We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your slippers !”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tallink Hotel Riga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tallink Hotel Riga
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bring your slippers !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights in this hotel. It was my first time in Riga so I can't benchmark this hotel against other hotels in the same city. If I rate it based on my travelling experience I would say average ( just) .
The hotel is located within walking distance ( 15 min ) from the old town (the main touristic attraction). The hotel looks quite new. The lobby and the overall decorations try to impress the guests with a kind of sophisticated look but they only partially meet the expectations.

However this is a budget hotel and for 50 euro a night the owner managed to do pretty well with the hotel overall quality, cleaning and service.

What I didn't like was the room size, very small and the room noise ( I was near the main water/air con pipe, giving an annoying background noise in the night) . Also worth to mention the very poor food quality and variety during lunch and dinner ( I was there for a company event) at the main restaurant . The breakfast though was ok.

Another annoying thing was the some room amenities (i.e slippers, bathrobe..) were not free and you have to pay for it. The only complementary stuff were toilette paper, towels, shampoo and bath gel. I found it quite weird.

If you have a tight budget I would recommend you to stay here ( bring your slippers though ..) otherwise look for a better place ( few hundred meters away from this hotel there is a Radisson Blue.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaFeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    374
    90
    11
    9
See reviews for
116
277
38
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This hotel is very close to a busy road where you can get buses going everywhere in Riga and its airport. It is also close to Old Town and most attractions.
The reception lobby really impresses on arrival. The red glass chandelier are stunning and the decor gives a very modern touch everywhere. The building is fairly new and the acoustic insulation really works (couldn't hear a thing from the street). The highlight of my stay was definitely the breakfast, seriously...everything tasted so nice! The room was very small and that was the only minor point, still great for the price they charge you. Reception staff could be a little bit friendlier especially when we were checking out. Overall it a fantastic stay, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallink_Hotel_Riga, Front Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for posting this wonderful review on Tripadvisor! I'am thrilled to read that You enjoyed stay in our hotel!
Thank for for compliments on our breakfast, decor and acoustic insulation. We have excellent acoustic insulation ,therefore each guest can choose street view not being afraid that street noise will be disturbing.
I hope that other travellers will find Your review helpful. Looking forward to welcome You back in Tallink Hotel Riga in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anastasija Muzira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel was very clean, service was professional and excellent breakfast. Standard room could be a bit bigger but design was nice. The only problem was that we parked just next to the hotel and our car side mirrors were stolen. So be aware. Not really safe city!

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallink_Hotel_Riga, Front Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I'am really sorry for unpleasant accident that You've experienced in Riga!
We offer underground parking for our guests with direct access to hotel premises. Rate is 10 EUR per night. However, amount of places is limited, so I advice to make booking before arrival.
Please contact us regarding parking if You decide to return to Riga!

Kind regards,
Anastasija Muzira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

The hotel is fresh, clean and modern. The rooms are small, but it works. The restaurant is VERY good! The receptionists were nice, but seemed a little bit inexperienced. On budget this is a over average hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misslinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
209 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I had to stay at Tallink Riga because my flight to Kiev was cancelled.
Not being quite satisfied with the service of the airline, I didn't expect the hotel to be anything but descent.

I was pleasantly surprised!
The hotel is new, modern, upbeat.
The room was spacious, the staff quite helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EgorParienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallink_Hotel_Riga, Front Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Egor,

What a great review!
I' am delighted that we made Your unexpected stay in Riga as excellent as we could! I will be glad to welcome You back in Tallink Hotel Riga, hopefully during planned visit!

Kind regards,
Anastasija Muzira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The price bit may be down to the exchange rate but this is a relatively new build hotel convenient for the old town, the train station and the central food markets ( in 5 old Zeppelin hangars behind the station - don't miss it). First class buffet breakfast included in price with wide choice although my favourite was the fish. Free Wi-fi is another plus. Owned by the same company as some of the Baltic ferries. I came in on the Stcokholm one. If I had booked the two together would have got a free coach transfer from the ferry terminal but you can pay at the terminal if not.

Room Tip: No noise issues even in a street facing 2nd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallink_Hotel_Riga, Front Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate that You took the time to write Your great comment on Tripadvisor!
Thank You for compliments on our location and great tips for those who plan to visit Riga.
We organize convenient shuttle for guests that come to Riga from Stockholm with Tallink ferry. Shuttle bus runs daily from ferry terminal to hotel and back, tickets are available at terminal and hotel reception.
Hope to welcome You back in Tallink Hotel Riga!

Sincerely,
Anastasija Muzira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Great centrally located hotel with wonderful beauty salon. All staff very friendly and service superb! Breakfast was a fantastic start to the day with smoked salmon and pancakes before heading out to explore the Old city and markets.I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Riga.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizette7991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallink_Hotel_Riga, Front Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Lizette,

I really appreciate that You took the time to write Your great comment on Tripadvisor!
I'm also happy that You enjoyed your stay at Tallink Hotel Riga, that our staff was very helpful during your stay and our breakfast was great source of energy before exploring wonderful city of Riga.
I will certainly pass on your positive comments to the team.

Thank You for choosing Tallink Hotel Riga!

Kind regards,
Anastasija Muzira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink Hotel Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink Hotel Riga

Property: Tallink Hotel Riga
Address: Elizabetes iela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink Hotel Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mere five minute walk away from Riga’s unique Old Town and business centre you will find a brand new and modern hotel with a touch of history – the Tallink Hotel Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tallink Hotel Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing