We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
495
136
27
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
136
27
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleading hotels of the worldglass ceilingold townmain bardeluxe roombusiness or pleasurefluent in englishperfect locationlovely roomsauna and steam roomwonderful staynon smokinghotel barlovely hotelquiet streetairport transferstar hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Best hotel in town, right in the city historic center, a member of leading hotels that accomplishes the standards of this hotel alliance... Great breakfast and restaurant... Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuiBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Don't be put off by the name, thinking it's all about acres of marble and snotty staff. It's not huge, more of a "boutique" hotel size I reckon. The Grand Palace is located in the old city of Riga, ideal for exploring on foot and quite close to the river if you fancy a boat trip. The decor etc is traditional but the welcome from the youngish staff is both warm, professional and multilingual. We ate in the restaurant, the bar, and on the outside terrace, and enjoyed all three. In June they feature a "strawberry menu" with some unusual and delicious combinations! The bar area seems to have been designed by someone with a thing for antlers - chandeliers, wall lights, all made from them!

Room Tip: My room was at the front, i.e. potentially get some street noise, but vehicular traffice is restricted in the old city so not a problem.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aberdour g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just stayed here for the first time on a business trip, so did not have time to test all facilities, however the bar was great, the room very nice, large and comfortable and the breakfast excellent! I also found that all the staff I met, from the bellboy, check in, bar/restaurant including the driver where all very helpful and friendly! Excellent hotel, the best I have tried in Riga so far.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANicolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We are a family of three including an infant 9 months old travelling from Oslo by car, via Stockholm, Silja Line ferry to Helsinki, ferry to Tallin, Estonia and car further to Riga, Latvia - Vilnius, Lithuania - Gdansk, Poland - Berlin, Germany - Den Haag and Amsterdam, The Netherlands - Copenhagen, Danmark and ferry to Sweden and finally driving back to Norway.

We have not had a too good stay at the Grand Hotel Roga Hotel, because there was really loud noice from a gathering in the restaurant which caused a whole lot of noice for hours. we booked Business double rooms, and these were not directly accessible, so we had to take elevators up and down.

There were also huge steps from the street, if we had known this in beforehand, we would have chosen another hotel.
Riga itself is a nice city, so that was OK.

All in all an OK couple of nights in Riga before travelling further on our trip, apart from the fact that the hotel is not so easy accessible for families with strollers.

Room Tip: If travelling with small children and using a stroller, choose another hotel, or at least ask for a room with as little hassle as possible accessible with the elevators, and also ask if there is going to be a convention in the hotel. If so, stay clear.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiltonEliteMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We've been there in May 2012. We had a rather small junior suite, with a relatively small bed (that's even more surprising when you see the average size of Latvian people :-)). The breakfast was very good, with a service sometimes reminiscent of soviet era :-(.
Be aware you have to book the sauna / hammam area as you'll get then an exclusive use for an hour or so (I don't know if this is common in Latvia).

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews