We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good hotel but location a bit off”
Review of Tallink Hotel Riga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tallink Hotel Riga
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good hotel but location a bit off”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Having pretty low expectations, we were surprised by the high standards at this hotel. Booking it via the Stockholm-Riga ferry company Tallink wasn't exactly a guarantee for a classy stay, but they proved us wrong!

It could be closer to the "real" city center (5-10 min walk) and it could have had a better restaurant, but still well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legendinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    411
    99
    15
    11
See reviews for
138
316
41
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

be preapred that there is only one plug at the table, where you can put your computer. that one is used by TV, so or you watch TV or you using your computer. Plus table is so small that it is almost impossible you avoid not to face TV (which is fixed on the wall) in front of you.
The hotel is near the bus stataion, which is not very clean and you can meet some drunk people there in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Perfect location! The hotel is new, so everything is in perfect condition! Rooms are stylish, modern and has comfortable beds! Free Wi-fi and flat TV. Thanks alot!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homelessdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Rooms are nice since the hotel is pretty new. Bathroom is modern with a nice shower (no bathtub though). Food from the room service was good as well and service quite helpful. I ask for printing out a document at the reception which I sent them by email and it was no problem. Since I had to leave before breakfast they packed me a lunch box for the way without any additional costs. Alltogether, a nice stay with good service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We were moved from the Avalon Hotel to the Tallink after the Avalon had a computer error and booked a whole lot of people that they didn't have room for, so we were skeptical that we were getting moved to another hotel. However, the Avalon assured us that we were moving to another 4 star hotel with all the same facilities. We were pleasantly surprised, firstly, when you walk in you notice how funky the place is - the elevators look like they're covered in licorice! Everything is really nicely decorated, and that continues into the rooms. The rooms aren't spacious, but they do the job, and everything is new and clean. The hotel itself is in a great location, and everything is within walking distance. The staff were helpful with every question, and the buffet breakfast gave a lot of choice. Beautiful city and a lovely hotel - would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_LM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Good business hotel in the Center of Riga across from the central Train/Coach station.

New and clean hotel

Rooms were compact but had normal facilities.
Good Flat TV with PC & HDMI input
Free WIFI (standard in Eastern Europe)

Small Gym room with all the equipment you would need on a holiday.
Sauna and Sap available before 11am, after that has to be booked for private use,

Breakfast was very good with large selection of food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is quite new, modern and clean. The room we were in was quite spacious and we loved the heated floor tiles in the bathroom. We brought our own soap and other toiletries and are glad we did as the hotel was not too generous in providing their guests with these extras. Breakfast was amazingly good with many hot and cold foods to choose from. The location of the hotel is near the train station. This was ideal for us as we used the train to visit our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink Hotel Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink Hotel Riga

Property: Tallink Hotel Riga
Address: Elizabetes iela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink Hotel Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mere five minute walk away from Riga’s unique Old Town and business centre you will find a brand new and modern hotel with a touch of history – the Tallink Hotel Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tallink Hotel Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing