We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hostel I have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #2 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“The best hostel I have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This was the best hostel I had ever stayed in. It was clean, safe and really comfortable. The beds were really good quality and I had a great night sleep. The bedroom had adaptors, hair straightners, hairdryer everything a girl could want when she was on the go :-) The bedsheets were lovely and colourful, a real girls room (see pictures). The shower and girls toilets were spotless. Internet was provided as well. The cleanest I have ever seen. The staff were lovely and helpful. Location brilliant, right in the middle of everything! I could not recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    34
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
22
88
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Perfect hostel in a perfect location. We walked everywhere while in Riga and none of the places we wanted to see were more than 20 minutes walk from the hostel. On the map you can see that the hostel is close to the airport bus link so it's super easy to get to when you arrive. We took a taxi which cost ten lats and took about twenty minutes and on our return to the airport, the lovely girls in the hostel organised us a taxi for around 6 lats so between the 4 of us who were travelling together, it was the cheaper option.

Our room was immaculately clean, cosy, the beds wonderfully comfortable and although the road outside was very busy at times there was never any obtrusive noise. There were four shower cubicles and the three I used were, like everywhere else, immaculate, great water pressure and endless hot water.

The lovely girls who staff the hostel were friendly and helpful and on the evenings when we took their recommendations of places to eat and drink, we had a really fantastic time so make sure you do the same! The hostel also operates (I think daily) trips; one of which takes you on the tram to a shooting range in the city, we had a great time doing this and Ieva was a great tour guide and made sure we all had fun.

The common area in the hostel was really comfy and a lovely place in general to chill out with a free telephone (even for international calls), free internet, a selection of guide books and leaflets about things to do in the city. There was also a bar fridge with beers, water, juice and cider which operated on an honesty policy and was ALWAYS well stocked! If I'm ever lucky enough to return to Riga, I wouldn't think twice about returning to Cinnamon Sally's and I honestly cannot imagine that we would have had a better experience staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miniartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limelette, Brabant, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Cinnamon Sally is definitely the place to go to if you're seeking an hostel in Riga. First of all, its location is great: close from the historical center, from the airport bus line, but also from one of the biggest shopping mall of whole Riga.

You'll tell me it's already a good reason to choose this hostel. If you're still not convinced, let me add that the staff is composed by the three most awesome girls of whole Riga (Daiga, Dace, Ieva): extremely friendly, helpful and..pretty as well! Oh, and i forgot about the most important: these girls know how to party! By chance, i was staying two nights with some friends on the weekend of their 1st year celebrations of the hostel on Oct 15th. I probably went to one of the best clubs of Riga with all the people from the hostel and of course the staff. What did i learn: these girls KNOW HOW TO PARTYYYYYYYY :-D

I would strongly recommend you to stay over at Cinnamon Sally Backpackers. It will definitely be an amazing experience.

*the Belgian crew*

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Never taken the effort before to write a review; enough said. Location, hosts, atmosphere; one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. You'll feel right at home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Cinnamon Sally got it all; amazingly friendly, helpfull and the prettiest staff ever, home-like feeling, comfortable beds, best parties, funniest guests, perfect location, cinnamon rolls, beer in fridge waiting for you... I could go on and on with the list. If I could I would live there :)

All the best for you guys. Hope to see you soon! :)

Ps. Surprise greetings for Dace ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nootu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belluno, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

An amazing hostel, such a warm and cozy atmosphere. The owner and the other staff were are really friendly and had amazing tips about Riga and Latvia. Loved the evenings in the common rooms chatting to the other travelers and eating amazing cinnamon buns! Riga was really nice, but this hostel is my favorite memory of Latvia!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apatitv
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

cinnamon Sally is one of the most social hostel I have ever had the chance to stay in. Its not only clean with a freindly and warm atmosphere and in perfekt reach from train station. You also get to know many nice people and chances of many good nights in town.
And if you are in need, there is always a bed waiting for you and a karaoke night were you can join. greatings from Yuri and Simon, we hope that one day we can sleep at your place again. Until then: take care

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zikadenwanderung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.5 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel

Property: Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Address: Merkela iela 1 | 3rd floor, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Bunks & Roses Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and clean hostel in the very centre of things. Social communal areas, beer on sale in the hostel, spacious, comfortable rooms, free Internet, maps, tour info, free tea & coffee, fully equipped kitchen, FREE PHONE CALLS to any country in the world. Special comfort female dorm, various size mixed dorms, family and double rooms. Backpackers WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing