We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-designed art nouveau hotel - with excellent restaurant. More smiles from the staff would be nice!”
Review of Neiburgs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Neiburgs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Well-designed art nouveau hotel - with excellent restaurant. More smiles from the staff would be nice!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I'm pleased to say that the TA reports I read before booking this hotel for a recent stay were pretty much spot-on and hence I didn't regret my decision to book here.

Externally the hotel is very much a stand-out in terms of the art nouveau exterior and the excellence of its internal design and finish quality in all parts. The interior designers have done a great job throughout. Cool and comfortable but retaining the art nouveau feel.

Location is pretty much unbeatable - just a couple of minutes' walk from the Dom Cathedral and all the other major sights.

The room was large and comfortable though it had no view of anything very much - just walls and roofs. Maybe an upper floor - which I requested after I checked in - might have afforded a better outlook of spires and towers! A German tour group seemed to have pretty much taken care of the better rooms and I admit I didn't book very much in advance.

Breakfast was a slight disappointment - even in the context of Continental ones. There wasn't much choice of cereal and the cornflakes were of the uniform shape variety that don't have much taste at all. I stand to be corrected but I felt the orange juice came from a carton not an orange-squeezer and the cooked eggs appeared to be sliced up omelette rather than scrambled. There were just a handful of choices of cheese and meat. I know that breakfast on the continent isn't the same meal it is in the UK but after 2 or 3 identical breakfasts I was struggling to get very interested in what was on offer.

Generally, service was efficient but rather unsmiling - a feature of Riga and the Latvians in general I found. Sadly, the English in particular appear to have acquired a poor behavior reputation in Riga (and I witnessed some of it myself) so maybe they were suspicious of me (despite my old age!). Nevertheless - and particularly when you're travelling on your own - some interaction with folks working in the hotel - helps one to feel more at home. But there weren't many "hello"'s, "good morning"s or "good evening"s from reception or restaurant staff. A postscript - just 2 days later I was chatting with a very friendly Latvian lady working in a hotel restaurant in London - so maybe the Neiburgs prefers its team to be more efficient rather than they are friendly? Be interesting to see other reviewers' posts on this subject.

Like others I very much enjoyed a dinner I had in the Neiburgs restaurant (see photo). Excellent chicken and coconut (Thai) soup and sea bass - but I'll write a restaurant review separately. It's great to have an excellent restaurant just downstairs as part of the hotel.

So, all in all, I enjoyed my time at the hotel. Some things above meant I couldn't quite give it a 5 rating but definitely a 4.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the building will likely have better views over the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    152
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
122
343
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here in this beautiful art nouveau hotel for four nights and really couldn't fault the place. Location is excellent, rooms comfortable: king-sized beds with good quality bedding, kitchen area with fridge, sink etc, sofa, well-equipped bathroom with power shower and bath. Staff were efficient and helpful. Breakfast was brilliant - lots of choice with fresh fruit, salmon, meat, cheese, eggs, pastries, great bread etc etc. We ate in the restaurant on our last night and wished we had done so sooner - it was hands-down the best meal we'd eaten in Riga: fab cocktails (recommend the rhubarb fizz and the g&t with cucumber syrup), great fish - we had the sea bass with celeriac purée and beets and a seafood sepia risotto - both were excellent. Desserts, by which we're not normally tempted, were amazing: avocado puddings (soufflés), white chocolate and lavender panna cotta and amaretto and marzipan cake with strawberry coulis were all delicious. Someone in the kitchen really knows what they're doing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Neiburgs had been recommended by an Australian friend for its location and food and it certainly didn't disappoint on both fronts. The hotel is in the heart of Old Riga and it is a pleasure to be able to follow a busy stint of sightseeing with a quick walk back to the hotel for a break. We normally eat in different restaurants each night when we are in a new city. However, the food was so good in Nieburgs Restaurant that we ate there both nights of our stay.

The rooms are quite spacious and very comfortable with the only issue being the street noise from revellers which continued until 2 to 3 am each night. We would therefore recommend a room away form the front street.

The staff are friendly, speak excellent English, and are very helpful.

Room Tip: We suggest a room away from the front street due to the noise level at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillandEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel was on one of the quieter streets in the old town but yet close to all the major attractions and restaurants. The room was very comfortable. Beware of the slippy tube....they don't provide a rubber mat. In the basement they have a laundry room that guests can use. There is also a ironing board and iron if your things need a quick press. It's do it yourself so no charge. Nice way to save some money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Neiburgs is very well placed for visiting Old Riga, and is in an interesting old but comprehensively and recently renovated delightful art nouveau building. We (two couples) were upgraded from studio deluxes to senior suites, which have a very adequate bedroom, a large lounge area with settees, arm chair, desk and a kitchenette, and a small balcony. There is an entrance lobby and a very generous bathroom with shower over a large bath. All in excellent condition and well equipped, with a very comfortable bed. This room was on level 3 (ground is level 1) and we were aware of some night time noise even with the windows closed, not enough to wake us.
Breakfast was very good with a wide range of breads, cold meats and fish, salads, fruit, and porridge, eggs, bacon, sausages in food warmers, all in buffet format.
Evening meals in the restaurant are very reasonably priced, not a very exciting menu but well cooked and presented - good enough to mean we used it twice in a four night stay.
We found all the staff very pleasant and helpful, all speaking excellent English.
Only significant downside, as mentioned in another review, is the very limited range of hot drinks in the room. 2 instant coffee sachets, 2 tea sachets, 2 milk sachets per 24 hours - topped up minimally on request.

Room Tip: Probably go for higher floors to avoid street noise, especially Friday/Saturday
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 321Roger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Spent my first ever night in latvia at this hotel, for the money we paid it more than rivals any top hotel in the UK, loved the breakfast and friendly staff, clean rooms and a perfect location in old riga.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a weekend with friends and we took two rooms between four of us. The rooms were spacious with great facilities including a small kitchenette and sitting area. There was plenty of room to relax and prepare to explore the city. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is a very attractive building with a decorative exterior in the old town and is of interest to parties of tourists who stop outside frequently to look at the stone working around the door way. The breakfast buffet was varied, delicious and very healthy. It would have been great to have been provided with a better tea and coffee selection in the room (more sachets of coffee and a greater variety of teabags) and perhaps some fresh milk (although this was brought promptly when requested). Extra still drinking water would also have been excellent as we received one small complimentary bottle per person, we were staying for two nights and the water wasn't replaced on the second night. The location of the hotel couldn't be faulted, right in the heart of Riga's old town. Very pleasant stay indeed and for a very good value price per person.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#2 of 109 in Riga
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#9 of 109 in Riga
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neiburgs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neiburgs Hotel

Property: Neiburgs Hotel
Address: Jauniela 25-27, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Neiburgs Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very heart of Old Riga next to the Dome Cathedral this 4* Hotel is an exquisite combination of historical heritage and contemporary design. All the spacious suites from 23 to 62 square metres are equipped with comfortable furniture, plenty of light fixtures and well-appointed bathrooms. Although all the suites have a kitchenette in an alcove the guests are provided with full 4* hotel service and rich buffet breakfast in the restaurant.A small gym, sauna and steam bath available for hotel guests.The library in the hotel lobby holds a collection of literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Neiburgs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing