We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Funky Hostel and Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
A1 Hotel(Riga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
65
32
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
32
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomtop floorfree breakfast isold towna great stayrooms are largeminute walkenjoyed my stayluggagewifibaronamenitiestvlounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I was able to spend 5 out of 14 nights at the Funky Hostel. Great walking distance to Old town. Plus close to the Local experience. Clean and Friendly. Great Wifi and free Breakfast! Eve is a great time. Buy her a cider and have a chat in the common room!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweetstupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

well hard to talk good or bad about this one, the price was quite good compared to other countries, not so far from the center, and nice staff, but when we arrived from the airport with taxi, we stayed there for an hour trying to find someone to open the door for us, the woman doesnt speak a lot of english, friendly though, but again, not caring about these things.
otherwise they were nice and friendly. i hope they improve this kind of services, flat is ok, a bit dirty, very cold during winter, 6th or 5th floor without elevator, again, that was ok cuz of the low price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunkyHostel R, Owner at Funky Hostel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We agree that having to wait to be let in to the hostel is terrible and we deeply apologise for your hardship. We have installed door bells that call the hostel managers mobile telephone. Then you can speak direct with the manager and she can open the door by pressing 5 on her mobile phone. We also have installed pin code safes that will hold your electronic door keys for you if the hostel manager is not there. The manager will tell you that pin code to open the safe when you speak with her via the door bell phone. Or if you want we can inform you in advance by email if that is what you would like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Funky hostel gets it all right. Right from the moment of arrival, we were given such personal attention from the lovely Australian woman running the place. We had a lovely, warm and comftoable stay there. Warm and clean shower, comfortable bed, good kitchen and nice communal area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bogstandardtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Finest hospitality. Remark especially the good living zone, the best view onto a 1903 building, free wifi, maps etc.
Should the masters want to up grade a thing, I would recommend them to provide guests with pure water and to invent some smaller shelves or something just next to the upper beds. One has no place to put smaller belonging. it is however not compulsory at all. Going to recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filipp_Vulakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I liked this place. It was very laid back, the owner's sister, who was working there, was quite friendly, the rooms were nice and it was peaceful. All of the other budget options in town were very much in the middle of the nightlife scene, and I was grateful not to be there. Breakfast was also included. It was simple but nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dxm300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews