We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For The Old Times Sake!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“For The Old Times Sake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

A great hotel, right in the middle of the old town Riga provides the feeling of becoming part of the history. A very cozy hotel with smiling staff members and plenty to do right around the hotel .. all in walking distance. Can't go wrong at the Grand Palace Hotel while in Riga.

Room Tip: All the rooms will provide the same warmth in this little treasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitchisonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iveta P, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and left us with positive memories about our hotel and the Riga city.

We will look forward to your next visit.

With best regards,
Iveta Prisjagina
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    116
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
83
215
40
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My son and I stayed at the Grand Palace for three nights while visiting Riga. The hotel is located on a quiet street on the edge of Riga's Old Town. It is a short stroll to the restaurants and sights of the Old Town or to the river. The splendid Art Nouveau District is further but still is an easy walk. A taxi from the airport to the hotel should be no more than eleven or twelve Euros. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are quite nice. The hotel's staff is friendly, competent and fluent in English. They are extremely helpful with directions and giving quick lessons in Latvian phrases. The hotel's sidewalk cafe is an excellent place for a beer or light meal and the bar is nice place to relax after a long day of sight-seeing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdh1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iveta P, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is most pleasant to hear that we have made your stay so great. We will pass your positive comments to our team members as a thank you for the service they provided.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write this review and we all are looking forward to your return.

With best regards,

Iveta Prisjagina
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a room on the 5th floor. It was quite big and really clean. What bothered me was that I could not sleep with the a/c on because from time to time it made a very disturbing sound and I could not sleep with the windows open because of the noise in the street :(. So check your room for the air conditioning! The mattress and the pillows are not of best quality but they can do if you are not very demanding. Also in the bathroom the water form the shower poured on the floor despite of the glass "curtain".
The wi-fi worked great!
The breakfast was very good and being there in the period of mushrooms and berries I had delicious scrambled eggs with forest mushrooms. Also the smoked fish was very good.
The hotel is in the historic, pedestrian part of the city and very close to the river so you can visit the city on foot.
Personnel was very helpful and even sent me early breakfast to my room on the day of my departure, because I had a very early flight and the restaurant was not opened yet for breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room opposite the street so that you will not hear the late night street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was perfect in every way. It is located right in the Old Town which is very compact, so it is just a short walk to nearly everything you want to see. Parking was available on the street right outside the building with a parking permit provided by the hotel for €15 per day. The staff was gracious, friendly & attentive. The rooms are clean & spacious with bathrobes & slippers provided. There is turn-down service in the evening which included a bottle of water each for my husband & me, a chocolate on each pillow and fresh towels after we had showered in the afternoon before dinner. The breakfast buffet opened at 7:00. In addition to an array of cold cereals, cheeses, meats, & smoked salmon, there were scrambled & boiled eggs, bacon, and a wonderful array of fresh breads & pastries complemented by pots of jams & jellies with tasty chunks of fruit. They also offered omlets made to order & 2 types of pancakes. Dinner was delicious. I enjoyed lamb while my husband ordered flounder. We highly recommend this hotel & would definitely stay there again if we ever return to Riga.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penguinquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, excellently situated, near the Old Town and not far from the magnificent Art Nouveau buildings and the boat trip on the canal. There are comfortable bedrooms, an attractive dining room, a big welcoming bar with snacks, and a most helpful and charming staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: To get to our rooms, we walked through the dining room past the friendly parrot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
432 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have recently returned from a short break in Riga and was very glad I chose to stay here.

There are many great features to the Hotel and we stayed in a Deluxe room - tastefully decorated in light grey. We slept well and then enjoyed our breakfast in the Dining room each morning. Its a short walk to the centre ,so location is perfect.

The bar is also a high spot of the Hotel and we enjoyed a nightcap of an evening. Even if you don't stay here - make sure you look in for a drink. The Barman knows how to mix a cocktail and could grace any of the top Hotels in the World. I also doubt there is a more stylish bar anywhere in Riga.

So a very great stay indeed and the staff are top quality - they are the true asset of the Hotel. I was also pleasantly surprised with a cake - my Birthday - a touch I greatly appreciated.

Finally lets have a mention for the star of the show - Misha. As the chief Hotel parrot - Misha is popular with the guests and a real star !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great stay,
i was there for the second time, and again not disappointed once.
Staff was super helpful and extremely nice.
Breakfast as always was very good, and parking (paying) was just in front of the hotel, very convenient as well.
Would recommend this classic luxury hotel to anyone who likes good value for good quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristof C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Pils iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing