfast, why pour the glasses in advance making the wine lukewarm, besides much too sweet for us. In the breakfast room they have music over the speakers on full blast. Pop music for teenagers. Instead of having the small, one-cup packs with instant coffee, that most hotels have today, they brought us a big coffee-machine with pouches at 3 euro per cup! Again, it mostly has to do with details but they added up.
There are many hotels in Riga with just as good a location. I know that we'll pick another one if we decide to visit the city another time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_H190483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Spent 3 nights in this hotel. The location was good for exploring the Old Town. All staff we had dealings with were friendly and helpful. Food in the small restaurant very nice and enjoyed a few drinks in the bar. We booked an economy room including breakfast which was £42 per night, this is such great value for money. I am sure we were not in an economy room as it was spacious with a desk and chair area not as described by previous reviewers. The room and bathroom was spotless. I found the bed to be comfortable, takes some getting used to there being 2 single duvets on a double bed, however am aware that some countries use this type of bedding. Would stay here again if I return to Riga.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#37 of 110 in Riga
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 110 in Riga
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Riga
#23 Family Hotel in Riga
#30 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £29 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing