We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is perfect but this is close”
Review of Neiburgs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Neiburgs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I loved staying at this hotel. The location is ideal and close to everything. The room was large and spotlessly clean. It had a full kitchenette and sitting area, all for little old me. The staff is friendly and very helpful.

Two drawbacks: Even though I was up on the 5th floor I could hear street noise (talking and music) on Friday night, Saturday night and Sunday when I awoke at 5:30 am. The music comes from Dome Square which is just down the street. I sleep with white noise (from an app) so it didn't bother me too much.

Also, the buffet breakfast, while varied in choice, is not 5 star. I am used to Las Vegas buffets and this is not that. But it tasted good and was filling.

Aside from the noise issue I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
There are newer reviews for Neiburgs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed for two nights at this funky chic boutique hotel.

Our lovely room was stylish and comfortable and the service was efficient and friendly.

Perfect location in the Old Town

Good value too

Only downside was that it was rather noisy at night but that is an inevitable consequence of the central location

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RogerBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is housed in one of the most beautiful Art Deco buildings in a beautiful city; inside it has Art Deco touches, especially in the public areas (we loved the lettering used throughout) but the bedrooms are rather more modern, and were extremely comfortable and well fitted out.

Friendly staff, a good restaurant and great location make this one well worth choosing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is located in old town. It's easy to find and cute cafes are right outside your door.

The hotel presents itself as a luxury hotel and this simply isn't the case. It appears to be when you first arrive, with a great location, wonderful lobby, and beautiful restaurant. But when you get to the rooms you see where they fall short.

On the plus side, the rooms are big (mine was about 34 sq meters). And the bathroom was very nice, with a large mirror, excellent lighting, and a wonderful shaving mirror. They also offer a nice decently equipped kitchenette.

But the furniture in the room is old, some of it chipped and damaged. The beds are 2 twins pushed together with separate duvets. The beds are very hard. The pillows are firm and bumpy. They have a work desk, but there are no outlets. The desk was pushed up against an old heater (I suppose to hide it). The furniture in the room has a cheap feel to it. And this hotel is not cheap. My room had a little courtyard view that did not offer much natural light and had a view of the wall and the room across from the courtyard. Try to get a room on the 3rd floor or above to get more light.

I don't agree with the current super high ratings on TripAdvisor. While I was not dissatisfied with my stay here - I wouldn't stay here again. There are better luxury options in Riga.

Room Tip: Go 3rd floor or higher to get natural light.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turmeric94, Director of Sales at Neiburgs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your opinion. We are very sorry you didn't enjoy staying with us. Still we would like to inform that the project of Neiburgs Hotel have got the main prize for the best reconstruction of a historical building in Latvia 2010 and the main prize for the best interior design of a public building.

Here is a short information about the brands used at Neiburgs Hotel interior:
Lamps from Artemide in apartments;
Sofas in apartments from Alberto Salotti;
Best quality beds in the apartments from FBF bed and more, Germany;
Heaters - Bohemia Cast Iron Wet System Radiators in the whole building;
Moooi "Dear Ingo" lamps in the restaurant;
ZAVA - lamps in library or lounge;
Lamps also from Zero, Zava, .sce, XAL, Modular;
The reception lamp – original Anglepoise;
Chairs in the library from Ligne Roset;
Sofas in the reception area – restored TONET ;
etc.


With best regards,
Brigita Veinberga
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Could not fault the accommodation service or food. Beautiful Jugenstil building,tastefully furnished rooms, friendly helpful staff, good food. Thoroughly enjoyable and the staff were very helpful. Understated elegance What more can I say, will stay again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is possibly the most luxurious hotel ever stayed in over a lifetime. There are more lavish and showy hotels but the Neiburgs Hotel is understated and thereby exudes sheer class. Minimalist modern decor with a very few ornamental pieces portrays style and taste. All the fittings are of exceptional quality in an art nouveau building originally built in 1903 with a completely contemporary interior. The facade of the building onto Jauniela Iela is so striking that there is a continuous stream of tourists and passers-by taking photographs which makes you feel like a celebrity whilst eating breakfast or dinner in the ground floor restaurant which has a large expanse of glass making the interior light and airy despite the narrowness of the medieval street.
The 55 rooms over 6 floors are exceptional. The studio apartment was very spacious with a kitchen area containing a sink, kettle, ceramic hob, microwave oven and crockery and cutlery. The lounge area had a large table, long sofa and chair. There was an office area with a fitted desk in a recess. The bathroom was beautifully fitted with a traditional unenclosed bathtub and efficient large-head shower above. White robes and slippers are provided. Apparently there was underfloor heating but this was not needed during this stay. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bedding of high quality. All decorated in white but for a feature wall that was impressively stencil painted. The floors are apparently the original parquet wood that has been restored. All areas were served by a range of inset spot lights, angle lamps and free standing floor lamps; even inset lamps that came on automatically when the wardrobe door was opened. A free of charge safe is installed. In the basement are a pair of saunas and spa rooms. By the reception is a library with books in several languages for use by guests. The breakfasts are outstanding with a hot and cold buffet including several forms of fish, salads and smoothies. The staff are efficient but you are hardly aware they are there; this is how staff in a top class hotel should be. This review is particularly long because it was felt that the depth and quality of what this hotel has to offer deserved that degree of description. Other reviewers have highlighted the unbeatable location in the Old Town. Readers will have gathered that this hotel comes with unreserved recommendation!

Room Tip: The following "official" rates are as quoted in the Riga guide (at July 2013): 36 studio a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulBerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Exceptional in every way. Excellent staff, great restaurant and bar, beautiful and spacious rooms, best location in Old Town. The breakfasts were delicious and fresh with a friendly and helpful staff. Our room was very spacious and had plenty of exceptional touches, like extra plush towels, lovely Nordic wooden cabinetry, and a convenient kitchenette. Riga is a wonderful city, and I doubt you can find a finer boutique property there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatOTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#1 of 110 in Riga
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.2 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#6 of 110 in Riga
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neiburgs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neiburgs Hotel

Address: Jauniela 25-27, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £104 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Neiburgs Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very heart of Old Riga next to the Dome Cathedral this 4* Hotel is an exquisite combination of historical heritage and contemporary design. All the spacious suites from 23 to 62 square metres are equipped with comfortable furniture, plenty of light fixtures and well-appointed bathrooms. Although all the suites have a kitchenette in an alcove the guests are provided with full 4* hotel service and rich buffet breakfast in the restaurant.A small gym, sauna and steam bath available for hotel guests.The library in the hotel lobby holds a collection of literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Neiburgs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing