We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a lap dancing bar”
Review of Victory Pub

Victory Pub
Ranked #301 of 1,006 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Pub in the Old Town. Offers more than 20 varieties of beer on tap. Good quality food & burgers with generous servings. Sports TV, pool table & juke box
somewhere
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's a lap dancing bar”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Our hotel had a card with a 2-4-1 drink offer for this bar so my friend and I went for a last drink before bed. A group of men came in, had a conversation with staff about lap dancers and disappeared downstairs. We asked a female staff member if girls were 'dancing' downstairs and she replied 'yes, it's a gentleman's club'. Apparently this is illegal in the old town and nowhere is it made clear that this is a sex club. I wouldn't have given them my money had I have known this. Don't go here unless you are a minsogynst.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank louwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoryPub, Public Relations Manager at Victory Pub, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Many thanks for visiting Victory Pub and using the offer we have with the hotel. We also thank you for your feedback on the pub as this is very important to us. Our pub is open to all customers and over weekends to increased numbers of tourists, majority of whom are happy with our place.

For those who aren’t happy we listen to or give them opportunity to air their comments on sites like these.

That weekend we had few bachelor groups visiting the Victory Pub. We heard these young men singing, dancing and having a good time, they were perhaps swearing and even making sexy jokes and comments. We’re not always happy with clients behaviour but ask them to leave only when there is serious misbehaviour, or if the behaviour is reported to our staff. On this weekend there were instances when we had to do so, but it’s unfortunately part of late night business.

The private premises which we have on separate floor are not for public use and are booked in advance. These premises are often booked for bachelor parties but at times for hen nights. On certain nights you could say that our private premises are Lady’s Only Club. We do not advertise the club nor do we operate an 'open door' policy, designed to protect the integrity of the pub.

We will ignore your assumption on illegal strip club and human trafficking since we believe these were emotional responses. Bearing in mind the rowdy behaviour of British bachelor parties we can’t blame you.

We wish to apologise on their behalf and hope you will give our place a second chance.

Thanks for your comments and look forward seeing you in Riga again, …..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    45
    27
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our worst place in riga”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Went here in the evening. Disinterested staff, short measures,warm draught beer, grubby bar. Terrible service I could go on but in short it was awful. Avoid.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoryPub, Public Relations Manager at Victory Pub, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi and thanks for your review,

We are really sorry that you did not have a good experience in our pub, we have made conscious efforts to make sure that our staff are friendly and welcoming so to hear this is very sad. I know that when they read this they will want to make sure it doesn't happen again.

We are confident that your experience was a one off, however we will make sure that your comments are read and acted upon for all future clients.

Victory Pub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warffum, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice pub in Riga City Centre”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Nice pub in the city centre of Riga. Nice music, pooltable, jukebox, live sports, friendly staff, great karaoke nights and good food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank VincentKolstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoryPub, Public Relations Manager at Victory Pub, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi and thank you for your review,

We are really happy to see that you had a great time in our pub, you have almost written our advert for us, we don't pretend to be something we are not but what we do is good beer, simple but tasty food and a place to hang out watch sport and play some pool.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon

Victory Pub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Like a inner city pub”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Beer was OK and reasonably priced. The only thing was that the toilets could have been a bit cleaner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank porchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoryPub, Public Relations Manager at Victory Pub, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi and thank you very much for your review, your feedback is really important to us and we will make sure that our toilets are cleaned on a more regular basis...Thank you for pointing this out, we are now taking measures to ensure this happens.

Thanks

Victory Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nothing Victorious about this place..”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Visited the Victory pub on our last night in Riga (Thurs 25th July).

Think of the tackiest irish /british theme Pub youve been in, times it by 20 and youll come around to this place. If this is supposed to be a British theme pub its a disgrace.

We arrived about 10ish for a few drinks and the place was empty. For some strange reason still unbeknown to us we decided to grab a bite to eat there too.I chose the Chicken in Mustard Sauce and my pal the pasta dish.To say the chicken, if it was chicken, was disgusting was a compliment. also the sauce it was swimming in wasnt clever either.

We thought an hour spent in this pitiful joint was way too long, and as soon as one of those
crappity Pub Crawl thingy groups turned up it was time to settle the bill, reluctantly, and make a quick get away onto a better pub(of which theres plenty in the area).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GarrulousGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoryPub, Public Relations Manager at Victory Pub, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review, even negative feelings can help us to improve our service level and we are very sorry that your experience at the Victory Pub was not one to remember.

While we don't claim to be a British Pub we claim to be an honest and fun place where people can come together and enjoy live music and good pub food. We have taken positive steps in improving our menu as we knew this was something that needed doing. The Victory Pub is continually looking at ways to get better, the pub crawls...as with many other bars in town do stop by here. This normally adds to the atmosphere of the pub especially when we have Karaoke. We are sorry this was not to you liking but we cant please everyones taste.

We do hope this experience does not put you off visiting us again in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victory Pub also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Victory Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing