We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a 5 stars”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is a 5 stars”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Location is great. Rooms are what you expect from a 5 stars. Old european refinement. Good welcoming. They even offered me a nice chocolate cake for my birthday and I did not tell anybody. Staff is helpful.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank soleilmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    126
    25
    9
    8
See reviews for
90
246
41
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

1. Welcoming service
2. Nice surroundings (old town, short walk everywhere, day tickets)
3. Nice decorations, clean
4. Good fresh breakfast, specifically nice fluffy pancakes. Someone who commented they're not real it's true, they're so unreally good ;) Remember to accompany the pancakes with strawberry, rasberry and cherry jam instead of ol' maple syrup. Excellent service at breakfast restaurant.
5. Small minus from apparently some wooden interior structures which pass some noise from the hallway when people walking up and down stairs (our room was at the stairway). Room could also be bit small for some tastes for a deluxe room, but we survived ;)
6. Im 6.3" tall and the bed was probably 6.2" or 6.3". Together with the pillows the bed fell short. Luckily there was a stool at the end of the bed so I could keep my feet off the ground ;) Big minus for the tiny double bed.

Overall, very good stay. We didn't try the spa or gym. For spa I would recommend espariga ;)

Room Tip: If you are tall, ask in advance if there is an extra king size bed... otherwise it might be short fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is well located on the edge of old town in Riga. It is a warm and friendly place with a feel of old European refinement. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was helpful and eager to please. My only complaint is that the beds were lumpy and a bit soft, as is typical with older hotels in Europe. This may not be an issue for most travelers, but I prefer a firm mattress.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gale55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip and had very high expectations (perhaps too high?) after all the extatic reviews on TA. Upon arriving, I was very warmly welcomed by the reception staff, and of course, armchairs in the reception gives you a sense of luxury. During all the stay, every staff member was very professional and friendly, I felt almost as I was their private guest. It was also nice to return to the hotel room in the evening and find the bed made up and a bottle of complimentary water at the bedside table. Breakfast was ample and very good, they prepare omelettes at request and some choice of fresh fruit every day. The coffee was also excellent.

The location is perfect in a quiet zone of the old town, but sometimes it will be a bit noisy in the surrounding streets. There are a lot of nice restaurants, cafees and bars in the neighbourhood, and some noise is inevitable.

What disappointed me a bit, was the hotel room. It was clean and nicely decorated, but rather small and dark with only one small window. I was very happy that I had an appointment in the evening, as I would have disliked very much spending the evening in the hotel room. I also think the price is too high to defend the extra luxury feeling. I will definitely stay here again if I get a good price, but think I will be quite as happy in Radisson Blu Elizabete, even if this is a 10 minute walk from the Old Town. For those wanting to stay in Old Town, and who wants the extra "luxury" feeling, I think this hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean View, Delaware, USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

OMG. Stay at this hotel. We were pampered from the moment we sat down in armchairs to check in. We arrived very early, yet our room was available in a half hour. They offered us coffee in the breakfast room but we choose to go out for coffee. When we returned, our bags were already in our room.

The hotel is located in the old city and perfect for wandering around. It is also walking distance to the art nouveau district.

We had wonderful massages in the hotel spa.

The breakfast was outstanding, including a large coffee selection (individual French press, lattes, etc.)

Try the Cosmo at the hotel bar. It is made with fresh cranberries. It was fabulous!!

The hotel offers pick up and drop off at the airport. The Mercedes was very comfortable, with bottles of water in the car.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRKOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Riga is such an elegant place, this old town, the people and this beautiful boutique hotel! The front desk is most polite and caring, wonderful services and room deco. You won't be disappointed! It is right in the Old Town and near the water. Great spa. Highly computerized services.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MdMontaigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Grand Palace is located in the Riga old town with an easy walking distance to most of the attractions. Rooms are beautiful, well equipped and the breakfast room is very pretty and the service professional and delicate. Can strongly recommend for business people and especially for couples for a romantic break.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
776 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#1 of 109 in Riga
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Pils Street 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing