We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, excellently situated, near the Old Town and not far from the magnificent Art Nouveau buildings and the boat trip on the canal. There are comfortable bedrooms, an attractive dining room, a big welcoming bar with snacks, and a most helpful and charming staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: To get to our rooms, we walked through the dining room past the friendly parrot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    121
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
85
227
41
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
436 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have recently returned from a short break in Riga and was very glad I chose to stay here.

There are many great features to the Hotel and we stayed in a Deluxe room - tastefully decorated in light grey. We slept well and then enjoyed our breakfast in the Dining room each morning. Its a short walk to the centre ,so location is perfect.

The bar is also a high spot of the Hotel and we enjoyed a nightcap of an evening. Even if you don't stay here - make sure you look in for a drink. The Barman knows how to mix a cocktail and could grace any of the top Hotels in the World. I also doubt there is a more stylish bar anywhere in Riga.

So a very great stay indeed and the staff are top quality - they are the true asset of the Hotel. I was also pleasantly surprised with a cake - my Birthday - a touch I greatly appreciated.

Finally lets have a mention for the star of the show - Misha. As the chief Hotel parrot - Misha is popular with the guests and a real star !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great stay,
i was there for the second time, and again not disappointed once.
Staff was super helpful and extremely nice.
Breakfast as always was very good, and parking (paying) was just in front of the hotel, very convenient as well.
Would recommend this classic luxury hotel to anyone who likes good value for good quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristof C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radnor, PA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived hungry and thirsty at 2030 after a 22 hour day of missed flights. Reception called the chef and got us a late dinner in their sidewalk cafe. Airport transfer in their Mercedes was most welcome. Only regret was sleeping through breakfast which for the next two days we found beyond great! Excellent location in olde city center. Riga deserves two full days or more and this hotel is a perfect headquarters! Staff is multi-lingual and very helpful.

Room Tip: 409 is a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptMakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Came for a three day break. First visit to Latvia. The hotel is centrally placed and therefore very convenient. The airport limousine pick up and greeting by name by the concierge on arrival at the hotel were nice touches. The staff were courteous, pleasant and helpful at all times.The room was clean. The breakfast was good. The whole experience was very agreeable. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank plg4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel - the staff were incredibly friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped. But best of all it was about two minutes walk from the main square. I would recommend this hotel to anyone...

Room Tip: We went for a double, the twin rooms were bigger and more luxurious..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is located just in few steps from old town Centre and all sightseeing possibilities are in 5 minutes’ walk. Good restaurant are in 15 minutes’ walk distance. Hotel staff is very helpful and overall atmosphere is clean and customer friendly. Breakfast selection is rather modest but fresh and with high quality. I highly recommend it to tourist who wants to do sightseeing by foot in Riga.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epp_848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Pils iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#9 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing