We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and renovated rooms”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and renovated rooms”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

FG Royal is no Four Seasons, but it does have an unbeatable location. It is closr not only to Old Town, but also to the new city, which is where most of the new, modern, young, artistic scene takes place. Our room was very comfortable, clearly recently renovated and with a very good bathroom. Staff was very attentive and kind - perhaps they have been reading some of the other reviews on tripadv;) the only drawback is the spotty wi-fi, which we promptly solved at Cafe Ossiris (also highly recommended!)

Room Tip: Room 315 was silent, new and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    82
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
42
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel. The room was clean and warm. But!
At first there were night singers on the street and they sing all night! It was impossibile to sleep and nobody from staff called police for example.
And at second I had my birthday one of these days in hotel. And hotel of such level didn't congratulate me anything! (it could be words! I don't tell about coffe or chokolate or smth else)

Well, I'll never choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: standart double is quite comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed 4 nights in this hotel in a business class room.

Rooms was nice
Breakfast was okey

As others have written it is a busy street outside with some noise going all night, but if you wanna stay right in the middle of old town riga you should expect some noise.

I wouldnt reccomend the restaurant (we had a coupon for a free dinner there so we tried it out).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicByte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konya
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Hotel is a little bit old. But there is the best location in the city. It is located heart of the Old Riga. Breakfast and service was poor. Staff dont like to smile. I went to Reception 2 time s and nobody was there i ringed the bell and they come. We spend 3 nights and during 3 days breakfast was the same. Also it is noisy hotels it is not good for families with children and old people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keila, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

We were visiting Riga with my girlfriend, who is 8 months pregnant. At the same time Riga was celebrating its "Riga days", in essence a number of events happening in the city. The fact we were not aware of when booking, nor did somebody warn us about this when checking in. We asked for a quiet room, we were told we are getting the quietest room. You will not believe how far this was from the truth. Second floor on one of the busiest streets in Riga. But this was not the worst, there was a concert of some sort in the park, the bass did not stop for 5 minutes, ongoing the whole night.
I can appreciate the celebrations is not the hotels fault, but when you see a very pregnant girl walk and and ask about a QUIET room, a little warning would be nice? We would have chosen a different hotel, even in a different part of the city if necessary.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vsevolod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This hotel is situated in the heart of the Riga with a minute walk to old town. National Opera in front of the hotel is very handy if interested in opera. Standard room was spacious, very clean and well ecquipped. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the second floor and it was sometimes a bit noisy but slept very well with ear plugs. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rygge, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Very nice hotel. Great view of the city and the park.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank timbast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#36 of 109 in Riga
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Kalku Iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly FG Royal Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious four-star HOTEL ROMA in Riga is located in the Riga’s Old Town, near The Latvian Freedom Monument, Latvian National Opera and The Riga Castle. Central location of HOTEL ROMA in Riga is a perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers. Old Riga, Riga city centre, and all the most popular Riga sightseeing places are only few minutes of walking from HOTEL ROMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing