We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee Art Nouveau

Musee Art Nouveau
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.93*
and up
Riga Highlights Tour with Art Nouveau Museum
Ranked #11 of 219 things to do in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situé dans un bâtiment du quartier Art Nouveau de Riga, au 1er étage. Adresse, Alberta Iela (en face de l'ambassade d'Irlande et de Belgique)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
226 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I'm afraid I cannot join in the chorus of praise for this museum. The exhibition is very small, with hardly any really impressive pieces of furniture or objects. And dressed-up staff really puts me off. My recommendation would be: once inside the building, don't enter the museum, but walk up the wonderfully decorated spiral stairs. On the top floor, there is a miniscule and unassuming, but much more authentic second museum, the former apartment and atelier of Janis Rozentāls; visit that one instead.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ChF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    209
    69
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Superb Art Nouveau Splendour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This was the highlight of our visit to Riga - a bit fiddly to find as it is just a small apartment in the building and we had to enter a code to gain access. Small hiccup really. Staff are dressed in period costume - you can too, we did! The detail in all of the rooms is fantastic, from the maid's room with her bed and sewing machine, to the tables set for tea, even a 'chef' making biscuits in the kitchen - they tasted great. Can't recommend it enough - go visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth the effort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A little difficult to find, had to key in a certain code to gain access to the museumon the corner of Alberta Iela and Str.... Brilliant collection of Jugend-style stuff. Set in a 1920s style apartment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank finnscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Art Nouveau Museum in Riga is an apartment renovated in the original style. Even though the apartment is small, it displays a number of art pieces and household equipment. The staff was dressed in historical looking clothing, and was very helpful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LucyTors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bham
Level Contributor
173 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Small but perfectly preserved. Went on a Sunday and there was a children's event on - which did not disrupt our visit - in fact it was great to see the children enjoying their cultural event!
Dont need to buy the audio guide as there are English room information sheets in each room

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee Art Nouveau also viewed

 

Been to Musee Art Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing