We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need deffinately some liftup” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Need deffinately some liftup”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Have been stayed in this hotel in past maybe 20 times, but not during last 2 years. Now I decided to stay again and available was only economy class room., with price 89 EUR + 12 EUR breakfast. Cheap price during summer season, but room was also equal to the low price. Bed was and sleep was OK, but bathroom quality is below todays standards. Funny 1m2 bathtube from soviet times, when it was Inturist Hotel. Reception, bar and restaurant service level was very good and food at restaurant also delicious!

Room Tip: Business class rooms are much better quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    368
    211
    55
    16
See reviews for
144
170
66
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Very dated rooms. Old small crt tv, poor selection of english speaking channels, noisy ac, not very cold minibar. Room with "garden view" means looking at ugly brick houses and listening to construction work. Long walk over bridge to old town with lots no traffic. Casino inhouse seemed to be closed, staff did not know however. No safe in room. Staff tried to sell breakfast although i already had paid for it.

+ ok standard breakfast selection. Clean rooms. Inhouse spa and small pool. Atm in reception.

Conclusion: not a five star by western european standards, but decent enough for price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojoh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Radisson BLU Daugava in Riga is one of these large hotels which does not give you a very intimate feeling. The rooms I had, were both good, even though the bathrooms are beginning to look oldfashioned.

The location is beautiful with stunning views of the old Hanseatic city centre, located directly across the river Daugava.

If I had a choice, I would, however, have chosen one of the smaller hotels in the heart of the city!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms facing the river - stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjurontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is a decent hotel, my room was relatively clean, its close to the city, good food, staff friendly. However, I would not recommend it for business, since: 1) Internet is free but so slow its often close to unusable, surely not good enough for working efficiently 2) They rent out the atrium to which most hotel rooms have a door for party's - one night is was very loud at least until half past one in the morning (so bring ear plugs) 3) No in-room safe (at least in my room)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed in the Radisson Blu Daugava in the beautiful city of Riga in June.

Location: The hotel sits on the River Daugava, on the other side from Old Town. This means it is a 10 minute walk into Old Town, which I didn't mind. However, if you are keen to be central, you should choose a hotel in Old Town, which would presumably cost more. Riga's Old Town is pedestrianised and therefore suits walking.

Check in: A lengthy process, seemed to take a very long time.

Lobby: Felt dated, not a particularly inspiring area to be. There is one computer which has a printer attached, to be used for printing boarding passes and the like. Unfortunately, when I was staying, the same man was on there for over 2 hours, treating it like his own PC. Maybe a sensible time limit could be imposed, as several people were waiting.

Restaurant: Good for breakfast, wide selection of hot and cold food, drinks and pastries. Nice views if you get down early enough.

Room service: Delivered within 30 minutes, always good food and with good service.

Observation deck: Offers stunning views of the Old Town and river from the 9th floor. Well worth a visit, this is the hotel's best unique selling point.

Gym: Good size, plenty of equipment, by hotel standards pretty good.

Swimming pool: Think postage stamp. Absolutely tiny. If you push off from one end, you may get one stroke before getting to the other end. Not big enough for 2 as I found out.

Room: Comfortable, nice big room, good bed, good shower and bathroom.

Overall, a reasonable stay in a lovely city. However, while nothing went particularly wrong at this hotel, it's fair to say that other hotels may have provided a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My colleagues and I stayed at Radisson Blu Hotel for two and half weeks while on a business trip. The hotel is located right on the beautiful Daugava River and is a short walk (20 minutes) from old town Riga. If you have health issues there are a ton of taxis lined up right in front of the hotel entrance. The hotel also has a shuttle van that will transport you free of charge during certain times of the day to old town as well. The hotel rooms are a bit dated and could stand an upgrade. I was booked in to a superior room which included two twin beds pushed together to form a queen size bed, a club chair, a desk and two more basic chairs. The air conditioning was a God send after working outside in the heat. We had FREE Wi Fi included throughout our trip and it only bogged down a few nights with the tourist buses in town. Two other colleagues received two corner rooms and another received a business suite. The corner rooms are nice as there are more windows but it does get HOT in the heat of the day. The business suites are gigantic and have a couch along with a club chair. The breakfast is fantastic and is not to be missed. They stock anything and everything you could ask for and then some. My colleagues ordered omlettes day after day and claimed they were wonderful. The service provided by the hotel staff was excellent! I would highly recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_White_Baer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We were staying in this hotel at the end of a long Baltic trip. We chose the hotel for it being close to the airport and giving us international comfort. We were not disappointed. While of course this hotel was much more expensive than other Baltic hotels, the room was very comfortable (a bedroom and a separate sitting room). usual international amenities, nice bathroom with bath, free wireless internet. The hotel is on the other side of the Daugava river from the old city. A fairly long bridge separates the two sides of the river. We ate dinner in the hotel ("internationa " cuisine, not latvian at all, and international prices.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Property: Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Address: Kugu iela 24, Riga 1048, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Riga
#23 Business Hotel in Riga
#26 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This picturesque riverside setting lies just 15 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of embassies and key business destinations. The hotel is adjacent to Riga's Old Town, where guests can visit key historical sites such as the Blackheads House, Riga Dome Cathedral, Art Museum "Riga Bourse" and Presidential Castle. You will also find plenty of leisure activities with National Library, various gardens, Livu Aquapark and Riga Zoo less than 30 minutes away. In addition to the magnificent scenery, we offer 9 room and suite categories all with comfortable furnishings and design. Included with each accommodation are coffee provisions and our signature Super Breakfast Buffet served each morning at Panorama Restaurant. This elegant on-site restaurant specializes in international cuisine and offers convenient room service. Both the restaurant and hotel lobby bar overlook the Daugava River, creating memorable atmospheres for sharing delicious foods and drinks. When you are not out seeing the sights of Riga, take advantage of a variety of luxurious amenities and services. Our fitness center features a 24-meter swimming pool and solarium, while the 1st-floor Beauty Shop Aleksandra offers a nice menu of beauty treatments. Additionally, the hotel provides 10 professional meeting spaces suitable for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga Hotel Riga
Radisson Riga
Riga Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing