We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not good for business trips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is a decent hotel, my room was relatively clean, its close to the city, good food, staff friendly. However, I would not recommend it for business, since: 1) Internet is free but so slow its often close to unusable, surely not good enough for working efficiently 2) They rent out the atrium to which most hotel rooms have a door for party's - one night is was very loud at least until half past one in the morning (so bring ear plugs) 3) No in-room safe (at least in my room)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed in the Radisson Blu Daugava in the beautiful city of Riga in June.

Location: The hotel sits on the River Daugava, on the other side from Old Town. This means it is a 10 minute walk into Old Town, which I didn't mind. However, if you are keen to be central, you should choose a hotel in Old Town, which would presumably cost more. Riga's Old Town is pedestrianised and therefore suits walking.

Check in: A lengthy process, seemed to take a very long time.

Lobby: Felt dated, not a particularly inspiring area to be. There is one computer which has a printer attached, to be used for printing boarding passes and the like. Unfortunately, when I was staying, the same man was on there for over 2 hours, treating it like his own PC. Maybe a sensible time limit could be imposed, as several people were waiting.

Restaurant: Good for breakfast, wide selection of hot and cold food, drinks and pastries. Nice views if you get down early enough.

Room service: Delivered within 30 minutes, always good food and with good service.

Observation deck: Offers stunning views of the Old Town and river from the 9th floor. Well worth a visit, this is the hotel's best unique selling point.

Gym: Good size, plenty of equipment, by hotel standards pretty good.

Swimming pool: Think postage stamp. Absolutely tiny. If you push off from one end, you may get one stroke before getting to the other end. Not big enough for 2 as I found out.

Room: Comfortable, nice big room, good bed, good shower and bathroom.

Overall, a reasonable stay in a lovely city. However, while nothing went particularly wrong at this hotel, it's fair to say that other hotels may have provided a better experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My colleagues and I stayed at Radisson Blu Hotel for two and half weeks while on a business trip. The hotel is located right on the beautiful Daugava River and is a short walk (20 minutes) from old town Riga. If you have health issues there are a ton of taxis lined up right in front of the hotel entrance. The hotel also has a shuttle van that will transport you free of charge during certain times of the day to old town as well. The hotel rooms are a bit dated and could stand an upgrade. I was booked in to a superior room which included two twin beds pushed together to form a queen size bed, a club chair, a desk and two more basic chairs. The air conditioning was a God send after working outside in the heat. We had FREE Wi Fi included throughout our trip and it only bogged down a few nights with the tourist buses in town. Two other colleagues received two corner rooms and another received a business suite. The corner rooms are nice as there are more windows but it does get HOT in the heat of the day. The business suites are gigantic and have a couch along with a club chair. The breakfast is fantastic and is not to be missed. They stock anything and everything you could ask for and then some. My colleagues ordered omlettes day after day and claimed they were wonderful. The service provided by the hotel staff was excellent! I would highly recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_White_Baer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We were staying in this hotel at the end of a long Baltic trip. We chose the hotel for it being close to the airport and giving us international comfort. We were not disappointed. While of course this hotel was much more expensive than other Baltic hotels, the room was very comfortable (a bedroom and a separate sitting room). usual international amenities, nice bathroom with bath, free wireless internet. The hotel is on the other side of the Daugava river from the old city. A fairly long bridge separates the two sides of the river. We ate dinner in the hotel ("internationa " cuisine, not latvian at all, and international prices.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night in May had another night booked afterwards the same week, but needed to cancel. I ha no access to the internet at the time so I phoned to cancel way before the policy time of 6.00pm (Iphoned at 4.00pm!) However upon my return home I find my card had been charged for one nights stay £140!!!!

I tried to phone reservation ut they conveniently lost my cancellation confirmation somewhere in the office, no-one has had the deceny to phone me back and advise me of the situation and I am still trying to get my money back...

AVOID THIS HOTEL IT IS DATED AND THE STAFF ARE TERRIBLE AT RESOLVING ANY ISSUES AND BLAME OTHER EMPLOYEES

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MW1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Could do with a facelift. Friendly staff. Room decor and furniture looks ten years old, at least! Don't think I would stay again. Menu in restaurant basic and delivery of food below what you would expect for a radisson.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIkilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Radisson Blu Daugava is a bit outdated, especially the lobby, but the rooms are comfortable. Out bathroom was, however, a bit small and not up to the four star standards. The breakfast is great, with plenty of everything and the hotel bar is a very pleasant place for a lare evening drink. There is a decent swimming pool, with just a bit too cold water and an excellent, huge gym. The hotel is situated near the bridge which you have to cross to get to the old Riga, but it is a nice walk. We had a spectacular view from our room, that is why this hotel is woth a visit.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nancy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
1.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 111 in Riga
954 reviews
1 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#27 of 111 in Riga
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Address: Kugu iela 24, Riga 1048, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Riga
#23 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £42 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This picturesque riverside setting lies just 15 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of embassies and key business destinations. The hotel is adjacent to Riga's Old Town, where guests can visit key historical sites such as the Blackheads House, Riga Dome Cathedral, Art Museum "Riga Bourse" and Presidential Castle. You will also find plenty of leisure activities with National Library, various gardens, Livu Aquapark and Riga Zoo less than 30 minutes away. In addition to the magnificent scenery, we offer 8 room and suite categories all with comfortable furnishings and design. Included with each accommodation are coffee making provisions and in Superior Class rooms and higher - our signature Super Breakfast Buffet served each morning at Panorama Restaurant. This elegant on-site restaurant specializes in international cuisine and offers convenient room service. Both the restaurant and hotel lobby bar overlook the Daugava River, creating memorable atmospheres for sharing delicious foods and drinks. When you are not out seeing the sights of Riga, take advantage of a variety of luxurious amenities and services. Our fitness center features a 24-meter swimming pool and solarium, while the 1st-floor Beauty Shop Aleksandra offers a nice menu of beauty treatments. Additionally, the hotel provides 13 professional meeting spaces suitable for up to 320 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga Hotel Riga
Radisson Riga
Riga Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing