We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and Enjoyable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Funky Hostel and Apartments
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Kagoshima, Japan
1 review
“Easy and Enjoyable!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Really enjoyed the ease and simplicity of the Funky Hostel. Eve was very helpful, kind, and laid-back which was much appreciated. Excellent location and a really unique and cost-effective option to the traditional hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kblock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
20
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a three night stay at Funky Hostel. We had a private two person room. Eve, the hostel owner, is a very friendly Ozzie and provided good insight into restaurants and things to do. Streetburgers and, if you have the scratch, Rozengrals medieval restaurant, are both highly recommended.

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The common areas were also similarly well kept. The hostel is about a 20 min pleasant stroll to the old town with plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. Don't miss the nearby Latvian Museum of Occupation.

The free breakfast of toast, jams, cheeses and assorted cereals with milk was fine. The 24 hr tea and coffee service was also very nice. The free wifi was surprisingly fast. Bottom line is that that we had a great time and if we go back to Riga we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

To get to the hotel take airport bus 22 to the Stockman stop. It's a bit of a ride from the airport depending on traffic-about 30 min. The walk to the hotel takes about 20 or so.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had a fantastic break in Riga
We were looking for a hostel/hotel and found this hostel on tripadvisor as looking for a cheap break. We booked a private double room in November 14-18th which was large and faced onto the Dragons. The place was smaller than your usual hostels and very homely/cosy more like a small hotel. The 18th is Independence day and the build up to this was electric- lighting shows throughout the city with everyone wearing proudly the colours of their flags on there tops/jackets.
I was not disappointed in its location its just outside of the old town and was easy to find with directions from Eve (staff) who was very helpful. The hostel is at the top-floor of a residential block that has no lift/elevator however the stairs are manageable as I'm not very fit and didn't have problems.
From the airport we got on the bus No 22 and got off at shopping mall Stockholm(or something similar) and from their the directions given are self-explanatory.
Most things historical were within 10-15 minutes walk.
I have seen prettier cities however Riga was very enchanting with all the beautiful architecture surrounding it in Art Noveau.
To get a better feel for the city we did the Free Walking Tours Old Riga & Riga City and visited the Communist museum which gave a better understanding of the difficulties that the people of Riga/Latvia experienced. There are lots of good restaurants however we managed to eat at LIDO (very reasonable) which are situated throughout the city
All of the above was made very memorable with the help and knowledge of the area by Eve- thank you

Room Tip: if your a light sleeper ask to be situated on opposite side of main road as trams pass regularly at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just had a great time at Funky Hostel in Riga. It is the perfect place to have a calm and relaxing time and the city center is just around the corner. From washing of clothes to breakfast and WiFi - everything's just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christoph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is the only the second time I'd ever stayed in a hostel and to be honest I was pretty sceptical - I expected a massive prison-style establishment with iron bunk beds and hordes of drunken tourists. Thankfully, I couldn't have been more wrong.

The hostel is run by a lovely Aussie lady called Eve, and she goes out of her way to help her guests. As soon as I booked she sent me a clear and detailed email explaining how to get to the hostel by taxi or various forms of public transport. I would be arriving after normal hours but that was no problem and Eve stayed up to greet me and make me feel at home.

The hostel itself is a large apartment on the top floor of a residential/office building, it's quite small with only around 20 or so beds, I stayed in a private double room which was clean and comfortable. The bathrooms/kitchen and communal areas were all clean and more like a family home than a hostel.

There's no doubt that my experience at Funky hostel was massively enhanced by the lovely fellow travellers I met there but I think a lot of this was thanks to Eve creating such a welcoming environment.

In terms of practicalities, the hostel is really convenient for the old town, central markets, train station and all the sights. The town is mainly on a grid street system and so really easy to navigate.

Thanks again Eve for a great stay!

Jane

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swallow_Tattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Highly Recommended.

Group of 4 looking for a low cost alternative to a hotel. This was out first experience in a hostel and we have absolutely no complaints. We will definitely return.

Staff were very helpful in giving information on the local area/taxis/eating joints etc. The hostel is a 5-10 minute walk to old town, and has various other amenities within a short walking distance. The perfect place if you're looking for somewhere close to the main areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Thank you for a fantastic stay in Riga! The hostel is perfectly located in a very nice area and almost everything is in walking distance. Eve, the host, is a very sweet and nice person and gave us good advice on what to do, where to go and where to eat. Altogether we had a great time and would definetly stay at Funky Barons again. Best wishes from Hamburg M.&C.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insomniahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Teater
City Hotel Teater
#32 of 109 in Riga
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Liene
Hotel Liene
#91 of 109 in Riga
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mosaic Hotel
Mosaic Hotel
#54 of 109 in Riga
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
505 reviews
3.0 mi away
TOSS Hotel
TOSS Hotel
#72 of 109 in Riga
47 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#59 of 109 in Riga
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Hostel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Hostel and Apartments

Property: Funky Hostel and Apartments
Address: Kri jana Barona iela 25 | Top floor, Riga 1011, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Funky Hostel and Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small & friendly hostel in the center of Riga. Owned by Australian/Latvian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Funky Hostel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing