We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really deserve your visit”
Review of Blue Cow Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Cow Hostel
Ranked #31 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“They really deserve your visit”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed two nights in October in a eight-bed room, but I miss it so much! 10 minute walk to the bus and train stations. It is really a boutique-type hostel, which is like if you stayed at your friend abroad who has quite a big family. I can only confirm the best words of other reviewers.
I could not imagine why I would stay anywhere else if I can go back to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank einstein28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and were very happy with our overall experience. The espresso machine brewed great coffee and the wifi was fast. There's a computer and printer for use. There are drinks and beers for sale for 1 Lat. Gunni was so very helpful in helping us find things to do. She provides maps and brochures too! It was very comfortable and immaculate. The location is in a great area in old town where most of the interest points are. Definitely will stay here again if we come back. Thanks Gunni;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craftiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

While Riga itself was a beautiful experience, the Blue Cow Barracks made a stay in the city a pure delight. The hostel is located very much in the center of Riga, in a vibrant neighborhood. It was super tidy, and the staff was extremely helpful. We stayed in the private rooms, and these provided 3 if not 4 star comfort. We really really liked this hostel and wish that there are more such places which we can visit.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family or close friend circle, we recommend the private rooms, where you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamP822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue Hill, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

This place was such a treat. Never stayed in a hostel so nice before. Honestly more like a B&B, so relaxed. Latvian & Aussie couple owners so helpful. Also tied with Naughty Squirrel Hostel so if you want to party go down the road 5 minute walk there if your keen and then come back to peace and quite when you've had enough! Fantastic stay! Thanks Guni & Ben

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just one word : this is perfect !
Located in the heart of Riga old town, a few blocks from the Parliament, this is place is very comfortable, very clean and staff is really helpful.
You can stay there without any fear.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hostel. It's located in very nice corner of the old town and the place just superb value. Very clean, modern and well run guesthouse. I would definitely recommend this for backpackers or couples exploring riga. Stag party groups hopefully stay in some other guesthouse as i valued the quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsompinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hostel is great-perfect location, really clean and the three-person en suite room is huge. We didn't hear anything from the bar/restaurant downstairs, and the staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 109 in Riga
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
#53 of 109 in Riga
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#4 of 109 in Riga
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Riga Old Town
Pullman Riga Old Town
#11 of 109 in Riga
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Cow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cow Hostel

Property: Blue Cow Hostel
Address: level 3, 4-2B Torna Iela | Old Town, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Backpackers Hostel in Riga's Old Town. If you want some Extra Comfort, Clean Facilities, Social Atmosphere and a GOOD NIGHT'S SLEEP we are the place for you! Come and make our 'Apartment Style' Hostel your backpacking home while in Riga. Full Kitchen, Free WiFi and No Stag Parties!! We have 24hr Local Staff that Live In the Hostel, Free Internet and Printing, The Whole Hostel has Free Wi-Fi, Free Guide Maps, DVDs and Cable TV, Quality Tea, Premium Coffee, Pre-Made Beds, Fresh Linens and a Fresh Towel... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing