We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlie Christmas Markets trip to Riga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Konventa Seta Hotel
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Girlie Christmas Markets trip to Riga”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have just returned from Riga. Myself and 2 girlfriends travelled for the Christmas markets. We flew with Wizz air from Luton - easy straightforward flight. I would reccommend using Baltic taxis from the airport which are 12 lats - we took a normal taxi that was 19 - lesson learned!

We checked into the Hotel Konventa Seta which is in the heart of the old down. Perfect location, everything is walkable. We stayed in a suite for 3 adults. Very comfortable and spacious. The room was cold but the hotel immediately put in a portable heater. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was very good with a good selection.

I would highly recommend the hotel and the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N111kkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    337
    150
    38
    10
See reviews for
119
234
57
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights from 25 November 2011. Hotel is in an excellent location just a few meters from the main street in the old town. Room decor is a little dated but the staff and maid service are excellent. Breakfast is good and has a good range of hot and cold food (although a little bizarre for the typical English palate! Overall, highly recommended for a short stay in the lovely Baltic city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
266 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is nice hotel in the very downtown of Riga, Latvia, perfectly located for tourists.
People are friendly, there are many restaurants and pubs nearby, especially I recommend
"Melnie Muki" (Black monks), 200 m from a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the yard have better view, including the Peter baznica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuttgartAbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I used to be a regular at Konventa Seta some 5 years ago and really enjoyed it. Since I now visited Riga in November in two concecutive weeks I decided to stay there again.

First of all, the location is perfect for exploring the old town. Everything is very close by. Also, there is a supermarket some 50 meters from the hotel. Plenty of bars, restaurants in the old town. As the hotel is situated in an old convent you can feel the history all around you. However - this property is in a need of renovation..For my first stay I stayed in a twin room in the main building. Very, very basic, yet no complaints given that the cost for the night was 45 euros. For the second stay we reserved a two - story apartment (room 4011). The price was 115 euros but as this apartment can sleep 5 its not a bad value at all. Wireless internet is free and works fine - you will need to ask for the username and password at the reception. The breakfast is not spectacular but keeping in mind the price one should not complain. If going to Riga also check out hotel Centra - the location is same but the rooms are freshly renovated. For these dates Centra was twice as expensive so I picked Konventa. Facing the same price difference I would pick Konventa again.. otherwise consider Centra.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is an excellent hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay at the Konventa Seta. Our room was very large, spacious and extremely clean. The bathroom was large and modern, with a bath and shower.
Everything was extremely clean, towels and sheets etc and the maid service was very good.
The hotel is located right in the center of Old Riga, which is great for exploring the sights. It is in a good location for Restaurants and shopping too, with a modern shopping center just around the corner.
The hotel bar has just been renovated, It is comfortable and relaxing with a modern twist.
This really is a beautiful hotel, and we will be going back without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s_sophie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney,australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel is well priced and in an excellent location close to train, bus,shopping and old town major sites.We booked a junior suite which was located at the end of a series of dimly lit passageways.
The room was very spacious and nicely furnished, the only drawback was the pokey bathroom. The shower recess was a corner cubicle so tiny that it was impossible to wash without hitting the walls or fixtures.The breakfast was just okay.
Having said that we were more than happy with our stay because of its location and price, several of the reception staff were also pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamilstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We really enjoyed our week stay here. We ordered a return taxi from airport via hotel by e-mail which was very smooth and reasonable. Rooms were very spacious and clean, suite was fantastic. Prices in bar and restaurant were very reasonable, and we ate meals there most nights. Hotel was very safe, and had no problems in area, as lots of people about. Staff were very friendly. Hotel was relaxed but efficient. Breakfast had a good continental choice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good clean, professional hotel, near all amenities, and attractively priced for food, drinks. Food was really good.

Neil England.

Room Tip: Suite rooms very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neildwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#39 of 109 in Riga
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#31 of 109 in Riga
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konventa Seta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konventa Seta Hotel

Property: Konventa Seta Hotel
Address: Kaleju Str. 9/11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konventa Seta Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Konventa Seta is a 3 star townhouse hotel situated in the heart of Old Riga close to Doma Square and the St. Peter's Church. Hotel represents a unique complex of 9 medieval buildings maintaining an atmosphere of the 14th - 16th centuries and offering a wide range of all modern conveniences. You will find gift shops, art galleries, bars and museums in the yard of Konventa Seta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Konventa Seta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing