We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent value for a short city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Kempinski Rigi
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent value for a short city break”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Visited for 4 nights on long weekend break with friends.
Hotel is clean and functional although some of decor could be freshened.
Staff helpful and friendly and breakfasts offer wide continental aelection

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    62
    73
    35
    35
See reviews for
27
61
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The last time I stayed in hotel Riga was some good ten years ago. The one thing I remember about this hotel where the squeaking floors. They are still there – and as a matter of fact I do not think that much else has changed either. On the positive side – as it has been pointed out in almost every review – its location is superb! It’s on the edge of the old town, close to train and bus station with good connections to the airport. The reception hall is nice – well more like – not so bad. Once you step into the elevator the time machine effect kicks in .- if you make it to your floor you can brag that you have used a Soviet made technology. Room was ok in size, no queen or king size beds in double rooms. It was also dirty – dust everywhere. Bathroom looked ugly, the toilet did not flush properly. The television was broken. I did not try the breakfast but the visual impression of the restaurant was bad. Yes, it was cheap at 42 euros per night but mind you, there are much nicer alternatives in the same price range in Riga. Avoid it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riga hotels

Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Nothing phoney baloney about this hotel. a true experience and wonderfully located in the center of Riga. Beautiful old dining room where you may sit in on a wedding party -reception. Prepare to take your time and order everything at once. including your drinks= vodka and Armenian Cognac of course. followed by coffee.

Room Tip: get a 5 star room. LUXURY DELUXE KLASS not first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel's location is the best thing, being in the middle of town, right next to the Opera and the freedom momnument. However, the first day was far from 4 star experience, as I ordered a doubleroom (w/double bed, not two single beds put together)- and guess what we got :-(

When I complained about the situation, the answer was that they had none double rooms availiable before the next day... So, the first night was spent in separate beds to avoid falling in between. Not only this, but the floor wasn't cleaned at all, really dirty so you could feel it when walking on it.

The next day, they gave us a new room with a double bed, and this was better. However, when we departed from the hotel, they charged the 20 Lats for early check- in the first day (we came there approximately 3 hours too early) and even the petty 1 Lat for a small water bottle from the mini bar(!), even though the inconvenience with the rooms. Not my first choice ever again, for sure- but if one gets it really cheap, maybe the location makes it worth it's while.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A group of 5 of us, 20 year olds, travelled to Riga, Latvia for 4 days from the 20th of February to the 24th February and stayed at Hotel Riga.

The hotel was superb and very cheap. We were given a twin room and a triple, both were superb. The decor is a little out-dated and the whole hotel has a very Soviet feel to it, but for us, this was all part of its appeal. Long, wide, corridors, frosted glass doors, avocado bathroom tiles. If there were to be a remake of the Shining, this would be the perfect setting. I can imagine this sort of vibe is quite off-putting for some, hence the poorer reviews, but all 5 of us loved the hotel.

The staff were very friendly, allowing us to check in early for free (other reviews mention a 30 EU charge) due to our early flight into Riga. I've also never stayed at a hotel which offers such a large selection for breakfast. Although there are few of the food stuffs seen in English hotel breakfast rooms, the choice was so large you'd be hard pushed not to find something you like.

Unfortunately during our stay, 3 of us contracted food poisoning from a restaurant in Riga. This did, somewhat, ruin our trip, but the hotel staff added a degree of comfort by brining us extra supplies to the room, as well as sending up candle for my friends birthday cake on her birthday.

The staff at the bar were also really friendly and the nights that we weren't ill, we enjoyed hearing their stories, whilst trying to make our way through the cocktail list. No problem was much of an issue for any of the staff, who helped whenever we had an issue.

The location is absolutely perfect as well, just outside the National Opera Theatre and on the outskirts of the picturesque Old Town where Riga really comes to life.

All in all, a fabulous hotel with great staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterswash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for two nights in a group of 12. We had a triple room which was dated but it did the job. For a weekend visit, this is a no-frills-hotel but what more do you need? It was -10 outside and the room was always warm. Hot water worked fine. Mini-bar prices were even reasonable. Breakfast, again, did the job! The hotel bar was cheap - around 1.50 lat for a beer (roughly £2).

Overall, perfect for a short stop over but if you're looking glamour then it's not for you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankiemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

An impressive building at a great location with good views and at a good price. But; old rooms, no duvet cover (rather a duvet over a sheet), poor breakfast, tv with only 1 channel in English (and 4 in total). On the positive side, though it was clean. So you put down your priorities and you decide.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
#60 of 109 in Riga
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#7 of 109 in Riga
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#11 of 109 in Riga
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Riga Old Town
Pullman Riga Old Town
#17 of 109 in Riga
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Rigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Rigi

Property: Grand Hotel Kempinski Rigi
Address: Aspazijas Bulvaris 22, Riga 10-50, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Riga)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Rigi 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Rigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing