We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, professional, easy to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Konventa Seta Hotel
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Central location, professional, easy to find”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The location is central, absolutely central to all of the Old Town, but without the hussle and bustle of a city. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good, a choice of cold and hot food, coffee, juice, toast, cereal, porridge, eggs, sausages, pasta (!), smallgoods. The room was nice and warm, considering it is late October and the nights get to zero degrees celsius. The bathroom is adequate, with a shower (with a curtain), hair dryer, heating. The room is spacious and modern, with desk, television (with tv in English), heating, I had 2 beds. The down side was being on the ground floor which meant you could hear people walking by outside, but this was not really an issue. Also no kettle, no fridge - but again not an issue for me. A great hotel in a historical complex and the doorstep of the Old Town.

Room Tip: Choose a room not on the ground floor, as on the ground floor you will hear people outside as they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Kayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    348
    156
    38
    11
See reviews for
125
243
60
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at the Konventa Seta between the 25th to 30th September 2011. I thought the place was absolutely perfectly set, in the old town of Riga, with a restaurant on site, it's own beer garden, and a lovely room to top it all off. Cable TV, with channels in at least 4 languages, a removeable shower head, and plenty of space. Very helpful chambermaids. Only problems we encountered was that the hot water only seemd to work between 07:30 and 10:00 each morning, and asking about it at reception got a lot of smiles and "Should be OK now" but it never worked after 10:30 to my knowledge... One particular member of staff could be a bit iffy sometimes, as if he wasn't impressed at having to do his job, but apart from that isolated waiter and the water issue, which were easily worked round, then the hotel is the perfect base to explore the beautiful old town of Riga, and use the Kiwi Bar as your "last drink" stop on the way home...

I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank TrevorAmpleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid.España
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

excellent location,poor room(and cold) but the hotel owns 3 restaurants inside the building.Breakfast buffet but very,very poor in quality and quantity.Very silents rooms,no wifi in rooms,small TV but big junior suite.I slept in a narrow twin bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank migueldelpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

A refurbed ex convent, the hotel is based a 2 minute walk from the kiwi bar and 5 minutes if your out late as the lane is closed once dark.
Freinds commented on how handy it was for everything in the old town and I agree.
Internet is available and wifi is free,ask for the passcode.
The dining room is in a seperate building across a courtyard but its all undercover.
There is a lift.Cleaners wernt too worried if they missed your room and asked if I required extra towels etc.I stayed for a week.
Good prices we were £972 for 8 in 4 rooms.
Only downer is no fridge/kettle/tea making but I suppose its not a travel lodge.
Some rooms only had a shower, room 113 has a bath as its the room I had.
Beautiful maple floors throughout and high ceilings with drapes to match.
there is a bar with a big telly but I didnt use it.
24 hour security and staff were friendly.
selection of buy one get one free vouchers by reception.
anything else I can help with just send me a PM.

cheers

Roy

Room Tip: 113 has a bath. Rear facing rooms are quieter at weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

And reasonable prices. We stayed during summer vacation season and hotel was pretty much full, the restaurant where breakfast has been reserved couldn't accommodate the number of guests and around 9 AM most likely all table were occupied, therefore recommendation to go for breakfast before or after rush hour. Hotel has few buildings and different types of rooms, but keep in mind if you stay in rooms where your windows are facing outside streets most likely you will hear live music from street musicians most of the time and until 1 AM at night (from 8 AM). It was hot outside and rooms doesn't have AC, with no wind open windows help very little, plus you will hear all the noise and music. First day we stayed in the room with kitchenette, but next stay I asked for more quieter room with the windows facing inside yard. The room didn't have mini fridge, I asked for fridge and it was placed in our room.
It is very convenient location, you literally in the middle of charming old town and everything in the centre easy accessible by foot. Hotel's staff helpful and accommodating. The prices are reasonable and breakfast buffet ok. Rooms are clean, but very simple and little warn out. It's a decent hotel for 60 EUR double rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lienete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This hotel has to be one of the best places to stay in Riga just because of its excellent location in the centre of the old town. None of the major sights is more than a 5 minute walk, and the area is very safe. If you are a light sleeper (or in fact anyone who isn’t deaf or drunk) you might like to ask for a room at the back as the street outside can be noisy with passers by up to 3am!
We got a great deal through one of the hotel booking sites, and breakfast was included. Normally breakfast in European hotels (and especially Eastern Europe) is the kind of food that makes you glad you don’t live there, but this was actually very good. There was a nice range of cereals, croissants, fruit juice & even sausage & fried potatoes, plus cold meats and cheese for our continental cousins.
Wifi is free, available in the rooms, and high speed. Safety deposit boxes are also free, behind the reception desk. I had no problem with my netbook, but you won’t get a 15” laptop in there. The hotel do have a PC you can use (1Ls for 30 mins).
The hotel is also historically interesting. Built from a collection of buildings that was once a convent, you can still see part of the original medieval city wall (outside room 105). The service is polite and more efficient than you should expect from a country which only emerged from occupation 20 years ago, and although the rooms are basic, they are clean an nicely furnished for a short stay in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooby7UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathathowells@yahoo.com
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The hotel once we found it was in an excellent central location with lovely craft stalls outside and through a delightful archway into a courtyard just behind the cathedral.

Our lovely room just lacked a fridge and air-con (but in July even though it was warm you did not really need it). It had lovely old beams above the bed and a television with a good choice of TV English stations. Our room was in the roof on the 3rd floor. We were able to open the roof light windows and there were blinds on these.

There is a nice lounge area downstairs in the lobby and a free safety deposit box. There is also internet which costs 1 lat.

Breakfast is served in the next door hotel in a pleasant room or you can eat outside. This courtyard entrance is locked in the evenings.

Be warned that it is expensive in Riga, but we were lucky enough to find a deal printed on the menu of a chain of lovely café bars called “Double Coffee” which were all over Riga, selling 2 pints of decent local larger for 1.69 lats (a real bargain) and very reasonably priced nice coffee and meals – especially the lovely omelettes.

If you leave the main hotel entrance and turn right down the cobbled street you will find a very modern shopping centre, inside is an excellent supermarket for all of your supplies.

I know everyone will tell you, but visit the 2 excellent museums – the occupational one and the one in the powder tower. We also visited the outdoor historic museum on the public bus and can tell you about this. We also went by train to the Jurmala beach resort.

You must also visit the Skyline bar which is on the side of the Radisson Blue hotel behind the freedom monument. I cheated and bought an iced coffee instead of a cocktail and it was half the price.

There are 3 delightful squares with live music in each (in July). We would eat in a cheaper restaurant around the corner and then go onto the square for drinks to watch the entertainment and dancing. We managed to see traditional music and dancing one night.

Beware of a scam when a local asks you to change money for them.

There is also a delightful park by the freedom tower which I loved.

We stayed in Riga for 4 nights which was perfect as we had nice weather, and then moved on up into Estonia to Parnu and Tallinn.

It was warm there in July although it was much hotter in Tallinn. There were blankets available at every outdoor bar to wrap yourself in, but you really didn’t need them. The weather was unpredictable – it would be pouring with rain one minute (but still warm) and then it would be sunny 10 minutes later.

Any questions – give us a shout. Cathy & Kevin Hughes

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#42 of 109 in Riga
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#32 of 109 in Riga
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konventa Seta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konventa Seta Hotel

Property: Konventa Seta Hotel
Address: Kaleju Str. 9/11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konventa Seta Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Konventa Seta is a 3 star townhouse hotel situated in the heart of Old Riga close to Doma Square and the St. Peter's Church. Hotel represents a unique complex of 9 medieval buildings maintaining an atmosphere of the 14th - 16th centuries and offering a wide range of all modern conveniences. You will find gift shops, art galleries, bars and museums in the yard of Konventa Seta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Konventa Seta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing