We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Grand Palace Hotel”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Grand Palace Hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We just came back from a wonderful stay at Grand Palace Hotel. If you plan to go to Riga you must go here and be sure to not miss the hotel's own restaurant 'four seasons'. This is the most romantic restaurant I've ever been to and we were treated as royalty. The food was excellent and the live piano music wonderful. When the pianoplayer took a break they played Elton John and 'can you feel the love tonight' and other perfect songs for an absolutely perfect night. Every evening we got chocklad on our pillow and a bottle of water. We bought a package called romantic and honeymoon package which includes two nights stay, transport to and from the hotel, fresh flowers and a bottle of champagne in the room, and a three course dinner at the amazing restaurant. Every detail was perfect!!!

  • Liked — The restaurant and the excellent service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    125
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
89
240
41
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taplow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

I spent a very pleasant 3 days in Riga at this hotel, and while it is neither grand nor palatial, I found it more than acceptable. Its position in the heart of the old town in a quiet cobbled narrow street was good, and within easy walking distance to the most interesting and attractive streets and buildings. I found the English-speaking staff exceptionally helpful and courteous, my room, although not over-large and rather old-fashioned, very clean and comfortable. I think the whole hotel could do with a refit, re-carpeting particularly, but there is a first class bar/lounge on the ground floor and a nice restaurant (a bit over-priced).
Riga is, perhaps, not quite as attractive as Tallin or Vilnius, but I would happily recommend the Grand Palace for any visitor to Riga.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hugo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

I stayed in the Grand Palace Hotel in Riga with my daughter on a trip around the Baltic States in May. This was our first night of the trip and I thought it would be nice to stay in a good place. This hotel was an ideal choice. It is very stylish and comfortable. The staff were friendly and courteous. The room was fabulous. The Grand Palace is situated in the heart of the Old Town and every interesting sight in Riga is well within walking distance. I hope to go to Riga again some time with my wife and we will definitely stay at the Grand Palace Hotel.

  • Liked — Exquisite breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelandmaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Grand Palace Hotel Riga is Member of The Leading (Small) Hotels of the World and as a Leaders Club Member I booked a single room for one night for 180,-- Euro/night, taxes and breakfast included (arrival was August 5, 2008).

Coming directly from Grand Hotel Vienna, where I stayed the night before, Grand Palace Riga was disappointing. Common standards one expects in a luxury hotel were missing:

- There was no doorman or bellboy available at arrival (and none the other times I passed the entrance). I had to carry two suitcases from the entrance to the reception on my own - passing a non-automatic heavy door and going upstairs to the reception.

- A guidance to the room wasn't offered. On request I was guided by a bellboy who took the luggage, too.

- Positive: I got an upgrade to a junior suite (no. 203) which was about doubled sized as the 18 sqm standard rooms. Only suites and junior suites have a bathroom with separate shower stall, a seating corner was part of the room. A central aircondition was missing, in the room was a noisy separate aircon-unit with an air tube one had to put outside the opened window.

- Even in a junior suite there is no dvd-player available. On request you get a dvd-player delivered to the room for 28 Euro/day!

- A concierge is missing, you have to ask the bellboy for assistance.

- Pressing service was offered for around 5 Euro/shirt. Two maids - who couldn't speak english - took a shirt at about 5 pm. At 9 pm I asked for the shirt which was returned about 15 min. later.

- The Restaurant is quite expensive (even for a Leading Hotel): A main course costs about 25 to 40 Euro. Prices like you have in michelin awarded restaurants in Germany. At the bar one only has the choice between soup, salad and club sandwich (for about 9 Euro a fair price). The club sandwich was served with a 400ml plastic bottle Heinz ketchup and a big glass of mustard from the supermarket where other guests put their knifes into before.

- Turn down was done correctly with a complimentary bottle of water. A newspaper was not delivered to the room in the morning.

- The breakfast buffet was quite small, the srambled eggs were not very appetizing and probably too long presented on the buffet (I had breakfast at about 10 am). Very surprising: Other egg dishes like omelette or egg benedict were charged separately (e.g. my egg benedict did cost 4 Euro additional).

Overall Grand Palace might be the best hotel in Riga but with a gap to the standards Leading Hotels communicate in all their publications. Most of the staff is friendly, but obviously not trained and through that always a bit clumsy. The facilities are acceptable but not breathtaking. Maybe one of the new four star hotels gives you more satisfaction and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank warum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

This is an excellent hotel, centrally located in an old building in a quiet street in the old town.

There is much to recommend: the restaurant is superb, as is the breakfast; the bar is extremely comfortable; the rooms are tastefully and expensively furnished; the staff could not be more charming, and they are generally efficient.

Whether you are in Riga for business or pleasure, it is a quiet and classy haven from the noisier, lively venues frequented by the groups on stag or hen nights.

A minor drawback, for some (including me), is the lack of airconditioning in the rooms - the norm for Riga. This is of course not a problem except in Summer when the city can get very humid as well as hot. Although they provide fans (if asked), having to have a window open can result in some unwelcome noise if you have a room in the wrong location. That's a relatively small price to pay for all the other benefits, though.

  • Liked — Calm atmosphere
  • Disliked — lack of aircon
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

first to say- I have been reading comments slamming this lovely hotel re no air con,, hilarious.. !!! I travel every week staying in 5 stars -and in smaller luxury properties you do not expect to get this.. I have just returned from Riga and it was near to 30 degrees- opening the window worked perfectly for me...

this hotel is in a great location right in the heart of the old town (the best area to stay in) within 2 minutes' walk of the main squares, museums etc. The rooms are lovely, the hotel itself is an old property with plenty of character. The staff are simply outstanding... friendly, amazingly helpful and ultra efficient.. I loved it.. it is part of a group I have recently discovered- Schlossel - and their property in Tallinn is as good... well worth checking out as they seem to have fab older properties with 6 star service.

I was there for work but have been to Riga a number of times- and there is something for everyone. A very pretty place - amazing buildings and art deco in partic is amazing (good book available in local bookshops or maybe this end with great photos and info re the art deco buildings) with a great coastal resort-Jurmala- 30 mins away (very cheap by train and not too expensive by taxi. Taxis by the way are very reasonable versus other countries). Plenty of good bars and restaurants at all price points.

There is also an amazing palace 1 hour's drive away if you have ticked off everything in Riga.

I would however have to warn re connecting flights and luggage not arriving, a pretty dire arrivals hall in the airport (took 3 hours for luggage to be unloaded and mine was not there...so a "fun" 2 days trying to get info and get said bag back!!!), pickpockets- like Barcelona and St Pete and other top tourist destinations- they are there and very good at their job....!!!!

there are some- but not all- dodgey bars and clubs with an abundance of prostitutes in the dodgiest ones (which it is easy to avoid...) - thks sadly to stag w/e groups probably creating a market for this.. if you are stupid enough to get really drunk or cause trouble- yeap- you will probably run into problems and wake up somewhere with no passport and no money... for the normal tourist tho- you are unlikely to have any problems- but do keep a close eye on your possessions at all times.

Regardless- well worth a visit for 3-4 days (or longer if staying at the coast as well).

  • Liked — service amazing staff! and great location
  • Disliked — nothing- top marks all round
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kate70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

This is a lovely hotel in the old section of the city. The room was very pretty, clean and comfortable. But, it was too warm and humid not to have air conditioning. We had a good meal in the restaurant and found the staff to be very accomodating. The fitness center was a sad affair but we found our way to a health club at the Radisson. Breakfast was nice but drinks at the bar very pricey. Overall we found Riga to be rather dull and the people seemed dour. The old part of the city is very pretty but, at least when we were there, not very lively.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gtrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#1 of 109 in Riga
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Pils iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing