We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting there..”
Review of 3 Pavaru Restorans

3 Pavaru Restorans
Ranked #13 of 1,006 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$118
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The three chefs restaurant „Tam labam būs augt” (The good must grow - Eng.) is a restaurant with the open kitchen, beloved by citizens and admired by guests of our city. It was founded in September 2011 by two famous Latvian chefs, Mārtiņš Sirmais and Ēriks Dreibants. Very fast the restaurant earned popularity and was acknowledged among the highest ranking restaurants in Riga. As a proof to it, in 2013 and 2014 it received a 3rd place in the Top 30 restaurants in Latvia Excellence award. Despite rocket fast success, we remain accessible, friendly and open to everybody. We love our clients and will provide perfect service even under the most complicated circumstances.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Getting there..”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I am such a big fan of chef Sirmais so didn't think and research much - just took my boyfriend there for an experience as we visited Riga. Place is wonderful - opened kitchen - you can see what chefs are doing there - nice. Staff were kind and helpful - explained every meal. Starter was good - those sauces with bread - something new and interesting. But as we went further with our lunch - dissapointing. It just wasn't right - the flavour combinations - a bit too much and not enough.
Just wanted to say that they are getting there - and maybe after few more years it will get better. But please consider that going crazy by putting things together - sometimes may not work, it doesn't always end up with success. So accordingly the prices were ridiculously expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chanteley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    129
    39
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food well done”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife, myself and two friends visited 3 Pavāru Restorāns on a Saturday night. The staff were young and friendly, the decor was clean and spacious and the food was excellent, a good variety of local produce combined into some interesting taste experiences. I won't spoil the surprise but the appetisers are a hoot. A good evening all round.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rogergray1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Creative approach.”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Interesting and creative approach. Tasty and nicely presented food. Friendly service. Certainly high above average place. Enjoyable atmosphere. Not overwhelmingly big menu but everything seemed well thought out in terms of presentation, quality and taste. This place will certainly not disappoint you and provide nice relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Armands F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the best in town”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

we had the best service, the best dinner and everything was more than perfect! This is the best restaurant fine dine experience ever! expensive, but worth of money!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TuijaWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shame and disappointment”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were off to a good start when we arrived at the restaurant. Ordered a good bottle of champagne, had the bread show, and then it went down all the way.

We were not rushing anywhere, but the come on...our whole lunch was 3 hours long!! It took so long between the courses, and the kind waitress we had aft first completely forgot about us! we waited for ages to get anyones attention, and once we did- i was ashamed!!

The young waiters/chefs were simply rude, one word - rude.
When my vegetable dish arrived, which in the menu was stated as roots - was cold. i asked to heat it up, and the guy stared at me and as if i was being unreasonable. He brought it back and dropped in front of me and gave me look, as if i was in the wrong, and gave me the "hope you're happy now". I didn't even mention, that warm tomatoes, courgettes are not roots!! The price of that was 9 Lats.
Also my simply leaf salad was swimming in the oil and i could not even finish it how discussed i was.

We had a younger lady with us, so we kindly asked, if maybe some simple pasta dish could be made, kind of a kids option. They agreed to it, and thats what we expected from such restaurant. However, the kid was brought simply boiled spaghetti with grated Russian cheese and ketchup! looked awful!!! not even a tiny home cooked sauce, maybe some fresh basil pesto or parmesan. So basically they would not even bother try go a bit beyond to make every customer happy. I'm just surprised that the chef was not ashamed to send a dish like that out!

Also my sister's first course was not easy to chew since the "blood sausage" was waaaay overcooked.
The desserts were disappointment as well. My youngest sister even left her apple pie, which was simply awful, not edible! and the other dessert we had on the table was just a mess with components like candied beetroot, which i understand could be interesting, but was disgusting!
i could go on, and on, also about the attitude of the waiters, since they seemed full of themselves,but were just ridiculous, but i just want to forget this experience sooner!

And the toilets...so bad and smelly! one side of the restaurant simply smells of piss! awful....

never, ever again!! and i will continue spreading the bad word about this place, simply cause they ruined our lovely planned afternoon with grandparents!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank sonchiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 3 Pavaru Restorans also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to 3 Pavaru Restorans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing