We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Terrace in the heart of Riga's Old Town”

Fish Restaurant Le Dome
Ranked #12 of 1,018 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$72
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The sophisticated restaurant Le Dome is truly a jewel of the Latvian cuisine. Chef Sergey Siporov continuously achieves new levels in culinary art by discovering the finest nuances of the local seafood and products from Latvian farmland. He creates refined combinations of taste, applying contemporary European culinary techniques.Le Dome menu reveals the plentiful world of fish recipes. We are sure that you will embrace the taste of plaice, sturgeon, cod, Baltic pilchard, sander and other fish from Latvian lakes and the Baltic Sea, prepared in variety of ways. Nevertheless chef Sergey Siporov is eager to reinvent the tastefulness of other seasonal products - wild game, vegetables and berries, specially prepared sauces, and he takes no compromises on the way of creating ever new courses and constantly renews the menu. The light design and pleasant atmosphere is suitable for both a successful business lunch conversation and romantic dinner. During the day the restaurant is embraced by a businesslike atmosphere, in evenings by leisurely conversations and romance, while in weekends these are gourmands that enjoy the gastronomic pleasure and appreciate real values, a qualitative and savory meal, selected wine and outstanding service. In weekend evenings one can enjoy live piano performances and such an evening is really worth to enjoy taking one's time.
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Found this beautiful place thanks to a recommendation of a local girl. You should sit on the romantic terrace on the 5 th floor. There is only a few tables, but it is just lovely to sit inbetween the church roofs and enjoy a tasteful lunch/dinner. The menu is small, but the selection is delicious. The fish is grilled on a BBQ on the terrace. The food is fresh and high quality. I had a fish soup. Stunning atmosphere, friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PartTimeAngelOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia Z, Guest Relations Manager at Fish Restaurant Le Dome, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear, PartTimeAngelOnTour,

First of all, I am so pleased to know that you received recommendation to visit us from local person and let us know about that. It is always very nice to know that the place you represent is spotted by locals.

Our Chef did not make the menu bigger intentionally, because only this way we are able to guarantee that every dish is extra fresh every day.

Thank you very much for your time and I look forward seeing you back, next time maybe in our 1st floor restaurant Le Dome, what has different menu.

Kindest regards, Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Fish Restaurant Le Dome
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

The top floor terrace is highly recommended--in suitable weather of course. While the view is constrained, you do get a feel for Old Town Riga around you. Portions were small (although the River Trout was a full meal), but of high quality and artfully presented on bright white china in different shapes. Our salads were colorful and well composed.

Our waitress knew her wines well and service was very professional. It is not a fast food restaurant, but one that takes pride in careful preparation of fresh ingredients. So go there intent on taking time to enjoy a leisurely evening out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reslysten54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia Z, Guest Relations Manager at Fish Restaurant Le Dome, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear, Jan B,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very happy to hear that you fully enjoyed the service and food you had in our roof top terrace. That place indeed is one of pearls we have and we love when guests like it as much as we do.

We train our staff on every day basis and they also develop themselves in the field they are interested in. As I see, it is appreciated from the side of those, receive their service and see the knowledge. I would like to give you special thanks for that as well.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely yours,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The good news - Fish Restaurant serves pretty decent food. They have several fish specials and the items are attractively served. We enjoyed the tapas (the camembert and herb pancakes but not the dumplings which were more like spring rolls), our appetizers were good (the house soup was good as was the beet salad but the lamb soup was not spicy as was advertised) and the fish very good (river trout and sea trout). I would give the food four or five stars.

The problem was the service. The waitresses appeared to be overwhelmed not only having to serve many tables but also prepare all drinks. Food was very slow in arriving and our waitress totally screwed up the order bringing our son's entree when we received our appetizers. In all dinner came close to three hours and we didn't have an aperitif or dessert. Worse, it felt like five hours. A table of four walked out after sitting at least ten minutes without once even being approached by the staff.

If you want to dine here be prepared for a lengthy evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate P, Manager at Fish Restaurant Le Dome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear, John B,

At the very first, I am very happy that you did enjoy the meal, and despite the all, the atmosphere. Our head chef Maris Astics has the great talent and we are so lucky to have him as head of the team in Le Dome kitchen.

Regarding the complaint you made, I would like to say that we have done inside investigation and spoke with the waitress worked that shift. We must admit that the service could have been faster. But also I would like to add that all our dishes are freshly cooked from unprocessed products what is the reason why it takes a bit more time for some dishes (depends on products) to be ready.

Concerning the four guests you mentioned in the comment, they were given the menu at start, but did not want to stay, as we were fish restaurant (they prefer meat, as they said) and the guilt of waitress was not accompanying guests to the door and saying good bye.

I really appreciate your comment, it shows us that there are some points to work on and day to day continue to improve restaurants' service
Thank you for your time!

Sincerely yours,
Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This restaurant in Old Riga is very, very nice and has a great business lunch menu which is a great deal-and available until 4. The bread alone would bring me back, but everything, the soups, the main courses, and the desserts were perfect. My only regret is that we made a mathematical error and left too small of a tip for our server...She did a wonderful job and I would love to return to this restaurant in the near future to make up for this mistake. The restaurant is in Old Riga, a few blocks from the river and easy to locate. They did indicate that there was not enough outdoor seating for our family of five, but the interior dining room was fine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate P, Manager at Fish Restaurant Le Dome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear, Elizabeth23,

I would like to say thank you for being the first reviewer of our business lunch. As a restaurant with high standards we do our best to make every offer as much decent as it can be. And it does not matter at all if it is an A'la Carte or lunch offer, brunch or breakfast, all of it has its unique style and taste.

Probably you already know that all the meals including bread and desserts are freshly made by our chefs and are served the same day or even minute. It makes the taste so great and full.

You should try our grill menu on the top floor terrace next time. I am more than sure that you will enjoy it not less than the restaurant!

With kindest regards,
Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this little gem on the 5th floor of the Dome Hotel. I just happened to walk by and and see the menu so my boyfriend and I went up for just a drink around 7pm on a Sunday evening. We were so impressed by the ambiance and menu that we opted to stay for dinner. What a wonderful decision! Try the house sparkling wine and watch the chef grill your food almost right in front of you. The service was fantastic. We felt very special and loved the food.

Thank dldarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate P, Manager at Fish Restaurant Le Dome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear, dldarcy,

I am very pleased to read, that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our special place Terrace Le Dome. We are very happy to have it and every year try to make it even more beautiful, comfortable and enjoyable for our guests.
The grill menu is the pearl of the terrace what makes it even more special.
I would like to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience.

You're welcome back any time.
Sincerely yours,
Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Restaurant Le Dome also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Fish Restaurant Le Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing