We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gem”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I just returned from a two week stay with my octogenarian father. I was very impressed with the location in the Old City, which truthfully is very hard to beat.
The service for the most part was exceptional, from the cleaning staff, the breakfast staff to the two stars of their front desk Roman and Viktoria.
The property is gorgeous, might need a little remodeling, but is an incredible value for such a location. We were lucky the weather was cool for most of our stay and when it was warming up a bit, I requested a fan and was provided with one.
Be prepared for a lot of street noise as the Old City does NOT sleep as it is bustling with tourists and locals, and the summer days are extremely long.
Also try to avoid facing McDonald's as it is beyond noisy on that corner.
The free breakfast is fantastic, very high quality, good selection..yet repetitive...after all it is breakfast and still is awesome.
Location, service, cleanliness and value make this property an outstanding value and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper avoid side facing McDonald's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarcoPolo41959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

The location is excellent, entrance of old city. Cozy rooms , comfortable bed. Nice breakfast. So helpful staff and suggestions of where to go was excellent. lots of organizations helds in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iorijustborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a 3 night stay in this hotel. Breakfast on the top floor was excellent.
Good sized rooms and very comfortable beds.
Large shower/bathroom.

Well recommended for central Riga.

Agree with other reviewer the door cards were hit and miss, but that's a minor point.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM6T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

First of all the location of hotel cannot be better if you are staying in Riga, old town is just behind the corner, basically all the places are close. Hotel itself was nice but maybe little outdated already? Staff was nice and friendly. Only "problem" i had was with the electric door lock, key card didn't work on every time but did work after few try. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ihainpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

If you are looking for a good hotel in the Center of Riga this is a very good choice.
From here you are in the heart of the City, without being in the crowed.
Clean, quiet, very gentle and helpful personal.
Delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on Vaļņu Iela are more quiet and have better view. Rooms on Kaļķu and Kalēju Iela are noisie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brii63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, it is centric, rather cheap and the staff is good. We stayed on the 2nd floor. The room was good, the bathroom was big. The only problem I found it was very noisy. Because the hotel is centric you can hear people begging for money singing or playing an instrument so it can be annoying.

The breakfast was good but you don't have many options to choose from.

You have two malls 2 blocks away from the hotel, they have mainly clothes brands.

Another thing I did not likr about FG Royal were the elevators, they have 3 and only 1 was working. I highly suggest to use the emergency stairways to go down to the lobby if you stay in a lower floor.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Edgar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked a room at this hotel 8 weeks ahead of my visit to Riga. On arrival I was told the hotel was overbooked ( PR speak for we found a punter willing to pay more ) so we moved you to another hotel. The hotel had both my phone number and email address but did not bother to inform me before I arrived.
Lesson: Your booking at this hotel means nothing. Save yourself the hassle and choose a different hotel
P.S. The reception staff did a great job at covering up the incompetence of the management .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank pbombastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#30 of 112 in Riga
831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Riga Centre
Mercure Riga Centre
#20 of 112 in Riga
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#39 of 112 in Riga
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 112 in Riga
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Kalku Iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly FG Royal Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £52 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious four-star HOTEL ROMA in Riga is located in the Riga’s Old Town, near The Latvian Freedom Monument, Latvian National Opera and The Riga Castle. Central location of HOTEL ROMA in Riga is a perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers. Old Riga, Riga city centre, and all the most popular Riga sightseeing places are only few minutes of walking from HOTEL ROMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing