We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worse place in Riga !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Ranked #83 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I have stay at this hotel back in August 2010 i went to Riga to celebrate my birthday.
i travel with Ryanair from London. One thing for sure this is not the place you really want to stay
in if you travel to Riga. the hotel staff are rude!!!!! i had booked an single room
landed late and was with a friend we wanted to spend some time catching up but
i was told by staff i would have to pay £40 above the price of a double room if
my friend was in the room beyond 23h00. ( no double room available that night i was told).
the hotel itself inside is run down. will do with some DIY for the price they charge,
you will be better of else where trust me. the only good thing i can say about the hotel
is its location in front of the freedom monument; and the breakfast.
i had to check out early hours the following day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julius02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

Hotel Riga could be so beautiful but fails miserably on all counts. We booked in for 4 nights based on their website which makes the hotel look very grand and comfortable and as it has 4 stars, we reasoned that it would be of a certain level of comfort. We were unpleasantly surprised to discover our room was filthy, the water in the bathroom tap was brown and the staff were incredibly rude.
Nothing in this hotel feels clean and it appears that their 4 stars are self-awarded as we couldn't find anything to indicate they had been given by a recognised hotel approving authority. We asked to switch rooms after our first night but the second one was no better. After a second miserable night of no sleep due to the noise from the street (as there are no fans or air conditioning, windows must be left open) we walked around Riga to try to find a hotel with an available room for our last 2 nights. We checked out of Hotel Riga 2 days early and I have to say, the receptionist did not seem that surprised. We finished our trip in the lovely Garden Palace hotel which was pure bliss after the horror of Hotel Riga. Do not stay at Hotel Riga at all costs!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

This hotel is the worst hotel I`ve ever been in. Its totally old fashioned in a bad way, and so dirty that I could barely sleep in the bed. How this hotel has got four stars is unbeliveble. But good breakfast and location.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn
Thank Sirenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Came here, well aware that this hotel is old. i thought I would appreciate the history of the building but to be honest it is just a worn out, tired old building that REALLY needs some serious remodeling.

How this hotel claims to be a 4-star-place is just amazing. I´ve stayed at hostels that are better, our room lacked AC, the handle on the bathroom door was broken and at times the toilet couldn´t be flushed.

There are much better hotels in Riga - Clarion Valdemarts or any of the SAS Radisson´s are highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarewellFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Nice hotel to enjoy riga. the rooms are excellent same goes for the staff. Both the exterior and interior is very well decorated. the rooms are nice and clean. the location is nice. The best part is you may enjoy the famous night life of riga within your reach. The food shops/restaurants are near by and you will get great deal of variety. In my opinion, the hotel is cheap if you consider the atmosphere (historic place), the service of the staff (modern though) and the soft bed. I would definitely go back to the hotel again on my next trip to riga.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daudratul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Stayed at this hotel last Easter and it was so bad...
The staff was very rude, room was dirty ( someone had broken a bottle in our room before us and there was lot of broken glass under our bed), our tv didn't work and we could't sleep because of the noise. Also twice someone had thrown up in the elevator.. Do i have to say anything more..

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122,535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

1. No internet (on web site it is written that there is internet but it is a lie). Same with sauna.
2. No hairdryer
3. Furniture is old and smels bad
4. Sound from other rooms is excelent, I could hear prostitutes and their customers the whole night from next room
5. Sound from corridor is also excelent, I could hear lift beeping the whole night
6. Breakfest is awful, vesels are dirty, I cleaned them by myself before taking food
Never ever book this hotel unless you want to have such kind of adventure ;) And of course it is not 4 stars hotel... 1 start would be enough I think.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller131341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Riga Old Town
Pullman Riga Old Town
#17 of 110 in Riga
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 110 in Riga
791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#4 of 110 in Riga
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#35 of 110 in Riga
778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga

Address: Aspazijas Bulvaris 22, Riga 10-50, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Riga)
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Riga
#19 Spa Hotel in Riga
#45 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £167 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 19th century, Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga is situated in the heart of the Latvian capital. Just opposite the National Opera House and by the entrance to the town’s historic centre, the main tourist attractions are within walking distance. Discover the finest collection of 141 luxury rooms and suites along with an all-day-dining and a rooftop restaurant, a bar and a cigar lounge. Organise your event at our ballroom with natural daylight or arrange your business meeting in one of the five meeting rooms. Indulge in Kempinski The Spa, featuring six treatment rooms, a swimming pool and a health club with fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing