We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicous”
Review of 1221

1221
Ranked #24 of 972 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$78
Cuisines: European, Fusion, Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: "1221" Is located in the Old Town of Riga, in the historical significance near of Dome churches. From both the summer terrace you can see the beautiful view roofs of the city & the excellent dome of the cathedral. "1221" Is a high class restaurant with exclusive European cuisine & chic collection of wines. You can find very interesting dishes in menu such as Veal tails stewed in red wine or Ragout of beaver meat marinated in champagne. In any case you'll be delighted by this restaurant. Our restaurant is a local place that fundametally different from tourist places of Riga. Please, book a table in advance.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Delicous”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is one of Riga's traditional restaurants set in a very old building, which is reflected in its name. We only had a light lunch there but the food quality was very good. The selection of smoked fish from the Baltic Sea was delicious and so was their shrimp salad. Service was very friendly and attentive. As one of us suffered from a broken tooth they prepared a tasty soup. The also recommended their local beer which is excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AhasverSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    281
    86
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our night at 1221 was incredible. It started with drinks and appetizers on the rooftop deck. The smoked fish plate was delicious. We moved down to the dining room for dinner. Everything was perfect- the atmosphere, the food and incredible service. I decided to try some of the Latvian specialties. Sauerkraut Soup and a dessert made with rye bread. Wow was that good! My husband had beaver, steak and the best pumpkin ice cream I've ever had. As we were leaving our waitress gave us a a ceramic model of the restaurant. Could not have been more perfect!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, mid price range”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very cosy interior, excellent fish and steak.. Good vine and local beer.. just don't be late if you have a reservation.. We arrived 10 minutes late and that was frowned upon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is real cuisine!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

we were looking for a restaurant serving healthier foods than what we had seen in riga. we looked at this restaurant's menu and immediately, we understood this was going to be great.
the menu starts with a little story from the chef, explaining how he discovered a passion for food, and decided to make cooking his life.
the restaurant itself is very cute and cosy, with a scandinavian feel, with clear wood everywhere. the food is simply magnificent. the pike perch was served with a truffle puree, which was close to being one of the best things i ever ate.
the price of this restaurant is a bit higher than others (70 euros for diner for 2), but the money spent there is very very well spent.
this is one of the best restaurants of the city.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mvolut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
192 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“For those with a sweet tooth”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Had lunch here on a four day trip to Riga. The food was good, relatively expensive and quite unusual. As in other parts of Europe, there is a fondness for combining sweet flavours with meat. I had an excellent venison steak but it came with sweet pears and a redcurrant sauce and even a couple of fresh raspberries for garnish - no veg. My friend had a beaver meat stew - we were assured it was farmed not wild - but with is was pineapple tortellini an unusual combination and not something I'd go for.

Another slightly strange thing was that although the restaurant was relatively quiet, we were poked away in a corner somewhere upstairs. Nice enough decor but there were plenty of tables available downstairs in the main restaurant and it was towards the end of lunchtime service when we arrived.

If it is Latvian food you are looking for there are much cheaper options in Riga but if you want something a bit out of the ordinary - horse and beaver for example - then this might be the place to go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1221 also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to 1221? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing