We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, too far from center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The location is great - stunning views of the city center from across the river. Views of the bridges are great and you can catch a little of the sunset too. My room had a balcony and was huge!
The gym is enormous with everything you need (I chose to run outside because of the nice weather).

Breakfast was a madhouse, but they did cover all the major food groups.

Internet was fast.

Only complaint is the distance to town - 15 minute walk or about $10 taxi.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

I upgraded to a river city view room with excellent facilities. colleagues on standard river city view rooms all jade exceptionally large well equipped rooms. I would avoid roomoms to the rear which overlook local apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camshron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Th Radisson Blu Daugava is a tremendous bargain in Riga. The rooms are large and well equipped (ask for one that has a view of the river and the city), the staff is very helpful, and breakfast is excellent (and complimentary). Also nice is that unlike a lot of hotels these days, wifi is free. The only downside is that the hotel is on one side of the river whereas the center of Riga is on the other and it takes about 20 minutes or so to walk from one to the other.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Great location, just a short walk to the old city with nice little bars. Hotel was very nice and the staff were so friendly and helpfull. Very impressed with the food at the hotel and in the attached Japanese restuarant. The spa was amazing, spent hours in there!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1973jonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear 1973jonny,

Thank you very much for your positive review and kind comments. As a General Manager of Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel I would like to take the credit for your visit, but I believe that your compliments belong to our sister property Radisson Blu Latvija. They have indeed a very nice, world class spa and a Japanese restaurant attached as well.

However, I am happy that you enjoyed one of our hotels in Riga and on behalf of all my colleagues, I would love to see you back some day. I will, of course, send your review to Radisson Blu Latvija as well.

Best regards,

Mika Virtanen
General Manager
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The hotel has a great view of Old Town across the river, but it is also more of a walk from Old Town than many other hotels in the area. Business class room was very nice with a balcony and decent sized room. You can walk across the bridge to Old Town, take a shuttle provided by the hotel every hour, or pay 3 lats for a one way cab. I had good luck with the service, everyone was very helpful, especially the general manager. The hotel is a bit dated, so I can't give it an excellent rating, but it is a nice place all things considered.

Room Tip: Ask for business class facing the river.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kato S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I enjoyed staying here for business as the hotel was very service oriented. The room was good and had wireless internet but the signal could be better. The location is great for walking around Riga- its a short (10 min) walk across the bridge over Daugava to the old city center. If you don't want to walk, the hotel offers a free taxi service across the bridge. I enjoyed being able to see the river- it was a pleasant view. Food was okay...not great and a little pricey but consistent with hotels. I really appreciated the hotel shop where I could get a soda- would suggest adding small snack foods too. They also had other shops including a salon and an amber store. I stopped by the salon late one night and they extended their hours to accomodate me, which I really appreciated. I woud stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillyindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The hotel is old and hosts many groups, so it can get very crowded in the morning by breakfast. On the other hand, the view over Riga is fantastic and the (business class) rooms are very nice. They are large and have separate sitting places with a good working desk and a fairly large bathroom.
Service is so-so.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear philosion,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I do appreciate your positive feedback regarding the views and size of our Business Class rooms. We are also doing our best to get our product updated in the near future.

I understand that the breakfast may get a bit busy during the summer and during the peak periods when all the groups are having their breakfast at the same time but we are doing our best to ensure that everyone can enjoy their breakfast in a peaceful and relaxed environment.

It would be nice to know a bit more why you regarded our service to be "so-so" as in general we are receiving very good feedback regarding the service at our hotel and we are emphasising the importance of 'Yes I Can' attitude in every customer encounter.

Once again, I appreciate your feedback and would be glad to see you again as our guest in the near future.

I wish you a very happy and sunny summer.

Best regards,

Mika Virtanen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#15 of 110 in Riga
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.5 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Address: Kugu iela 24, Riga 1048, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Riga
#23 Business Hotel in Riga
#26 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £46 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This picturesque riverside setting lies just 15 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of embassies and key business destinations. The hotel is adjacent to Riga's Old Town, where guests can visit key historical sites such as the Blackheads House, Riga Dome Cathedral, Art Museum "Riga Bourse" and Presidential Castle. You will also find plenty of leisure activities with National Library, various gardens, Livu Aquapark and Riga Zoo less than 30 minutes away. In addition to the magnificent scenery, we offer 8 room and suite categories all with comfortable furnishings and design. Included with each accommodation are coffee making provisions and in Superior Class rooms and higher - our signature Super Breakfast Buffet served each morning at Panorama Restaurant. This elegant on-site restaurant specializes in international cuisine and offers convenient room service. Both the restaurant and hotel lobby bar overlook the Daugava River, creating memorable atmospheres for sharing delicious foods and drinks. When you are not out seeing the sights of Riga, take advantage of a variety of luxurious amenities and services. Our fitness center features a 24-meter swimming pool and solarium, while the 1st-floor Beauty Shop Aleksandra offers a nice menu of beauty treatments. Additionally, the hotel provides 13 professional meeting spaces suitable for up to 320 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga Hotel Riga
Radisson Riga
Riga Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing