We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel in the heart of Riga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

This is a nice cozy place in the heart of Riga
Right opposite the train station. The common area is cozy and comfortable - a place where you can hang out and socialize.it has a nice and homey feel to it
The bathrooms and rooms were clean and well done
My two minor issues were - the rooms faced the street and it was a bit noisy throughout the night
And it is right by the train/bus stations and a short 5 minute walk to old Town - but I would have preferred something right over the old town with bars around
Other than that - this is a fantastic choice

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed in the hostel for holiday a few days. I really loved it! First thing you have to do is to take your shoes off. And then you feel at home :) especially because you're living in a big living room with a kitchen and adjacent dorm-rooms. The staff is super nice and you wake up to the smell of fresh free waffles every morning.
On top of that it is the cleanest hostel I've ever seen.
It's located just over the street to the main station and only it's only a 10min walk to the Oldtown.
Everybody who's looking for a nice and clean place to stay in Riga and wants to get to know some great people I advice to book his stay here :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vifi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I really enjoyed my time there. Great atmosphere, clean, very good rooms. I stayed in a girls room (6 bed I think) and they even had mirror, hair dryer and straightener! The staff is great and very helpful. The lounge is very comfy, there are some sofas and bean bags and there´s always some music playing. They have wifi and you can call your country for free!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tathi_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The room is clean and I love the morning waffle, and the place is close to bus station. The manager is really friendly and helpful. When you are in the living room you will feel like you are in the home, seeing people chatting and playing cards. The bed is nice thought the building is a little old when car passing you might feel the building is shaking. The building has other hostel ,an Internet coffee and MCdonald so you may see someone drunken in the entranece.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward_Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Close to bus and train station. Also close to old town, main attraction and supermarkets.
Clean.
In all female dorm that was spacious.
Free wifi
Free waffles for breakfast.
Recommend taking earplugs as street is fairly noisy at night (we stayed in summer so needed to keep windows open at night).
Only thing on the downside is the no shoes indoors policy and communal lounge doubles as reception/check in/kitchen.
Be prepared to eat your meals on a beanbag.
Friendly staff

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz37361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed in many hostels in different countries and this one definietely one of the best! I stayed in a female dorm, i really apreciate this initiative. The hostel is clean, spacious,nicely decorated. The common room is a place where you can rest after the whole day and share your opinions with other guests, very societable and encouraging to talk to them. Very good location, just opposite the main station,close to the market square, you can reach the main tourist points without even using public transportation. The owners offer you amap and hints where to go and eat.And Riga is a very interesting city, really worth visiting.

Room Tip: I recommend the female room for girls, safe,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edyta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Nice place staying no matter what you're background is, and where you are from. The Staff is nice, and Riga is a nice place to have a cheap but good vacation. I got new good friends from the rest of the world, who inspired me to keep the spirit, and go travel some more for sure. The Hostel offers a friendly atmosphere in an environment that have a lot to offer ranging from a game of chess to a visit at a nice club/restaurant. I recommend it =)

Room Tip: Consider if you want a holiday in the center or in more calm surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian Brinck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.4 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#72 of 112 in Riga
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Central Hostel
Central Hostel
#5 of 153 in Riga
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tree House
Tree House
#6 of 153 in Riga
69 reviews
0 mi away
Riga Hostel
Riga Hostel
#8 of 153 in Riga
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Nose
Red Nose
#15 of 153 in Riga
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel

Address: Merkela iela 1 | 3rd Floor, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Bunks & Roses Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range: £9 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and clean hostel in the very centre of things. Social communal areas, beer on sale in the hostel, spacious, comfortable rooms, free Internet, maps, tour info, free tea & coffee, fully equipped kitchen, FREE PHONE CALLS to any country in the world. Special comfort female dorm, various size mixed dorms, family and double rooms. Backpackers WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing