We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away from four stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Ranked #37 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a night only, it was more or less an "accident" as we had to stay over night in Riga (even though planned differently) and we were just transferred here from overbooked Albert Hotel. (Finding us another hotel took ages, by the way, and only after insisting on a taxi they agreed to pay it for us.) So we were glad to have found a hotel for the night, but I couldn't imagine staying here for a whole weekend.
The location is not bad, at the edge of the old town, but it is surrended by old buildings (perhaps from the Soviet times) better described as ruins. The ladies at the reception were nice and friendly. However, the room was a disaster. It was on the 6th floor which means attic. It was SO hot!!! The airconditioning did help a bit, but we could hardly sleep at all, only opening the windows helped, but then all the light came in as well. Also the room was tiny, just like the bathroom that didn't seem to have any kind of airconditioning. The water in the tiny shower wasn't flowing off, the drain wasn't obviously functioning either. The TV did work, but it was an adventure to find any channels - only after calling the reception we were told that one has to go over 900 to find a few functioning channels. Our room was also located near the noisy elevator, so there was no chance of sleep after the first guests started using it in the morning.
The breakfast was okay - a very limited choice of food however, for example only one type of bread, white. The choice of cereals was much better. The ladies working in the basement breakfast room were far from being nice and friendly.
Despite of the relatively moderate price, I'd advise everyone to stay away from this hotel, at least our experience was so bad that we'd never consider staying here another night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unelma333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Mrs Judit K,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had. All your comments were forwarded to the relevant departments and we are working on improvement.
We hope, that the inconveniences you experienced, won't prevent you from visiting our hotels again. We would appreciate an opportunity to restore your faith in us!


Kind regards,
Olga Stavinska
Wellton Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Not a bad hotel at all. Very cheap for a 4* hotel. Perfect location - in the heart of Old Riga.

Well mannered and educated staff, that spoke in Russian, English, Latvian and German.

Clean Rooms, nice minibar and the bar on the ground floor.

Superb breakfast.

Was surprised that almost all guests were German.

Only minus, the shower was so small :D I'm glad I'm not obese, otherwise there is no way to shower in it .

Definitely will choose this hotel, when back in Riga.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms were good, cozy and with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Seems like hotel aimed at bus tours, and was crowded at breakfast and check in / out when elevator can be difficult. Recommend pay the difference for a larger room, which was quiet and had small balcony and mini bar. Staff OK and English v good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very nice hotel located on a nice quite street still in the Riga old town. Very nice buffte breakfast, wide selection of food and drinks. Room was very small and beds very narrow. The staff could be more helpful and more familiar with hotel business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estonianguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I lost a gold ring and I didn't notice until I was in the bus to Tallinn. The staff took the trouble to ring my home in London the same day, and tell my family they had found a ring in my room and they would be sending it shortly. It arrived a few days ago. Just for that I think this hotel deserves top marks!!! Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I'm afraid I can't share the enthusiasm of some other recent reviewers for this hotel.

True, its location, a restored house at the edge of the old town, is good and strategic. Room 506 provides a nice glimpse of the market buildings, and is quite light. However, even though I had the luxury of single occupancy of a double room, I found it cramped -- like the shower. Annoyingly, an airconditioning light flickers 24/7; the first receptionist said, "hold the button and it will switch off" -- quod non; the second laconically offered me a post-it to cover the light.

Breakfast choices are OK, but unimaginative, with the exception of the salads. Worse, though, is that breakfast is served in a dark basement, fitted out in depressingly bad taste. An English-language news channel is permanently on, magnetizing people's attention as if they are all watching a solar eclipse. Mindless muzak plays all the time. The atmosphere is that of a canteen rather than a four star hotel.

Upon my early arrival, the receptionist waved me to a space where I could store my luggage, instead of helping me get it there. The room was not locked -- indeed a notice warns guests not to leave valuables in their suitcase!

In all manner of ways, I felt unwelcome. I know for a fact that there are far better hotel options in Riga.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and effort to share your feedback.
We would like to explain that already forwarded information to corresponding hotel departments. We hope that next time when staying with us, you would be able to see the difference.


Kind regards,
Olga Stavinska.
Public Relations Manager
Welton Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This is an older hotel that has no real view, but is conveniently located near all the sights. This hotel is also close to the train depot and bus depot.

It has all the standard travel amenities (wi-fi, etc). The room was good, and the hotel staff were excellent.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful. Dinner was available, but you would do better (selection and price wise) at a restaurant in Old Town.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rocki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
1 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#31 of 112 in Riga
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#14 of 112 in Riga
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 112 in Riga
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#39 of 112 in Riga
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#28 of 112 in Riga
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#15 Spa Hotel in Riga
#32 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £25 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing