We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Mins Walking Distance from Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teddy Bear Hostel Riga
Ranked #71 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived late afternoon by bus from Vilnius, It didn't took us much time to find hostel after picking up map from Tourist information office at Station,

Felt dizzy a bit taking spiral stairs four floors up, watching Teddy sings on the way. The Receptionist was friendlier and welcoming to give us time and comfort to check in, We booked twin bed which was another floor up, The room was spacious with three large windows (offering us pretty good view of church and incoming sunlight), a small dressing table, a couch and a coffee Table.

The kitchen is modern equipped with all necessary amenities available in had to prepare a nice meal after tiring journey, The bathroom is closed to kitchen with long tub and hot shower 24x7, It was relatively quiet floor as there were only two rooms.

If you happen to have extra time, take a day visit to nearby city called Sigulda, It's famous for scenic Autumn views, Our receptionist had been there day before and recommended us.

On our last day of check out, Receptionist was really kind to us to leave luggage and allow to use Kitchen and Restroom after checkout.

I hope you will enjoy your stay as we did.

Travelpunter

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RohitJoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

It was my first time in hostel well its realy surprising good ! I was in a six mixed bedroom and the travellers from all over the world gives me a lot of info and where correct. The staff, young woman,are overt here 24/24 h and answerd my questions better than in the books ! My stay was 14 days ! And yes it takes some energy to the Teddy Bear floors , but you do it ones,twices a day ! And yes the breakfast is small, but correct bread toast, confiture and hot coffee! I prepared me crushed agss and fresh salmon directly from 'Stockmans' thats super de luxe and cheap for us from the West ! The sanitiar on the upper floor is picobello and totaly new, on the lower floor its older but ok and all very clean. Its in the center of Riga the Unesco area and I will go back when I am in Riga ! Goodluck Teddy Bear.

Room Tip: If you are alone take the six bedroom! For couples its more couple friendly to take private room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I do fancy a change and time to time opt for youth hostel or log cabin instead of my favourite historical palaces turned to classy hotels. That shift reminds me pennyless backpacking years while on university course and enables to teach class (i.e. social strata) lessons to my children. Cheap stay is not always that bad as it may look from business class seat, it’s often straight different. For nominal money taken by a hostel or Mongolian yurt dweller you get superior experience compared to standard faceless hotel.

Our Riga-based friends suggested we’ll try a Teddy Bear hostel. It was roughly a year in operation and seemed to have interesting theme option, loved by children. Suggestion proved true 101%.
It’s surprisingly
* very clean (strangely for such a budget place, I even saw dedicated housemaid scrubbing a staircase),
* very peaceful (innocent name shags off all but few blind-slipped party animals),
* very friendly (nice staff girls sort out every question and could probably tell you more about modern Latvia that full-time course on social change in post-Soviet society elsewhere )
* And it’s very central and very cheap, as a good hostel definitely should be.

Room. We’d taken deluxe double with stunning mediaeval city view: Sunny, large even for 02 adults and 02 children, real-oak floors, a sofa and - you never guess – authentic Chippendale's theme cabinet; absolutely unique feature for a budget hostel!

Kitchen: small, but adequately stuffed with microwave, kettle, freezer, all adds and odds.

Bathroom: a 3+* hotel standard, - far better then normal hostel, - on 4th floor, but much poorer value on lower floor.

Breakfast: obviously poor. How you can expect Eggs Benedict, paying 7-10 euros per night, already inclusive of tea / coffee / home-made jam / etc ?? Pizzeria Pomodoro just outside hostel door will take that amount for same tea / coffee / home-made jam, but will laugh off suggestion to add overnight’s sleep in cosy secure home-like environs )

What’s bad:
* staircase, no elevator - you need to march 3-4 levels up. That keeps you energy-charged, but may distract someone. Staff say elevators were not invented yet when 17-th century block had been put in use )
* misplaced party crazies may spoil occasionally the atmosphere with blunt complaints like no-table-dancing-after-midnight / no-chance-to-vomit-the bathroom.

Hints.
* Take deluxe room. It’s far better in quality then average 3* hotel and costs twice less.
* Do not rely on local breakfast. There are plenty choices outside for nominal charge.
* Spare time for a talk with different staff girls – they are unique source for all you need in Riga.

Room Tip: * Take deluxe room. It’s far better in quality then average 3* hotel and costs twice less. * Do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vassili L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The only positive things of this hostel are the placement and the price. It's ugly, dirty, old.. everything is falling to pieces.. the "breakfast" is bread and milk left out of the fridge for 4 hours.. the bathrooms are horrible, the towels are so old that even my granny would refuse them..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silvia Gisèle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Звонить напрямую в хостел и уточнять, если повезет, будете 1 в номере
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank _N7858EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MARIA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Лариса Л
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Tiger Hostel
Tiger Hostel
#17 of 150 in Riga
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riga Hostel
Riga Hostel
#8 of 150 in Riga
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doma Hostel
Doma Hostel
#20 of 150 in Riga
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
1.1 mi away
Hostel Knights Court
Hostel Knights Court
#16 of 150 in Riga
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teddy Bear Hostel Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teddy Bear Hostel Riga

Address: Vecpilsetas iela 3, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range: £6 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Teddy Bear hostel Riga" - your Riga home, cozy & cute. Good for safe play, very good for happy nap. Superbly located in the very heart of Old Riga (VecRiga), family owned, very safe and peaceful; Teddy's hostel provide almost every amenity you might be looking for: free wi-fi, free PC/Internet, free tea/coffee unbounded supply, cycles on hire, free continental breakfast, 24-hours reception. As you find yourself in Riga, walk just 06 minutes from Central Bus station (350 metres), or 08 minutes Central Rail terminal (450 metres). See you at Teddy’s! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Teddy Bear Hostel Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing