We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, a bit small room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, a bit small room”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here a couple of days, and were very satisfied with the stay. The staff welcomed us and gave us great advice on the city. Our room was very nice but a bit small.
The restaurant was modernly decorated and we were the only guests, the food was good, not excellent. The location is great and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oekonomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    117
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
84
217
40
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed for two nights. First time in Riga. Location was excellent if you're in for a quick sightseeing trip thru The old part of town

Rooms were large, even by American standards, and extremely well appointed. Entry and lobby both superb

Staff was exceptionally helpful. I had a lot of questions about what to do, where to go, where to avoid, restaurants, bars, etc and they just went out of their way to figure it all out

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasTXNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Arrived at the hotel by private car from Tallinn.Porter was not in the front door,have to ask at the reception.From the street level to the reception there are 10 steps up.
Check in was normal.

Booked-by the hotel site-and stayed in a deluxe room,4 th floor,no upgrade.In the lobby area there's a beautiful bird.

Reception is always full,no separate concierge area.Daily bottle of water as courtesy.

Small space of the shower,which is in the bathtube.No separate showers.Inadequate pressure of the water of the shower.

Amennities " Aromatherapy".Bar soap have to be asked when it finished..

Housekeeping did not remember the preferences of the guest in making the bed.Turndown service.

Sheets and towels are thin.

Not enough outlets in the room to plug your appliances ( mobile phone,camera ) for recharge .

Walls and celing with no sufficient sound isolation,can hear noise from the rooms above and beside.

Air con sillent.

Check out fast and efficient ( made by Victor )

Breakfast normal,fresh orange juice CHARGED EXTRA.

Have to mention the attention and kindness of Victor,from the reception.Always ready to answer your questions," go for it " when asked.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Grand Palace Hotel is excellent from every point of view. It is very conveniently located in heart of the Riga's Old Town, surrounded by many restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. The hotel has a nice restaurant with great dinner menu and excellent breakfast buffet with basically everything you might want to eat.
The bedroom was a generous size and very cozy equipped with bathrobes, slippers, large plasma TV, minibar, great toiletries and complimentary water every night. Bathroom and bedroom both were immaculate and thoroughly cleaned every day. The room was plush and very well equipped, with a PC and free broadband internet access. There is of course free internet in the lobby and wifi in the rooms.
The spa (sauna and steam room) were available free of charge from 6 to 23; you need only a reservation.
The staff are friendly and extremely attentive. The hotel also arranged our pick up from the airport and return and included it on the bill and we were taken in the hotel's very glamerous BMW with very courteous and expert driver.
We could definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GORILLAS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

After depositing our son with his grandparents we were hoping for a bit of luxury in a quiet central location for a few days peace. This hotel fitted the bill on the website and was even better in the "flesh". The reception staff could not have been more helpful and greeted us by name which hugely impressed my husband. We celebrated his 40th birthday and a bottle of champagne was produced (as ordered) and a birthday cake which was a surprise from the hotel (never charged for).

This is a boutique hotel created from a private house so do not expect very large rooms or bathrooms. That said they were extremely well appointed and comfortable, especially the beds.

To be very critical the bath towels could have been a tad larger and hair conditioner would have been nice (asked at reception and some was sent up from the Spa) and the built-in hair-dryer was terrible but I am being fussy.

The breakfast room was situated in a covered atrium with very helpful staff and eggs cooked to order. Plus Riga champagne on the side, a great way to start the day.

Literally a 1 minute walk to the main square for restaurants, outside cafes and live music every night. Altogether a very good trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I'm staying only in this hotel in Riga for last 6 years. Owners changed, but service didn't, Grand Palace is small with helpful, friendly stuff, very comfortable, so it seems to be a great value for it's price in Riga.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecilopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I have stayed there several times and this is creme de la creme of hotels! Absolutely excellent place to stay.

It is very conveniently located in heart of the Riga's Old Town, surrounded by many restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. The Old Town is pretty lively with outside music concerts and open-markets in the summertime, but the hotel is quiet so you won't feel "the buzz" unless you want to.

The deco is sort of luxury-baroque with heated bathroom floors - very pleasant. Large, comfortable beds. It is spotlessly clean with fast internet (wifi) in the rooms and very convenient online room-service. You can simply order taxi or meal to your room by clicking on the computer screen in your room. The hotel has a really nice restaurant with sort of glass ceiling. Great dinner menu, excellent breakfast buffet with basically everything you might want to eat.

Service is great and the staff is remarkable - they once remembered I ordered mint tea to my room in the evening, so next time I stayed there they asked me whether I'd like to have a mint tea in my room after I come back from business meetings. I also needed international press in my room early morning and they went to three different bookstores to get it for me.

I love to stay there and highly recommend to anyone visiting Riga. I think it is a lovely place to stay not only for business, but also (or maybe foremost) for romantic getaways.

Room Tip: get the room on upper floors-larger with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettyKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Pils iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#11 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing