We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a fan, but not their fault” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Donuts

The Donuts
Ranked #6 of 14 Bakeries in Riga
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a fan, but not their fault”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I did not become a huge fan of their donuts but probably it's just my taste specifics. There wasn't anything wrong with them really - good quality dough with good quality filling. It just wasn't for my taste buds - and own subjectivity is not something the place should be blamed for. Yet the cafe was far away from disappointment. I love the creativity they pay to the presentation of the donuts. Cappuccino was delicious and they also have some snack menu besides donuts as well. Not to mention the personnel - they are kind of "buddy-like" attitude, but it is not intimidating, which is fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FerFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wandering American
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best place in Riga for American Donuts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is a very nice little shop that serves American style donuts as well as nice cafe food such as soup and sandwiches. I've been here many times, mostly with my kids when i reward them with a nice sweet treat. I like to drop by here every now and again by myself and get a nice sandwich, coffee and donut while surfing my iPad and watching traffic go by.

This place has a whole section dedicated to children. The back room is a big square sofa with a TV and tons of kids toys and board games. The location is not too bad either and can be easily reached from the Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija. Even if you're staying in Old Town it's worth the trek over to Krisjana Valdemara street 18.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morseman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
125 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

This place is almost like being back in the US :) The staff is very friendly and helpful and their donuts are excellent. Also they have great coffee and they really do help you out with your every wish!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Donuts - great and inexpensive ... good service ... friendly staff ...

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Donuts also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to The Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing