We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, helpful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Konventa Seta Hotel
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Riga
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, helpful.”
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Our friends who had stayed at the Konventa before had loved it and recommended it to us.
Having mild mobility disabilities I contacted the hotel before hand to let them know this and they couldn't have been more helpful.
Having seen past reviews of the hotel being cold and the staff not being friendly - I have to disagree.
Don't go to Latvia expecting a British temperament - they are Latvian!
The food was good, and the restaurant affordable.
The only improvements I would like to see are minor really: Tea and Coffee making facilities in the rooms, and more fruit on the breakfast menu (Although it was out of season for fruit - so that may have been the problem)
Big downside were fellow Brits, wandering around drunk in Riga - thankfully not at this hotel. When in the hotel we rarely heard them.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank KMG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    348
    156
    38
    10
See reviews for
124
243
60
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I have just spent 3 nights in this hotel and it was clean, well organised and friendly . A well situated hotel in the old town. Well heated (it was -20C outside so that is important). The rooms were comfortable, the premises spotless andd the staff very helpful. They organised transport from and to the airport for us which was very great. The breakfast is plentiful and fresh. Altogether a lovely place!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Excellent hotel! Clean, comfortable and the 3 of us were given a house rather than a room! More than expected. Staff were lovely and food excellent. I would highly recommend this hotal to anyone visiting Riga. It is superbly located right in the heart of the old town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leehuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

One week BB cost 305 lati for two (100GBP/85lati). Good value.
Quiet, clean. Breakfast adequate.
Excellent location for the sights, opera, bus stop to airport. No.22, costs 0.70 lati. 30 minutes.
Avoid Room 005 and others nearby. Fire escape notice on room door directs you to a door with a notice "Kept locked for security".
Latvia has an interesting history. Visit the Museum of Occupation.
Apart from that, top marks.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bettike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

As this is a former convent, the rooms also have that flair. So don't expect too much luxury and comfort, it is all very austere, but also very special. No air conditioning, which I missed terribly because we had over 30 degrees every day. Breakfast is ok. Some people working at the reception desk are not really well informed, but all of them were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eireann_alhambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I stayed here with a group of friends and family in Feb 2010, on a four night break to Riga.

Really liked the ambience of the hotel; nice, cosy feel to it, I thought. The rooms were large ( try upgrading to a Junior Suite) and the bathroom was modern and practical.

Staff was pleasant and the location of the hotel is superb! We got an absolute bargain at around £34 a night for a Junior Suite- well worth it! This also included breakfast. The breakfast was plentiful and had a good choice of things.

It was very cold when we were in Riga, but the heating was fantastic in the rooms.

TGI's restaurant is very close to the hotel and is well worth a visit.

We also ate at Vincent ( 5 star restaurant in Riga) so if anyone would like to know more, please message me.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elninomagico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This hotel is wonderfully positioned, staff are friendly and helpful, but I have just returned after a 34 degree heatwave. The hotel has no air conditioning and it was impossible to feel comfortable or sleep. Noise from ground floor (apartments let out, I think) went on until 1am, with someone in workshop. Hotel restaurant adequate. Bar staff surly. Breakfast poor - almost no fruit.

But all in all, I enjoyed my stay there, and it was easy to get everywhere in Riga. But they really do need to instal aircon!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balticbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#41 of 109 in Riga
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#33 of 109 in Riga
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konventa Seta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konventa Seta Hotel

Property: Konventa Seta Hotel
Address: Kaleju Str. 9/11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konventa Seta Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Konventa Seta is a 3 star townhouse hotel situated in the heart of Old Riga close to Doma Square and the St. Peter's Church. Hotel represents a unique complex of 9 medieval buildings maintaining an atmosphere of the 14th - 16th centuries and offering a wide range of all modern conveniences. You will find gift shops, art galleries, bars and museums in the yard of Konventa Seta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Konventa Seta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing