We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but don't get rooms facing their banquet hall...”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is situated just outside the main square--but close enough to enjoy everything. We were unfortunate to have a room facing a glass domed banquet hall. Friday night they had the music blaring, and we were kept up til 1:30 AM. we called the front desk and the manager said they couldn't do much--but did have them turn down the volume. The following day, management sent bottle of wine and fruit ti our room. Greta gesture--but I would have preferred to sleep--SMILE.

Room Tip: make sure you aren't in rooms facing the glass domed banquet hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your time to write this review.

For the troubles with the blaring music we cannot offer any excuses but only apologise for the inconvenience this have caused you. We have mishandled this situation and will take the necessary steps in order to avoid such things from happening in the future.

We truly hope that it didn’t spoil the whole enjoyment of the beautiful Riga city and the remainder of your trip.

We would be pleased to see you with us soon again and let us show you a 5 star hospitality we aim to provide to our dear guests.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

I booked a room in this Hotel and wrote that since I suffer from asthma the room had to be imperatively non smoking... when we arrived we were shown in a room that was freezing cold, with the air condition running at top level (outside the temperature was normal). Also, there was an unbelievable stench of smoke which obviously the Hotel had tried to disguise with the air conditioner. When we confronted the receptionist with the situation, after an initial denial she admitted that someone had smoked in the room and they had done their best to conceal what had happened. It was only when threatened to choose another Hotel that we were offered a room that was really non smoking. Also, the lady at the reception told us that they had guests who where so rich that they did not mind smoking in non smoking rooms and paying a fine..what a vulgar attitude .. when I said that most Hotels solve this problem by setting fire alarms in non smoking rooms which would set off when people would smoke, she did not understand this (or did not want to understand).
The second thing that put us off is that when we asked for a late check out against an additional payment they told us it was not possible (and the Hotel was obviously half empty).
So I really do not understand how these people who lack totally of style and class can claim to be a leading Hotel of the World. The only thing that was acceptable was the room price.
100 horses would not drag me again there. A Hotel for parvenus and nouveaux riches ..
Also, although there was not much traffic in the street facing the hotel, drunkards were shouting all night...

Room Tip: Do not trust them if they promise a non smoking rooms. Do not accept a room looking on the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to the Grand Palace Hotel.

All our guest comments are of a great importance to us and providing them with best possible service is our main goal. Both, good or bad experiences are equally important. We are very proud of the positive reviews we have on TripAdvisor that represent individual experiences of our guests and reflect the style and class Grand Palace Hotel has reached. On the other hand we are very sorry if any of our guests had felt mistreated in any way or left us unsatisfied. All our guests are important to us and their well-being, enjoyment and satisfaction while staying with us is our main concern.

As for the issues you encountered during your stay, we apologize for these inconveniences and hope that it did not take away much of your enjoyment of the rest of your trip.

We have well noted all the issues you mentioned and will address them immediately.
During the summer when the days are hot we cool our guest rooms to make sure they have pleasant arrival in our hotel. We apologize if you felt your room was too cold. The smoking is permitted only in a few of the rooms located on the second floor of our hotel. It is sad if some of our guests disregard this in-house regulation, which lead to the situations like this.
The late check-out you mentioned was not possible because our hotel was fully booked and there were guests scheduled to arrive to the room you occupied during the stay. As per hotel’s policy 14:00 check-in applies and must be respected for all new arrivals.

Once again we are very sorry that you felt mistreated in our hotel but we hope you would consider coming back to us in the future and give us a chance to show our quality service we tend to provide to every of our guests.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I'm afraid to be trivial with my review but still - EXELLENT service from a bell-boy to a chambermaid and a limousine driver. We really felt as if we were at home. Beautiful rooms. We stayed with the hotel during the Riga's birhtday festivity and the only room that I had managed to find was a standard one, but it was very cosy and rather spacious and we we lucky to see the fireworks right from the window. Fine breakfast/

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madmother1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and the kind words towards our hotel and its staff.

We are happy to be at your service and to know that you felt at home with us. There is no better praise then a satisfaction of our guest and to know that he felt here like at home.

We hope to welcome you back again in not too distant future.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night. Small but enough and very beautiful hotel. Staff is too good. The hotel is having a old architecture but still has all modern facilities. You privided with a computer in each room as well. Good place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj_hec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

It was our pleasure to welcome you in our beautiful hotel. Your comment towards our staff is very kind. They are our biggest asset and the ones that make this hotel the way it is now.

Have a safe travels and we hope to see you with us soon again.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel with 2 children for 2 nights.
The service is wonderful! Everyone is smiling and helpful, they know every guest and make you feel most welcome.
The breakfast was also excellent for quality and selection. The breakfast room was elegant and the parrot added a touch to it.
From the down side- there are not as many room facilities as You might expect from a 5* hotel. We have seen more in 4* hotels. Everything is although possible to get (for extra charge of course).
In general the hotel was an excellent experience. The location is also the best when You want to see Riga and old town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 215Annika215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to learn that you had an excellent experience with us and found everyone both smiling and helpful. We are also glad that you liked our restaurant with an open-air feel and our friendly parrot Misha.

As for the room facilities you pointed out, we are located in the historical building dated back to 1877 and as the historical site we have a certain limitations of what we can have here. Nevertheless I hope it did not distract you much from enjoying your trip and the stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and could not fault this hotel, all staff were superb and made us very welcome.
We were just walking distance from all the sights and attractions of old riga and very much enjoyed our stay, i would very much recommend this hotel if you are visiting riga.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weemancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write this review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and left us with positive memories about our hotel and the Riga city.

We hope you had a safe trip home and will look forward to your next visit.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed staying in this boutique hotel very much. The room service did their job perfectly, as u would expect from 5* hotel.
The only disappointment I could list here is that people in reception don't even know where it is possible to have dinner after 11pm. Since It is central touristic place and guests are probably mainly first
time visiting riga, they should be able to recommend sights and places to eat.
So we were told to go to McDonalds)! We just walked out at 11:30 pm after the flight we were hungry, turned 2 streets and went on to see steakhouse restaurant that works till late.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njchocolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I’m glad to read that you found our room service perfect and your overall stay was to your satisfaction.

Also thank you for pointing out your disappointment as this is something that will not go unnoticed. My colleagues will gather the necessary information about the possibilities to have a dinner at a later time in our near proximity and will be ready to assist our guests with this information in the future.

We look forward to see you with us here again.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 111 in Riga
812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#1 of 111 in Riga
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Pils Street 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £116 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing