We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position for sightseeing old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Konventa Seta Hotel
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Despite being described as a Behemoth. this brilliantly located hotel,is of a very good standard. Staff friendly,food adequate,cleanliness spot on. Just through archway from "Domino Canes" superb restaurant. Only disappointment Hotel Bar ,a bit pokey,and shuts quite early. However many late drinking establishments nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear marianlove,

thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in Konventa Seta!

The hotel is very proud with it's location and great staff!
We hope that it made your stay more enjoyable!

Best regards,
Anita Kanenberga
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Konventa Seta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

My first time in Latvia and Riga was a wonderful experience. The rooms at the hotel weren't ultra modern put clean and the staff absolutely excellent, helpful and attentive! The hotel bar may have closed a bit early for an Icelander, but the hotel's location, smack in the middle of the old city, had an abundance of bars and such close by; so that didn't matter! Everything is within a walking distance, three or four shopping-malls for those with hot credit-cards and many fine restaurants for the others. And everything is still very reasonably priced, although I´m sure they will "catch up" with the rest of Europe as time goes by. I recommend Riga, and especially the Konventa Seta Hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xstrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Xstrax,

thank you very much for booking Konventa Seta!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Riga, we always do our best to make your holidays more enjoyable!
Our staff is very pleased, that you found them helpful and excellent!

We would like to thank you once more for your feedback!

Best regards,
Anita Kanenberga
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Have stayed there two times, and both stays were very pleasant. Friendly staff, large rooms, clean and very central. A little noisy in the rooms facing the street, but that is something you must pay if you are staying this central.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristiansundShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear KristiansundShanks,

thank you for your feedback and for staying with us already twice!

We truly hope, that we will be able to welcome you in our hotel also for the third time very soon!

Best regards,
Anita Kanenberga
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Central location in the Old Town. Great service, and very helpful staff.
Breakfast really varied, and you sit in rooms to eat the meal, so don't worry about the review that mentions breakfast in the corridor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear JaneF44,

thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us!

We are very pleased, that you found our staff helpfull!

We would also like to point out to any other guests who might misunderstand the breakfast reviews, the breakfast food can be found in a corridor, but there are five several design rooms where to take a seat for enjoying the breakfast! During summer we also offer our summer terrace for your breakfast!

Thank you for booking Konventa Seta!

Best regards,
Anita Kanenberga
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel is very central in Old Town but not neighbors to any noisy bars or clubs.
You will have all the sights and entertaiment just around the corner.
Its a very nice old and renovated building that is a sight in itself.
Not so expensive. Friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastwoodDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear EastwoodDK!

Thank you for booking Konventa Seta and for leaving your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel!

We are very pleased, that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, due to it's location, staff and the hotel itself,

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel some other time!

Best regards,
Anita Kanenberga
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at the Koventa Seta situated in the centre of Riga old town on the 6th March for four nights. It is ideally situated for all the sites for both Riga new and old.
The hotel is easily reached as is any part of Riga city centre from the airport on the airport bus no. 22 getting off at November isla bus stop . This is the first bus stop after crossing the bridge just over the river 30 minutes later after leaving the . After getting off the bus cross the road using the under pass and head for the church of St Peter. You cannot miss it as it is the largest church steeple throughout the Old Riga town area can almost be clearly visible from any part of both new and old Riga. The rear of the Koventa Seta is situated at the rear of St Peters church .Look for the sculpture of the four farm animals one on top of one another in black and go through the archway opposite which at the end of is the hotel reception on the left.
The current exchange rate is 3 Latvian Lots = £4.00. so its a no brainer to get the bus one way for about 1.5 lots for two, or 15 Lots for a taxi.
First impressions are confusing as the hotel consists of a number of pastel coloured buildings and courtyards but this adds to the features of the hotel experience.
Our room was 2236 in building 2. It was large enough and had a kitchenette facility . No crockery or utensils though. This did not bother us as we brought our own travel kettle, knowing beforehand that there was not going to be one in the room. The furniture in the room was not quite up to the Ritz standard and look as though it was thrown up from Ikea about 10 years ago. The radiators were more than adequate to combat the bitter freezing weather outside. The bed was large and to be honest after travelling the world I have never had such good nights sleep consistently away from home. There was a very small television in the room and no safe facilities . We were told later that there were safe boxes available free of charge in a little room beside reception, which we used.
The hotel does provide evening meals. We did not eat at the hotel for an evening meal but were informed by other guests that it was very nice.
Bear in mind this is a 3* hotel and you get what you pay for. This hotels prime central location more than compensates for any luxuries sort after that may be available at higher rated establishments.
The staff were all very nice and helpful at all times.
On booking this hotel as part of a package we scoured the reports/reviews on Trip Advisor I was a little concerned with some of them but felt on the whole our experience was very good. I would certainly consider going back to the Koventa Seta when returning to Riga in a warmer season if the management consider the following comments. These comments were written on a questionnaire supplied by reception to be completed for when we leave.
1 We read on a previous review that guests were bothered by music and singing throughout the day while in their room. We mentioned it to one lady on reception after two days of experiencing it. She said she had never heard of this problem before. It was not loud just there in the background and annoying. At first we thought we thought it was someone in a room somewhere close by. By the third day we established that it was coming from a restaurant Innocente? Just outside the Koventa grounds next to the archway facing the rear of the St Peters church. I feel that although it may be out of their control, but the Hotel Management should try to get the restaurant to turn it down and stop annoying disturbing some hotel guests situated in or around the area where the restaurants entertainment can be heard.
2 Breakfast not a bad large selection of food over all
(bearing in mind during our stay the temperature varied throughout day and night from -6c to -11c)
The locals and many of the Russian guests may be used to eating cold breakfasts such as coleslaw and other types of salads cheeses cold fish etc etc
Food that should have been hot such as porridge, roast potatoes, macaroni, sausage scramble eggs at best were only just warm at worst was cold. We experienced this daily despite going down to breakfast at different times during our stay. Having said this we may have just been unlucky but somehow doubt it. The foods mention above, I presume were cooked hot and deposited and replenished into the large silver tureens frequently but it was the silly two candle system used to keep the food warm/hot that was totally inadequate for the job. Perhaps the hotel management would consider using some other method to keep food hot.
Despite the two points mentioned above I will return to the Koventa Seta. I highlight them in a way to improve guests experiences during their stay and in our case enhance our experiences already sampled

Room Tip: block 2 where we stayed, but annot say what the other roos were like as all different in different b...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meanwoodjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear meanwoodjohn,

thank you very much for your time and feedback!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Riga and would like to return in our hotel for your next holidays!

Thank you for also completing the guest questionnaire!

We always try to do our best to offer the best service for our guests, but unfortunately the noises from streets or clubs nearby are not in our power, as the hotel is in the very centre of the old town, some clubs are also nearby the hotel, which sometimes can disturb our guests.

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and recommending our hotel to other travellers!

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in the near future again!


Best Regards,

Anita Kanenberga
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have stayed in the Konventa Seta Hotel for two nights in February 2013 for a weekend break. Good and relatively cheap accommodation with discount rates was offered. The hotel is located in the heart of a historic district within a short walking distance from the railway station and central bus terminal. The hotel room was comfortable, well designed and clean. Breakfast with good choice of food was offered. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The only nuisance was that disturbing noise was heard through the closed door from the corridor.The hotel should use better sound insulation. But in general, we will certainly stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curioustraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Curioustraveler81,
we would like to take the chance and thank you for staying with us and taking your time to share your experience on Tripadvisort!
We do all of our efforts to make your stay as good as you would like it to!
And thank you for your comment about the door from the corridor, which could have been disturbing during your stay! If it would be possible, we would like to ask you to send us the room number you were staying in so that we could act to this matter!
We will be glad to receive your message - reservations@Konventa.lv!

We hope to see you some other time!

Best regards,
Anita Kanenberga
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#45 of 110 in Riga
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#37 of 110 in Riga
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konventa Seta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konventa Seta Hotel

Address: Kaleju Str. 9/11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £44 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konventa Seta Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Konventa Seta is a 3 star townhouse hotel situated in the heart of Old Riga close to Doma Square and the St. Peter's Church. Hotel represents a unique complex of 9 medieval buildings maintaining an atmosphere of the 14th - 16th centuries and offering a wide range of all modern conveniences. You will find gift shops, art galleries, bars and museums in the yard of Konventa Seta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Konventa Seta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing