We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for sleep”
Review of Viktorija Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viktorija Hotel
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was staying there for 4 nights. At the high level it is good for single person or if you need just to be there on night time only. If I would be with my wife I would book something better.
Breakfast was good, almost enough for the all day. No coffee machine in a room and no ice machine as well. Very close to center either walking or using public transit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khenikandza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irinak360, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Viktorija Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Hello Dear Guest!
Thanks for Your review!
You always welcome! We will glad to see again!
With best wishes, Irina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Everything was really nice. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean, breakfast were simply but good. Hotel is not so far from old town. There was just one thing, that our shower hanger was broken and it was not so comfortable as it can be :) But except this we are very satisfy with our choice to stay at this hotel :)

Room Tip: I don't know if there are some rooms with windows to inner side because ours were oriented to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guste I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irinak360, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Viktorija Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Hello Dear Guest!

Thanks for Your review!
You always welcome!
With best wishes, Irina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having stayed in a hotel in Riga's center before, my strategy this time was to choose a hotel located further from the center and perhaps save a bit while retaining quality. With the Hotel Viktorija, this strategy did not work out.
My boyfriend and I stayed there Wednesday-Sunday. While booking, I was pleased to find that the hotel offered a romantically themed deal which included a bottle of champagne. Before our trip, I called to add an extra night (Wednesday night) to our reservation. When we arrived, exhausted from a ten hour bus trip on Wednesday night, the young man at the desk had no record of this addition to our reservation. Luckily, I had saved all of our email corresponsdence confirming this, and after a few minutes we were on our way to our room.
The room was fairly clean, although the mold growing in the corner did little to contribute to the "romantic" idea of the holiday. The bathroom - not the cleanest - featured an ancient platform style shower with a shower curtain and a shower head which continually fell down (There is a reason they don't show the bathrooms on the website!). Also not excessively romantic. I will say that the bed was big, clean, and comfortable. However, you cannot make local calls from your room, although there is a phone there, which is strange as well as inconvenient.
After a few days, we decided to see if we were ever going to recieve our champagne, and went to ask at the desk. Fumbling for an explanation, the best that the receptionist could come up with was that they were unable to enter our room since we had the only key. Strange, since the cleaning lady had been managing to bring us fresh towels every day and unpleasant to have the hotel's failures blamed on you. She did then give us the champagne, which was decent, and some glasses which was good since the cups in our room were dirty. The cleaning lady never retrieved them, though she did throw away some medicinal cream that I was using to treat an eye infection.
The most unpleasant incident occured on the last day, when I asked if we could keep the room a bit longer since 1) We had arrived very late (after 10 pm) on Wednesday and 2) our bus was not leaving until midnight. She promptly answered that our room was already booked, which I highly doubt since the hotel was half empty the whole time we stayed there and it was a Sunday night. I then asked if we could at least have an extra hour so as not to rush, which she also refused. Lastly, I asked if we could keep our baggage in the small room behind the check-in for the day which she declined to do, sending us and our bags off into the rain.
The Viktorija is not the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in, but I was very disappointed with the difference between the quality I expected based on the website and price and what I recieved, especially since this was supposed to be a sort of romantic getaway. The staff is unorganized unfriendly and unprofessional, and the place itself is mediocre at best. I will not be staying here again, and I don't recommend anyone else to do so either. You can find a much nicer hotel in Riga for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Лора О
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I liked the location. not far from Riga downtown. Hotel staff was very good and helpfull. Bathroom OK, room old fashioned:) Beds and pillows should be better in hotel. One think that suprised me was electric radiator for heating. so no central heating i guess:) But for the price /25 USD/ per person per night with breakfast is ok:) Breakfast is serving in bistro like 15 metres next to the hotel.

Room Tip: i chose the hotel becasue of option of room with three beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCSVPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

if you are allergic to dust it's not your place: old carpet in the room, and i think the curtains were very dusty as well.Impossible to switch off the heater in the bathroom, so we suffered the heat all night long. breakfast is served in a nearby place where the quality of the food is really poor, so if you decide to stay here i recommed to pay only for the night without b/fast. Downtown is 15-20 min walk, They have a small private car park and we could leave it also after check out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viaggintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irinak360, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Viktorija Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Dear Guest!
Thanks for Your review!

With best wishes, Irina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

i spent 1 night with 2 friends and surelly i will never go back there . We paid cash and they didnt give us our change. It was less than 10 euros but i really cant accept this "philosophy" of getting "tips". Hotel is a really old style , we asked 3 single beds but we got 1 double bed and one single bed. They asked us extra money when we asked to change the beds

It is located near the city center but avoid to pay by cash unless you want lose your money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irinac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I booked this hotel because it was the best offer for 3 persons - I've got a family room which actually has two rooms for a reasonable price. Before we arrived I changed my reservation twice and the personnel did their best to help me. The hotel is located a little far from historic center but it can be reached in just 10 minutes and it's not a problem at all. Our rooms were spacious, may be too spacious, because rooms looked a little "empty" - I guess some decoration would make them a bit more cozy. I can't say anything about breakfast as it wasn't included but where is one of the "Lido" restaurants near the hotel.
Generally I was satisfied my stay in this hotel - it was cheap, clean and not far from center, so I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irinak360, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Viktorija Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Hello Dear Yariq!

Thanks for Your review!
You always welcome!
With best wishes, Irina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.1 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#52 of 110 in Riga
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#49 of 110 in Riga
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
A1 Hotel
A1 Hotel
#60 of 110 in Riga
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Irina Hotel
Rixwell Irina Hotel
#65 of 110 in Riga
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#25 of 110 in Riga
541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#39 of 110 in Riga
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viktorija Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viktorija Hotel

Address: A. Caka Street 55, Riga 1011, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £17 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viktorija Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Viktorija is located in one of the main streets of Riga, 15 minutes walk from the Old Town and 15 minutes drive from Riga International Airport. Jugendstil architecture, cozy atmosphere, classic design gives the hotel special charm. All rooms are decorated in a classic romantic style in the best European traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viktorija Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing