We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ancient building at the edge of old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ancient building at the edge of old town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The location is good, near the old town, the railway station, the market and the bus station. I slept only one night , it was clean and well furnished. The Shower was comfortable and the room provide a tea kettle. I choose it in order to benefit of the sauna and Jim. They were not open, so I could see them but I think it was reserved a minimum space to them.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    421
    173
    41
    25
See reviews for
138
408
95
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Well situated in a quiet street on the edge of the Old City, the ORP offered a good-sized room with excellent amenities. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum but the reception staff were absolutely on the ball and eager to help. Natalia, in particular, was key to sorting out local travel plans.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Renovated,small and clean rooms.The bathroom was nice.Breakfast was also fine.
Within walking distance of the old town and the bus station.
The employees were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Cihan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and after reading a few negative reviews, I was a bit worried. When we arrived, we were immediately told we had been upgraded, which was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is situated a few minutes’ walk from the ‘centre’, which was a bonus as it was fairly quiet. The room was big with a nice bathroom with bath/shower. The bed was really comfortable. Breakfast is amazing, there is so much choice it caters for everyone’s individual preference. I guess the only negative thing is the TV which only has news channels. To get there, you can take bus 22 at the airport and after about 25/30 minutes stop at the ‘11th november’ something street (the stop after the library ) cross over and walk right a couple of minutes, you should see the sign for the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the fourth floor are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night only. It has a wonderful location at the Old Town within the easy reach to all the attractions of the city. We were offered a business category room by the reception and it was comfortable enough. Reception staffs were wonderful. Our heartfelt thanks to the long haired blond lady at the reception (seems front office manager or manager on duty), she was ever ready to resolve all requests of guests.

After having spent 4 nights at Stockholm, all prices seem rock bottom to you. Latvia is a cheap country. In any restaurant in Stockholm, you pay over 50 € for a reasonable wine whereas, you may get a bottle of wine at 11 € in Riga in an equivalent restaurant.

Only reason for bringing down to 4 stars is the dinner service. Although they have a large restaurant open for breakfast, they prefer to serve the dinner at the bar which is very noisy. Go out for dinner, the Old Town has plenty of dinner options.

Room Tip: Business rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkishfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is right in the old part of town and about 10 mins walk from almost anywhere. Good for public transport too. Breakfast was superb, and I think they have taken on board a previous comment, because fresh fruit was served every day of our stay. WiFi seemed to work fine for us as well - maybe there are blind or weak spots. Only qualm is the size of the room my parents were given. We booked our room from Kazakhstan, and went for the rock bottom cheapest room, while my parents booked from UK and booked a room one level above the economy class. In the end, our room was quite a bit larger than theirs. Don't know if this has anything to do with our respective travel agents, since neither of us booked directly. the only other problem was that our room faced out over the yard, where early each morning the garbage collectors arrived, and then the recycling truck, and then another delivery or collection... had to keep the windows open because the a/c was out of order! No late mornings for us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is decorated very nicely and the location is perfect. Breakfast is normal standard, but there are no fresh fruits. Service is good, but I think that maybe the receptionists could stand more and not just sit behind the big counter.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrAropupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mr Aropupu,


Thank you for your feedback. All your comments were forwarded to the relevant departments and we are working on improvement. Thank you!

Looking forward to welcoming you again.


Kind regards,
Olga Stavinska
Wellton Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Property: Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Riga
#23 Family Hotel in Riga
#28 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing