We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot call as a Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konventa Seta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Konventa Seta Hotel
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cannot call as a Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed one night at this stay, we arrived at 1:45pm and asked for check in, they unfortunately refused as their check in could only start from 2pm sharp. They did not offer us with luggage drop in service, but just asking us to come back at 2pm. As we need to fix our car parking issue (that they did not able to give us a good recommendation, and we are very confused), we left there to the info center and came back afterwards at 2:10pm.

When we came back, there's a long line at the courter already, we expect this may need us 30 mins to complete the check in, but ultimately this needed us an hour. There are two staffs at the counter, but both are trainees. There's no problem to be served by a trainee, but without a supervisor, this would be a problem.

We got into the room, except the eletronic door lock could consider this as a hotel facility, nothing inside is deserved this place to call a hotel. The room only equipped with simple facilities, there's no water boiler in the room. At night, we were surrounded by the disco and karaoke noises, which I need sometime to get into a sleep.

The only creditials to this place is the breakfast, which is quite a full one and the rate of EUR is relatively reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    318
    144
    38
    10
See reviews for
113
222
54
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Having arrives at one o'clock I was told to return at two as I could only book in after this time. Returning at two I found, as expected a queue out if the door of people attempting to check in with two reps who both had the job titles "trainee" on their badges.

I tried to talk to a manager and was told "not on a Saturday". Finally I spoke to a rude unapologetic lady on the end of the phone.

My advice is stay somewhere else. 35 minutes to check in without apology or recompense is unacceptable whatever the excuse.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tones_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear tones_9,

I would like to thank you for choosing hotel Konventa Sēta for your stay in Riga! Thank you for taking time write the review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very important and taken seriously as our guest reviews assist us to improve our services.

I would like to apologize for inconveniences caused by waiting 35 minutes to check in. I am extremely sorry that you were not able to speak to Hotel Manager when you asked for it.

I would be pleased to welcome you in hotel Konventa Seta during your next visit and would have the opportunity to ensure high level of service and make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible staring from making your reservation until providing excellent service at check out.

Once again I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay!

Please feel free to contact me directly to my e-mail address linda.stale@kolonna.com, unfortunately we do not have your direct e-mail address.


Best Regards,
Linda Stale

Front Office Manager
KOLONNA Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here for five nights in mid-September. Let's start by getting the "bad" out of the way - the hotel bar was closed for the whole of September. Given that the area is surrounded by bars and cafes, it wasn't a major problem. The location is ideal. Several buildings around a cobbled street/courtyard. Our second floor room was comfortable, spacious, clean and had a lovely view of St Peters church a few metres away. It was cleaned regularly and extra pillows were provided without fuss. Breakfast was the usual continental fayre (which we happen to love) - cheese, breads, cakes, fruit, cereals, porridge, eggs etc. The staff were brilliant - my request for a train timetable to Majori resulted in not only a timetable but also a map (drawn by the receptionist) of Jurmala showing the stations, sea and footpath. The hotel is located in the centre of the old town surrounded by churches, restaurants, cafes, shops and bars. For a budget hotel its location, facilities and helpful staff make it highly recommended and worth the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire-hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruta L, Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Yorkshire-hiker,
Thank you for your stay at Hotel Konventa Seta and for sharing your feedback!
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused by renovation of our lobby bar during September. As you already mentioned a lot of bars and cafes are available around and also our hotel restaurant Ambiente and summer terrace were serving our guests. The good news are that now the Golf Bar is open and welcomes our guests!
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, comfort and cleaness of your room, our breakfast and service provided by our staff.
We hope you will return in the near future to Hotel Konventa Seta!
Regards,
Ruta Luksa
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Hi
After reading all the reviews before i booked, i was quite positive....but i must admit i was a bit disappointed:(
Pros: In the centre, very convenient, quiet if you get the right room! Breakfast was good. Refrigerator for drinks etc

Cons: though the room with small kitchenette( which had no utensils! - not that i was planning to cook!) was good size, it lacked soul. Furniture was very basic, lighting very poor 3-4 small reading lamps and no central main light.
Bathroom was TINY! Shower was soo awkward, no surrounds! Toilet behind the door, very inconvenient.
BED- bad mattress and pillows just awful- soft and lumpy! Hate bad pillows:((
Very small tele, English channels available though.

All in all, just ok...would definitely choose another hotel, many nice ones around as Riga is fairly compact city, you are never far away from most attractions on foot. Other good hotels were cheap too...there are three Radissons!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hottrotter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruta L, Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Hottrotter40, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit!
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel and breakfast served.
All the negative moments you have pointed out in your review will be discussed with our Management Team and we hope very much that the situation can be improved.
Once again thank you for your detailed feedback!
Ruta Luksa
Reservation Manager
Konventa Seta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The room was big but not cosy. Few furnitures and a lot of empty space. Some cracks in the white painting on the walls that started turning yellow. Perfect location in the centre of old town. Close by is a nice park area along the old moat around the old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Konventa Seta hotel is great. It is located in the heart of the old town, with everything within easy walking distance. Despite the central location the hotel is in a side road that isn't noisy and has a local feel. The hotel rooms are a good size and have an individual charm that you don't get in the main, big, chain hotels. The breakfast was good and the staff really helpful and did everything to make our stay as good as possible. Will be back for sure when we are next in Riga.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saunders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I think the Konventa Seta is great hotel. Ofcourse you do pay a bit more for it, but I think ranging from the service, to room size and cleansiness of the rooms it's very very good. I couldn't really fault it, maybe the only thing if I had to would be the bathroom could be a little bigger. Though that is just picking on something very small. So 5 stars for me!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_2733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Kolonna Hotel Riga
Kolonna Hotel Riga
#33 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#46 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#11 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konventa Seta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konventa Seta Hotel

Property: Konventa Seta Hotel
Address: Kaleju Str. 9/11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konventa Seta Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Konventa Seta is a 3 star townhouse hotel situated in the heart of Old Riga close to Doma Square and the St. Peter's Church. Hotel represents a unique complex of 9 medieval buildings maintaining an atmosphere of the 14th - 16th centuries and offering a wide range of all modern conveniences. You will find gift shops, art galleries, bars and museums in the yard of Konventa Seta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Konventa Seta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing