We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - friendly staff, convenient location and comfy beds!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Funky Hostel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Funky Hostel and Apartments
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place - friendly staff, convenient location and comfy beds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

My friend and I stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful time. The location is fantastic: just walk a few minutes in a straight line and you'll find yourself in the heart of Riga. So you can easily find your way back even after a few drinks! The beds were very comfy and we felt secure and relaxed at all times.

Eve is a wonderful, very friendly and helpful host. The facilities are clean and of good quality and the price is very low. I'll definitely be staying here again next time I'm in Riga!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
20
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

It's a very clean and comfy place. There are a lot of bath amenity in the shower room. Breakfast is offered until noon!!! The owner is super nice and helpful. You feel like home. Highly recommend!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

It is a nice and clean hostel. The only problem was the wrong written address, it was in a different street and it was hard to find for us while it was raining, and do not be duped by its classical latvian/russian scary looking building, inside is a safe place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramazan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The location is excellent, quite close to the old town. The hostel staff is very friendly and helped a lot in directing me about where to eat and go around the town, even marking things in the map. The asian food place , 'Wok' and latvian food place , 'Lido' , both suggested by him, turned out to be more than excellent with perfect setting cosy setting.

The single room doesnt have attached bathroom, but the shared bathroom is very clean and nice. Those who have big luggages should keep in mind that the hostel is on the 3rd floor and doesnt have a lift.

Room Tip: The dorm is mixed, so its better to take the single room if you need privacy, although its a bit ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbes_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed in Funky hostel for 7 nights and I had a great time. The hostel is very clean and very cosy and the other guests are friendly and nice to talk to. Also the staff was very friendly and helpsome. The location is perfect as it is just outside old town and also close to the art nouveau center of Riga. I would definitely recommend staying in this hostel for single travellers as you will meet nice people here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sietske_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
264 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Funky Hostel for three nights during our recent visit to Riga. It's a short walk from the Old Town. My first impression was not great as the stairway leading five flights of stairs up to the hostel smelled bad, but the hostel itself was very cozy and inviting. Freddy was super helpful and gave us a quick tour of the place and made sure we knew where we were headed. Our private room with two twin beds came complete with a little couch. The wifi worked great from our room, and the common areas including the lounge and bathrooms were quite clean. I would more than likely stay again if I were in Riga.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

What a fabulous hostel! Incredibly friendly staff, and very very clean. Definitely our favorite place that we stayed during our trip. The location is very close to the old town, as well as the Art Nouveau areas -- and it is just two tram stops from the bus and train stations. Additionally, the staff wants you to voice all of your complaints, even the tiny ones, so that they can make your stay as pleasant as possible. The only drawback that we saw: five flights of stairs and no lift -- but really, we didn't mind it in the slightest (although some travelers may). Otherwise, perfect!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokopelirojo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#45 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Augustine
Hotel Augustine
#86 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#42 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#33 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kolonna Hotel Riga
Kolonna Hotel Riga
#34 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Hostel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Hostel and Apartments

Property: Funky Hostel and Apartments
Address: Kri jana Barona iela 25 | Top floor, Riga 1011, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Funky Hostel and Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small & friendly hostel in the center of Riga. Owned by Australian/Latvian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Funky Hostel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing