We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“convenient and cheap”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed at the hotel when I was Glod member of Club Carlson program.
We were traveling as a family of 3 (myself, wife and 16yo daughter)

Hotel/Location/Booking
We were traveling in Europe and decided to spend a day in Riga to make an overall impression of the city and then, if we liked it, to return later. Riga is not large city and choice of the hotel that would belong to major international chain (where I prefer to stay) is limited. Interestingly enough, they have 2 Radisson Blu's - one right in the city center and another (the one we stayed in) across the Daugava river from the city center. As all what was needed to get to old city from Radisson Blu Daugava was to cross the bridge (~10 minutes walk) and attractive rate of EUR 95/night (prepaid non-refundable), this hotel was chosen.

Check-in/Out
At the check-in I was offered an upgrade to the "Business class" room as Club Carlson Gold member. Free breakfast in the restaurant was also given, although it is usually Concierge level privilege.
At the checkout I requested late departure at 2pm which was granted without any issues.

Room
Hotel room was larger than usual, being a business class room (an equivalent of Deluxe room in Club Carlson world) - there was enough space to make Junior Suite out of that. Bathroom had shower over Bath and standard for Radisson Blu Anne Semonin toiletries.
There was a king bed in the room however rollaway bed was not ready and we had to wait (which was annoying as we arrived quite late) until the bed will be made. King bed was very adequate in terms of size and feel. Room faced Daugava river with the views of old town across the river, has minibar and the espresso machine.

Internet
Internet access was granted for free as a benefit of Club Carlson Gold program, and was fast and reliable.

Food
Breakfast at the main restaurant was quite good with good spread of international and local cold cuts, usual hot dishes (eggs/bacon/potato/sausages) and eggs station.

There was no ice machine to be found so ice had to be ordered through the room service.

Transportation:
Taxi from the airport was ~LVL 7. Taxi from hotel to the airport was LVL 20 which I believe is a fixed price.

Bottom line - will visit again for a short stay in Riga - there is no real advantage between this hotel and more expensive hotels in the old town - if you are prepared to walk a bit.
If anyone has any questions reated to this hotel I will be glad to answer (if I know the answer) - just ask.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    391
    228
    64
    19
See reviews for
159
187
73
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orillia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Convenient..clean...and friendly.
Walk across the bridge to old town.
But convenient to the highways if you are driving.
Hotel staff were very helpfull with directions..and accomodating any needs during a two week stay.
Breakfast buffet was wonderful..and lounge menu was perfect for a late night drink and nibble.
After an icy days of work..it was nice to return to a comfortable room..and an evening swim in the pool.
If you are used to north american style hotels..then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Try and get a room over looking t he old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissmisterOrillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed there several times. Staff very professional. Location superb facing the old town (if you will get a room facing the river). Hotel is kind of split in two parts. One is "old" and the other more modern. Recently I stayed only in the " old" part - which was about 70 EUR or so. They promised me if I will stay there more often they will put me into the " new" part :) Internet is fast, from lattelekom with low latency. 2Mbit in out. Breakfast is something what brings me back to this hotel again and again - it is just one of the best breakfasts I had in any hotels all over the world. There is also parking for cars at about 10 EUR per night which is okay. About 250 meters from the hotel is a bus stop which has bus 22 stopping there and for 1 EUR (70 santims) will bring you to the airport. Same way some there. Rooms are dated but functional and with decent soundproof. Lunch and Dinner is VERY expensive in this hotel even by European standards. Although quality of the food is average (not to be mistaken with breakfast, which is excellent). Area is moderately safe I would say (never had issues there, but I would not say it felt safe at night :) ). You can get into the old town by just crossing the brined - in about 10 minutes. Very good connection to transportation. You don't really need those expensive taxis outside the hotel - Bus to airport 200 meter away. Old talk a walk away, or public transport near by.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreakWentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear FreakWentTraveler,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am especially pleased to hear that you appreciate our service and breakfast offering! You are also right in saying that we have a fantastic view from our river side rooms facing the old town - simply the best view in town.

We are also in a process of re-evaluating our lunch and dinner product and prices, so hopefully you will see some positive changes in that area soon as well.

Once again, thank you for your positive and constructive feedback! It is always appreciated.

I am looking forward to seeing you back in our hotel soon again - this time perhaps in the 'new' part ;)

Best regards,

Mika Virtanen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilnius
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

One of the first modern hotels in Riga, but time passes and it's time to renovate if you want to continue charge the prices they are charging today. If you plan to spend time in the old town I would look for hotel closer to old town. Service and food in the restaurant - excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Can not say something good about this hotel,is the oldest one from Radisson and must have a renovation ,is not 4 stars definitely but service in a lobby bar I like ,and food in the restaurant was very very good,only servants not attentive and they moves when you will ask them only ..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraPachkoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The Hotel is a bit 1980s in decor but the staff keep the place clean and go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The pool and gym are decent and there are some good running routes out the hotel and along the river.

The views are good across to the old town which is a ten minute walk across the bridge. Always felt safe even when walking back at night but taxis an option.

A couple of attractions on this side of the river too, state library, a good train museum and the gun club regros down in an old soviet bunker.

Breakfast good, liked the hotel and feel it offers a good value package.

Room Tip: One facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised to be in a suite overlooking the river. It was very nice, clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel. The staff were all excellent and very friendly. We only had breakfast in the hotel but the quality and variety of the food was great.
The hotel free transport into the town was great, but it is a very pleasant 20 minute walk if it`s not snowing.
If I was to be picky I would like a quicker service at reception because if there are people checking in or out it does delay you if you need help with something.
Some refurbishment is needed but it did not detract from the enjoyment of our week`s stay at this very good hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor and it was very quiet. It`s a much better view if you overlook the Daugav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
1.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 109 in Riga
880 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Property: Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Address: Kugu iela 24, Riga 1048, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Riga
#23 Business Hotel in Riga
#26 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This picturesque riverside setting lies just 15 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of embassies and key business destinations. The hotel is adjacent to Riga's Old Town, where guests can visit key historical sites such as the Blackheads House, Riga Dome Cathedral, Art Museum "Riga Bourse" and Presidential Castle. You will also find plenty of leisure activities with National Library, various gardens, Livu Aquapark and Riga Zoo less than 30 minutes away. In addition to the magnificent scenery, we offer 8 room and suite categories all with comfortable furnishings and design. Included with each accommodation are coffee making provisions and in Superior Class rooms and higher - our signature Super Breakfast Buffet served each morning at Panorama Restaurant. This elegant on-site restaurant specializes in international cuisine and offers convenient room service. Both the restaurant and hotel lobby bar overlook the Daugava River, creating memorable atmospheres for sharing delicious foods and drinks. When you are not out seeing the sights of Riga, take advantage of a variety of luxurious amenities and services. Our fitness center features a 24-meter swimming pool and solarium, while the 1st-floor Beauty Shop Aleksandra offers a nice menu of beauty treatments. Additionally, the hotel provides 13 professional meeting spaces suitable for up to 320 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga Hotel Riga
Radisson Riga
Riga Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing